Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2004, 11:02 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,703
Default Explain this to someone who knows!!!!

Hi!

Every time i insert a cd on my cd or dvd drive windows seems to be slower while serching on the drive. Then return to normal. I tried disable autorun and etc. and nothing.

I had a mac and you could insert ,read ,write ,open the cd or dvd drive and the os countinue without problem ( Doesn't stop for a moment ).

Why is this ?
Did a pc with windows can do that ?
Is there any tweak to this ?
Or i have to live with that ?

I have my master HD ( master ) with the Dvd ( drive ) slave on my 1st ide port
the second hd recording drive ( master ) 2nd port ide.

Thanks !
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2004, 11:13 AM
Steve Korn Steve Korn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 20
Default Re: Explain this to someone who knows!!!!

Mine does the exact same thing, you're not alone.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2004, 11:29 AM
Camilo Toledo Camilo Toledo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wash. D.C. / Maryland
Posts: 1,910
Default Re: Explain this to someone who knows!!!!


The first thing I would do is to change the order in which you have your HD drives. Put the system and the audio drive on IDE one, the later one as the slave, and change your cd/dvd player to IDE two. Do a search in here for configurations, and you'll see that this way works better for PT.

Some people have disable autorun, since it gives you the choice of inserting a cd and chosing when to let the computer start the scanning process/ when to start it.

My guess is that if you want your pc to recognize and to see the cd contents in explorer instantaneously, I haven't seen a computer do that yet, even macs, but hey... I may be wrong!


Hay una forma muy facil de hacer que los menus en windows sean mas rapidos. Tambien, en cualquier computadora cuando entra el cd al sistema, tomara un par de segundos para que sea reconocido, pero no es que windows se ponga mas lento. El sistema esta escaneando el cd para localizar la informacion y pasarla a ram.
__________________
Camilo Toledo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2004, 08:53 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,703
Default Re: Explain this to someone who knows!!!!

HI !

Youre right all computers takes time to read the cd or dvd media but that waht im saying .
I mean tha other apps runinig at the same time are affected they turn a little slower even
freeze up for a few seconds and how i say before i had a mac G5 and didn't do that. You can make whatever you want with your cd or dvd drives and other things at the same time and the computer
still fast and solid like nothing. You dont see nothing slow or thinknig or whatever you want to name it .

Thanks!
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2004, 07:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,626
Default Re: Explain this to someone who knows!!!!

I'm with Chuck. Run the 2 hard drives on the primary IDE controller and CD/DVD drives on the secondary. I believe most CD/DVD drives are DMA3 and can slow down a hard drive which would otherwise operate at DMA5 if they share the same cable. I would also keep autorun off. Some of the time lag is due to the CD drive spinning up. I had an old 6x CD-RW that was much quicker than all the 40-52x drives as far as initial read and display of contents in the explorer window.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2004, 07:25 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Explain this to someone who knows!!!!

As long as your system/master drive isn't slower than your audio/slave drive.

I like to have my hard drives alone on their own IDE.
A Promise IDE/PCI card is still a great choice for Pro Tools systems.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could someone explain me something about ADC please? mixaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-21-2008 04:14 PM
Can Someone Explain This??? Tricky Sam Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-25-2006 10:02 AM
Please Explain Pete Evick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-23-2003 01:33 PM
Somebody PLEASE explain why... silence_of_stone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-27-2002 07:54 PM
Explain it to me again... phdumas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-01-2002 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com