Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2009, 10:26 PM
MikeyG MikeyG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

Hey guys,

Just bought an Mbox2 Factory package with Pro Tools LE and I've been struggling all day to try and fix this problem.

Basically the Pro Tool installer DVD doesn't read on my computer. I've tried both the "Audio Loops and Sounds" and "Pro Tools Software Installers" and neither provide any luck. The Training Video that comes with the Mbox2 works as do other CD and DVDs. I'm not sure what else to try.

I'll probably go to my friends place when he gets home from university in a few hours and try it on his mac, I have Windows XP Pro.

Hopefully someone else has had this problem and knows how to fix it. I'm worried that the actually DVD doesn't work.

Cheers,
MikeyG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2009, 11:04 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,320
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

There have been some sketchy DVDs. You may have one.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2009, 12:13 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

Way on the outside but I have seen various combinations of Media4s XPlay, Mac Drive and HFS+ support either cause the drive not to read anything or to only read Mac files. Rebooting helps some time.

If you had say 7.4 installed with HFS+ support, Un installed it in preporation of upgrading and know you cant read the Windows Files on the DVD try reinstalling PT with the HFS+ option checked and see if you can read the windows files of the disk. If so you might want to copy them to your desktop and run the installer from there.

And Tom is correct there have been some flaky DVDs.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2009, 10:26 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

Might also check for a firmware update for your DVD drive.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2009, 09:56 PM
MikeyG MikeyG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

I took it to my friends place, and it works on his mac. I originally thought maybe it only had the Mac files on it. Will getting my friend to rip it and burn it onto another DVD work?

I don't have any other version of Pro Tools installed. I'm a Pro Tools virgin, a very eager one at that. So the sooner it fixes itself the sooner I'll be happy.

I'm hoping I don't just have a dodgy DVD.

Whats the story if I do have to send it back?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2009, 10:25 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyG View Post
I took it to my friends place, and it works on his mac. I originally thought maybe it only had the Mac files on it. Will getting my friend to rip it and burn it onto another DVD work?

I don't have any other version of Pro Tools installed. I'm a Pro Tools virgin, a very eager one at that. So the sooner it fixes itself the sooner I'll be happy.

I'm hoping I don't just have a dodgy DVD.

Whats the story if I do have to send it back?
A disk burned on a Mac should be fine if its a iso (Direct copy). If the Mac reads it I would suspect the disk is okay. If the Mac will read it you might try copying the Windows Installer to a thumb drive.

Another point would be does the PC have a DVD drive? One would presume so but I know a fairly prominent DUC member that was having issues installing PT 8.0 not realizing that the installer was a DVD now and no longer on a CD. He had to go buy a DVD drive.

I would check with the computer manufacturer or drive maker and see if they offer a firmware update.

Sending it back would involve getting a hold of the Digi Store, Digi customer support or where ever you bought it.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2009, 04:21 AM
MikeyG MikeyG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

I'm guessing its something to do with firmware or a program I have installed. I'll try updating my DVD drive and see what happens.

OK, so updating the firmware didn't work, it definitely is a DVD-R and I tried the disc on another laptop and it reads it fine.

Arg. I'm guessing its either my DVD player is broken in someway, even though it can read other DVD's (Maybe not multi layered?) or a program I have install hates Pro Tools

Might have to reformat.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2009, 04:43 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyG View Post
I'm guessing its something to do with firmware or a program I have installed. I'll try updating my DVD drive and see what happens.

OK, so updating the firmware didn't work, it definitely is a DVD-R and I tried the disc on another laptop and it reads it fine.

Arg. I'm guessing its either my DVD player is broken in someway, even though it can read other DVD's (Maybe not multi layered?) or a program I have install hates Pro Tools

Might have to reformat.
Well something hates the PT disk. I wouldnt reformat but you might try uninstalling any burning programs like Nero, Roxio etc. or possibly other multimedia appsthat may have installed some type of driver. Can you beg or borrow A USB powered external drive from someone? that would be preferable to reformating.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-2009, 07:08 AM
RRRS RRRS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: KY
Posts: 119
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

Why don't you just make an iso of the disk and use power iso or something like that and mount the image on your desktop.

1. Find a iso program and dl/purchase it. I do believe there are some free ones but i don't know the names of them. google might help here.
2. Make iso of the disk on pc or mac that reads it.
2. Use an external hard drive, large flash drive, or lan to transfer that file to your desktop.
3. Mount the disk to a virtual cd/dvd drive that will be created by your iso program.
4. Install pt

Hope it helps!
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P
i7 920 2.66
12 gig OCZ Platinum 1333
Zalman 9900 LED
Readeon HD 4650
6 tb storage
WIN 7 x64 Ult
PT9
002 Console, 11R, Profire 2626, Jamlab
MPT2(wtf?)
HP DV7-3188cl
i5
320g 7200rpm hd X2
Siig xpress 1394
6 gig ram
(disabled g105 and acpi
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-2009, 09:40 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,752
Default Re: My Pro Tools LE DVD does not read

Reformatting because of a dying DVD drive would be like swatting flies with a Howitzer. You can get a DVD drive for $30 just about anywhere (try www.mwave.com for starters)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old hedgerocks Pro Tools 9 18 06-30-2011 02:05 PM
Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old hedgerocks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-30-2011 09:54 AM
Pro Tools SE disk doesn't read allusitivity Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 01-12-2011 04:48 AM
Can not read while (-38) pro tools.vdb Audio85 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-27-2010 09:01 AM
my cd rom dont read my pro tools intro-619 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 01-31-2010 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com