Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2009, 05:54 PM
Intini Intini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK and Brazil
Posts: 220
Default D-Command and D-Control: Controlling Sound Monitors

I am planing on buying a D-Command or a D-Control in the next months. I wonder if I should get a Crane Song Avocet to control my monitors now or I should just buy a SPL Volume 2 (or SPL 2Control) and then wait until I get the D-Command or D-Control and use it to control the monitors. By the way, I am assuming that both (Command and Control) have a monitor controller(?). Do they? Is it comparable to the Avocet (or Grace Design or Dangerous Music stuff)? If I am going to spend £2300 (pounds!) on the Avocet and then later the D-Control (or D-Command) has it all there may be no point!
Please, you out there with a D-Control or a D-Command, can you comment on your experience with monitor controlling?

Thank you so much!

P.S.: If you would like to make a one line comment on the C|24 monitor section that would be appreciated, as there is 1% of chance of getting it instead of the Icon.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2009, 05:33 AM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 554
Default Re: D-Command and D-Control: Controlling Sound Monitors

The monitoring path in the D-Command and D-Control is via the XMon which ships with it. It's a very full featured analog section which sounds very good.

While you might get marginally better audio performance with a Avocet or other device, the Xmon is beautifully integrated into the ICON environment.

I suppose this might depend if your motivation is some sort of convenience or feature set that the external controller has, or whether it's pure audio performance.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2009, 05:15 PM
Intini Intini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK and Brazil
Posts: 220
Default Re: D-Command and D-Control: Controlling Sound Monitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey MTC View Post
The monitoring path in the D-Command and D-Control is via the XMon which ships with it. It's a very full featured analog section which sounds very good.

While you might get marginally better audio performance with a Avocet or other device, the Xmon is beautifully integrated into the ICON environment.

I suppose this might depend if your motivation is some sort of convenience or feature set that the external controller has, or whether it's pure audio performance.
Thank you so much for your answer. I am interested in audio performance basically. I want the most transparent audio signal possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2009, 04:09 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 965
Default Re: D-Command and D-Control: Controlling Sound Monitors

I have no issues with the sound of the D-Command monitoring path. Like Mikey MTC said, it is very full featured and sounds very good.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2009, 04:48 AM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 554
Default Re: D-Command and D-Control: Controlling Sound Monitors

There could be some argument for better audio performance but you would be getting down to the minutae. Seriously, the XMon is no slouch in this regard - a serious improvement on anything Digi's had before in previous work surfaces and right up there with the expensive dedicated systems.

Also, I couldn't imagine using a secondary monitoring solution with the D-Control. It would be a PITA to set up, you'd have to put it somewhere convenient which may not be possible, and after all that, you really may not gain anything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2009, 11:42 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,145
Default Re: D-Command and D-Control: Controlling Sound Monitors

Try This:
http://www.neyrinck.com/Pages/vmon.html
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling VSTi's with MC Control KeyplayerG Artist Series 0 02-20-2014 07:24 AM
Command 8 not controlling Pro Tools Tiki love god ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 01-23-2012 04:51 PM
MC Control not controlling RME totalmix johngar Artist Series 2 08-08-2011 07:13 AM
Controlling Monitors through Hardware? 11 Rack. chrissyb Eleven Rack 2 05-31-2011 12:38 PM
Controlling plugs with the Control 24 Nicolasixxx ICON & C|24 4 06-14-2005 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com