Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2020, 02:46 AM
basharar1 basharar1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

AVID the new 2020.03 update OMF import is broken, protools will freeze if you drag an off, or it will report an error prompt when trying to import through session data menu. same files import perfectly with the older version or other software, anyone has a workaround for this....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2020, 08:34 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

Quote:
Originally Posted by basharar1 View Post
AVID the new 2020.03 update OMF import is broken, protools will freeze if you drag an off, or it will report an error prompt when trying to import through session data menu. same files import perfectly with the older version or other software, anyone has a workaround for this....
Well. I'll have to wait on installing now.. That is a problem for me here since I work with editors all the time. Too bad.. Isn't this supposed to be a solid audio post industry standard system? Jeffro, can you advise us ASAP on this? Thanks in advance-:).

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2020.9 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2020, 09:25 AM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 90
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

I'm seeing some of this too. Some OMFs will import. Some won't. Not sure what's causing PT to bump on the ones that won't. I've tried a few AAFs I have on hand and all of those have worked so far.

-Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.9 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2020, 12:01 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

Quote:
Originally Posted by bewk View Post
I'm seeing some of this too. Some OMFs will import. Some won't. Not sure what's causing PT to bump on the ones that won't. I've tried a few AAFs I have on hand and all of those have worked so far.

-Chris
OK Thanks..
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2020.9 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2020, 01:11 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 688
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

It may be localisation issues. This has surfaced in filenames that have non english characters and some video files stopped playing all of a sudden on my system. Today i imported off/aaf with no problems (embedded media) that contained no foreign characters.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2020, 03:48 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 516
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

I don't have an OMF to try at the moment, but I can confirm that AAF import in 20.3 in Windows 10 Pro does work.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2020.9.1, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2020, 03:10 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 806
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

I am seeing this as well. I tried opening a whole bunch of old OMFs, and they seem to be failing at a rate of about three out of four. They have all successfully imported into Pro Tools in the past. Open a support case if you haven't already. It would be nice to get this ironed out.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. AJA XT IO. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.4.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2020, 02:58 AM
basharar1 basharar1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

Its AMAZING how they did not test OMF import?!!! its not a single incident, all my coworkers are reporting the same issue... something about bento container... I never knew protools did sushi... I opened a support ticket with AVID, lets see how fast this will be fixed after doubling the prices....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2020, 11:04 AM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 940
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

Not sure if this is related but I've been having issues with 2020.03 and Catalina drive permissions. I've tried to open an OMF through import session data and I get a message that the file can't be found. The OMF won't work even if I try and open it separately. I can then take any audio file from that drive where the omf is located and drag and drop it into the PT timeline. It works and somehow it lets PT know that permissions are approved on the drive...then the OMF will import.

Happens with movies as well. Open a session with 3 movies that are located on a separate drive and PT says the codec is missing. Then take audio from that drive and drag and drop it into the timeline. Close and open the session again and the movies are there. Really weird.

Again, not sure if this is a issue in the current thread but it's worth noting.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-06-2020, 11:11 AM
basharar1 basharar1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: protools 2020.03 AVID broke OMF import

No comments!!!

We deeply apologize for this inconvenience.
As you have already noticed, we have a new bug introduced in Pro Tools 2020.3:

PT-260941
Unable to import certain OMF files into PT 2020.3 (which import successfully into 2019.12). PT either crashes or throws error "OMFI_ERR: Bento container error;In omfsOpenFile"

The only known workaround at this point are to roll back to Pro Tools 2019.12.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM
Avid drops Pro Tools reinstatement on 01-01-2020 Delta Music Belgium Licensing & Accounts 6 11-27-2019 03:19 PM
Avid announces Pro Tools 2020, 2021 and 2022! off the wall Pro Tools 2018 2 04-01-2019 08:50 AM
2018.7 Broke Hidden Tracks from Import Session Data moogboy100 macOS 0 11-01-2018 11:08 AM
Has Avid broke the DUC??? Keybeeetsss General Discussion 12 04-13-2010 12:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com