Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2015, 10:01 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,432
Default Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

What's happening in 12 that's changed? There's strange dashed lines showing up in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste MIDI notes. I'm also still having issues with Massey's DRT that won't allow me to tab to MIDI notes all the time - very inconsistent behaviour. It never happened in 11 and previous versions. Also, undo doesn't seem to undo a paste, and pasting a note too close to another one deletes the first note…all weird stuff that never existed before.

Does anyone have insight on what's going on?

Thanks,
Sig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2015, 12:31 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siegfried Meier View Post
What's happening in 12 that's changed?
There's been a few MIDI bug fixes. The only new MIDI feature I'm aware of is the new "Manual Tempo Entry with Conductor Enabled".

Quote:
There's strange dashed lines showing up in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste MIDI notes.
Can you post a screen shot of that. Thanks.

...and yes, MIDI needs more attention. I'm hoping we'll see new stuff fairly soon down the road.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2015, 12:58 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

http://www.siegfriedmeier.com/screen...MIDI%20Bug.png
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2015, 01:06 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siegfried Meier View Post
Seeing that also. I'd consider that a UI bug/issue, as it's very sporadic and random.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2015, 09:44 PM
Ianduarte Ianduarte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Rio de Janeiro/Brasil
Posts: 99
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

I guess what you see are the blocks. Select to view clips or blocks and consolidate them. This will make these lines go away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-2015, 10:59 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ianduarte View Post
I guess what you see are the blocks. Select to view clips or blocks and consolidate them. This will make these lines go away.
These are dotted lines that weren't in previous versions. Prior versions had the normal solid lines it always had that represented the clip boundaries in notes view. The dotted lines are very random and don't always show. Sometimes they're dotted, and sometimes they're solid. They'll also randomly change. That random behavior I would deem a UI bug/issue new to 12.1.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2015, 07:33 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

Well, even if this IS only a graphical bug, all of those other things I'm experiencing are real, operational bugs…otherwise they'd still be there with the same session when I open up 11HD.

I was hoping the latest release would fix them, but it appears they are 100% the same as they were in the first release of 12…a shame, since it stops us from actually doing anything productive with the latest version.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2015, 11:29 AM
cherryrecording cherryrecording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

Quote:
These are dotted lines that weren't in previous versions
I've seen this in 11.3.1HD also: http://lookpic.com/O/i2/1859/iTi7kkp.png

If I open the session in 10.3.8HD the lines appear normally.

It doesn't affect the audio in any way, so I just consider it another PT quirk.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2015, 03:00 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
These are dotted lines that weren't in previous versions. Prior versions had the normal solid lines it always had that represented the clip boundaries in notes view. The dotted lines are very random and don't always show. Sometimes they're dotted, and sometimes they're solid. They'll also randomly change. That random behavior I would deem a UI bug/issue new to 12.1.

Shane
Unfortunately, that's not the case. We don't see it often but we do see this in PT 10.3.10, and prior versions, too. Graphically it looks exactly like the above screenshot. Technically, MIDI information might be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2015, 03:18 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,382
Default Re: Dashed lines in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siegfried Meier View Post
What's happening in 12 that's changed? There's strange dashed lines showing up in MIDI tracks when I cut/copy or paste MIDI notes. I'm also still having issues with Massey's DRT that won't allow me to tab to MIDI notes all the time - very inconsistent behaviour. It never happened in 11 and previous versions. Also, undo doesn't seem to undo a paste, and pasting a note too close to another one deletes the first note…all weird stuff that never existed before.

Does anyone have insight on what's going on?

Thanks,
Sig
Can you try trashing your prefs, I have worked on 12.1 today and I was able to undo every paste I did. Also as from notes being pasting and deleting the previous notes, if you select a region and that region has silence before that note, that silence will also be pasted erasing what could previously be where the silence falls. This is not new.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT12HD AAE -6101 Error Carl Sealove Pro Tools 12 18 06-02-2016 04:16 AM
HDX lowest buffer setting in PT12HD or 12.1 propower Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 07-03-2015 11:06 PM
Upgrade from PT11HD to PT12HD...? TrentWilliams Pro Tools 12 28 05-27-2015 07:49 PM
No PT12HD subscription plan? Tim R. Pro Tools 12 24 05-04-2015 04:01 AM
My PT12HD wishful thinking antonis Post - Surround - Video 21 11-06-2014 06:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com