Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2020, 04:26 AM
belasoul belasoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 104
Default MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

Unfortunetly Media Offline on OS10.14.6 (Mojave) when i use .mov (DNxHD36) or .mp4 (h.264).
MXF (DNxHD36) seems to work.

New Install Avid Codec LE did not help. New Install (AJA) Drivers did not help.

Any Leads?
__________________
MacOs 10.14.6, RME Fireface UC / UAD Apollo, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Mac Pro 6.1/12-core,64GB RAM, Aja t-tap
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2020, 04:35 AM
belasoul belasoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 104
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

Just found out: When Project and Video on same internal SSD --> Media Offline
BUT when Video on External it works
__________________
MacOs 10.14.6, RME Fireface UC / UAD Apollo, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Mac Pro 6.1/12-core,64GB RAM, Aja t-tap
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2020, 05:26 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 154
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

Hi belasoul,

I don't have this problem with High Sierra, PT2020.3 and H.264.


Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2020.9, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 10.14.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2020, 07:43 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 689
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

There appears to be a problem with the Video engine in 2020.3. I see others are having issues too. Is anyone testing various configurations?
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2020, 08:05 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 689
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

It appears that moving the video to a dedicated video drive solves this but WHY AVID WHY???
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2020, 09:25 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 693
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

Pasted from similar thread in PT2020 forum:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=409208

Working fine here...

MacBook Pro 2019
10.14.6
PTU 2020.3
HD Native + Omni

DNxHD36 video file in .mov container is in Video Files folder, inside the session folder, but the whole session folder in on a Samsung T5 external drive.

EDIT: To be fair, this was opening an existing session after updating from 2019.10 to 2020.3. I'll check importing a video into a new session to be sure.

EDIT2: Created a new session on the internal drive. Copied video file into Video Files folder of that session. Then imported video into session. Still working fine.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2020, 09:51 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by belasoul View Post
Just found out: When Project and Video on same internal SSD --> Media Offline
BUT when Video on External it works
Just internal SSD.. ? I am using external Thunderbolt 3 LaCie 12TB Drive, Audio and Video on the same partition. I never put anything on the internal and never will. Curious.. I am waiting a few days before I update and watching the feedback.

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2020.9 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2020, 02:52 PM
belasoul belasoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 104
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

It seems like there is a problem with non english characters in the Folder-Name structure where the video is located.
__________________
MacOs 10.14.6, RME Fireface UC / UAD Apollo, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Mac Pro 6.1/12-core,64GB RAM, Aja t-tap
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2020, 04:46 AM
audiojavi audiojavi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

In Spain same problem. Solved removing "Ñ" character from filename. Now Working fine
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-10-2020, 11:47 AM
timb. timb. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3

I can also confirm that moving the video to a hard drive without non-English characters in the Folder-Name structure resolved this issue.

However, I cannot imagine that this is NOT a bug; there are so many people across the world using Pro Tools, and a lot of us speak more than one language! German is full of those ä ü ö ß stuffs!

Please, Avid, correct this error and stop annoying us with this bug!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media Offline? CygnusX-1Bk2 Pro Tools 12 3 04-26-2020 08:49 AM
OMF from Avid with Media Offline Andy Caretti Post - Surround - Video 1 01-18-2008 01:15 AM
How to log offline media?! Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 5 08-19-2005 02:19 PM
Logging Offline Media Rizman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-01-2004 11:56 AM
OFFLINE media/audio ongaku 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-12-2004 01:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com