Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2011, 07:34 AM
rhythmtechnologies rhythmtechnologies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 302
Default mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

just purchased an mbox3 to use with 7.4cs10.

how the hell do i install? what drivers should i install?

it came with 8.04LE but i want to stick with 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2011, 08:45 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

I'm not sure that's possible as the Mbox 3 was designed and built after the 7.4 era.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:09 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhythmtechnologies View Post
just purchased an mbox3 to use with 7.4cs10.

how the hell do i install? what drivers should i install?

it came with 8.04LE but i want to stick with 7.4
There are definitely no MBox 3 drivers with 7.4.

You will need to use 8.0.4 or higher for proper compatibility.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:12 AM
SKI SKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

With all the advantages of 8 over 7, why stay with 7?
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:14 AM
rhythmtechnologies rhythmtechnologies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 302
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

BD is totally different for a start and i'd have to upgrade my toolkit wouldnt i? stability is still questionable in 8.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:18 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhythmtechnologies View Post
BD is totally different for a start. stability is still questionable in 8.
Stability is only questionable if you have a questionable system.

8 wasn't perfect, but there are a lot of misconceptions in regards to stability. Either way... you have to use it if you want to use Pro Tools with your new MBox.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:23 AM
rhythmtechnologies rhythmtechnologies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 302
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

i went thru hell last year with 8. system is fully digi spec'd.

ive a 9 license on my ilok. ill just wait until i can be bothered doing a windows 7 install i reckon... not looking forward to that
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:32 AM
SKI SKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhythmtechnologies View Post
BD is totally different for a start and i'd have to upgrade my toolkit wouldnt i? stability is still questionable in 8.
Not really.
Win7 and PT8 has been so stable for me that I stopped running my Mac setup.
Just too much of a savings to ignore on what a comparable powered Mac would cost.

The funny part is you were so busy focusing on those non-factors that it caused you to miss the version compatibility.

I'll say it again no reason to stay on PT7.
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:32 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhythmtechnologies View Post
i went thru hell last year with 8. system is fully digi spec'd.

ive a 9 license on my ilok. ill just wait until i can be bothered doing a windows 7 install i reckon... not looking forward to that
Can we get a Sandra?
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:37 AM
rhythmtechnologies rhythmtechnologies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 302
Default Re: mbox 3 and 7.4 - totally confused as to installation

no need for one. posted them plenty of times before. i guarantee you i know my system inside out and i know it conforms to digi standards. im not a rookie at this game and i fully understand the issues that arise from non compatibility

im not looking for help on my system, just wondered if pt7.4 could run with mbox 3.. and i got my answer. ill give 8.05 a go and see if the access violation issue has f**cked off. if not ill go 9 as soon as i can.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clean Install, totally confused! TornadoTed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-18-2011 03:31 AM
Confused on the order of installation. gak7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-06-2010 02:58 PM
first time installation - very confused!! webStalkers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-29-2007 11:26 AM
Software Installation on G5....confused Nad4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-09-2005 04:45 PM
A fun little error...totally confused?! RSSstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-04-2004 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com