Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-04-2002, 02:00 AM
Chompers Chompers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,860
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

Save yourself a million headaches and aim for firewire drives.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-04-2002, 02:12 AM
haze haze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: san ramon, ca usa
Posts: 730
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

I'm heading in the firewire direction as well. Stopped by Granite Digital today (i live 20 minutes away).

I'm leaning towards the hotswap FireVue with my upcoming HD system.

http://www.granitedigital.com

haze

www.johnhaze.com/musicpage.html
www.mp3.com/john_haze
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-04-2002, 07:10 AM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

Mstucker,
did you get the metal or the plastic drive bays?
Is ata-100 faster than firewire? Would this make more sense than external firewire?
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-04-2002, 07:11 AM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

btw, i don't really see the need for firewiew enclosures when friewire drives are themselves hotswapable anyway. Maybe a bit more convenient, but also more complicated and proprietary.
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-04-2002, 10:33 AM
haze haze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: san ramon, ca usa
Posts: 730
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

"btw, i don't really see the need for firewiew enclosures when friewire drives are themselves hotswapable anyway. Maybe a bit more convenient, but also more complicated and proprietary. "

I believe its the oxford chipset (in the enclosure) that makes the firewire faster and therefore more usable for recording audio. Granite digital claims true 40mb/sec performance from their "2nd generation
firwire to IDE technology".

jh

www.mp3.com/john_haze
www.johnhaze.com/musicpage.html
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-04-2002, 05:02 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,835
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

Michael, do you use caddy style cd burners like thos from glyph/yamaha? I have one that might be needing a new caddy. any ideas? the adress you mentioned...?
thanks
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-05-2002, 06:24 AM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

"I believe its the oxford chipset (in the enclosure) that makes the firewire faster and therefore more usable for recording audio. Granite digital claims true 40mb/sec performance from their "2nd generation
firwire to IDE technology".

Haze,
Nearly every firewire drive available today has the oxford chipset. I have bought nothing but these in the past year, from a variety of vendors. all stand-alone drives.
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-07-2002, 03:42 AM
maxx maxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Woodland Hills, CA 91364
Posts: 284
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

Thanks all, for your input.

I've opted for Granite digital hot-swap firewire enclosures and sleds two weeks ago.

The initial purchase of the enclosures may not be the cheapest to get into (or the most portable) but once you own the "box" you can buy addl. trays for $29.00 each and load them up with the IDE drives of your choice.

Think in terms of the bare drive cost + $30.00. This ends up being a savings of at least $100/drive when compared to self-contained firewire drives of the same capacity and speed. In the analog days I'd drop $120 per reel(s) of 2" tape for each new project.

Hard disc prices and performance have now gotten to where I'm doing the same thing with drives - Buy a pair, fill one up and keep the second as a continual "hot" backup. When your done, store one in your studio and the other off-site as a safety, then buy some more for the next series of projects.

No more burning 20 data CD's at the end of a project or tedious tape backups and restores... just slide the tray in and your back online in the event you have to restore a project later.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-07-2002, 09:01 AM
mstucker mstucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 148
Default Re: Removeable IDE drives in G4?

Tomcat,
We are using the plastic IDE bays, they have worked without a glitch and are real cheap. I can't say if they are faster with the firewire enclosure. We are using the Oxford 911 chipset. We run sessions off of them sometimes and have had great luck. Mostly we are using them as a second back-up (most sessions are backed-up to AIT2 and also get their own IDE drive) My reason fro switching to the Firewire enclosure was that they can be hot swapped. Running off the IDE bus you have to shutdown.
__________________
Michael Stucker
Echo Park Studios
www.echopark.com
michael@echopark.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
removeable scsi drives and PTIII? pleasedonthitme Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-05-2003 06:23 PM
PREFERED REMOVEABLE HD CASE ??? CHATZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-16-2003 03:26 PM
ATA drive in PowerMac G4 removeable bay AE Storage Subsystems 2 06-12-2002 02:47 PM
ATA drive in PowerMac G4 removeable bay AE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-04-2002 11:52 AM
What removeable media are you using? trakbytes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 04-16-2002 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com