Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-15-2011, 03:47 PM
bobcats bobcats is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Seabrook, NH USA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by zion View Post
I can now track and mix @ 32 sample buffer size with my HD Native card and 16x16 Digital interface with no errors.
I achieved this by turning Intel turbo boost off in the motherboard bios and setting CPU to the highest fixed speed (not over clocked). also I find my RTAS usage is lower. For example in one project the RTAS meter went from 32% down to 8%. Previously a 64 sample buffer was as low as I could achieve. Very stable now with 32 samples. Even with this low sample size I can track and mix some pretty nice size projects. Currently working on a project with 24 tracks (wave files) 8 native-instruments soft synth's about 32 Waves plugins 1 convulsion reverb on aux 1 and a delay plug on aux 2. Wow! I just wanted to share the breakthrough.
Hey Zion
I modeled my system after yours Same MOD, CPU, Ram, Drives, and cant get close to 32 Samples.
Are you running PT Version 9.05? Which version of the MOB Bios are you using?
And What slot is your Native card in?
I already had the Turbo Boost off, and CPU Speed up to the max w/out Overclocking.
I appreciate any and all suggestions
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-15-2011, 06:52 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,038
Smile Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobcats View Post
Hey Zion
I modeled my system after yours Same MOD, CPU, Ram, Drives, and cant get close to 32 Samples.
Are you running PT Version 9.05? Which version of the MOB Bios are you using?
And What slot is your Native card in?
I already had the Turbo Boost off, and CPU Speed up to the max w/out Overclocking.
I appreciate any and all suggestions
I'm running PT 9.0.5, Bios Version 8.F, slot pci-e slot between the black pci
slots. I aslo follows all Pro Tools recommendations. Maybe we can post a sandra and see what the difference is. Also if you can give me a snapshot of your bios settings I can see were they differ.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-15-2011, 07:12 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,038
Post Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Bobcats here is a copy of my sandra report.



SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : MSI MS-7522
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name :
User :

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
Speed : 3.2GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : MSI MSI X58 Pro-E (MS-7522)
BIOS : AMI (OEM) V8.15 03/19/2011
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 24GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : MSI X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)

Chipset
Model : Intel Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)
Total Memory : 24GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 670MHz (1.34GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905403-148A00LF 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905403-148A00LF 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905403-148A00LF 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905403-148A00LF 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905403-148A00LF 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905403-148A00LF 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460FPB (96 SM5.0 1.46GHz, 1GB 1.8GHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460FPB (96SP 2C 1.46GHz, 1GB 1.8GHz)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460FPB (96SP 1.46GHz, 1GB 1.8GHz)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460FPB (96SP 2C 1.46GHz, 1GB 1.8GHz)

Storage Devices
WDC WD3000GLFS-01F8U0 (300GB, SATA300, 3.5", 10000rpm, 16MB Cache) : 279GB (C:)
Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (E:)
Seagate ST3300831AS (300GB, SATA150, 3.5", 8MB Cache) : 279GB (D:)
MAD DOG MD-16XDVD9A4 (ATAPI, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (G:)
HL-DT-ST BD-RE WH08LS20 (SATA150, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 4MB Cache) : N/A (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 279GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD3000GLFS-01F8U0 (300GB, SATA300, 3.5", 10000rpm, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (E:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Hard Disk (D:) : 279GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3300831AS (300GB, SATA150, 3.5", 8MB Cache)
Optical Drive (G:) : N/A @ MAD DOG MD-16XDVD9A4 (ATAPI, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ HL-DT-ST BD-RE WH08LS20 (SATA150, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 4MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : MSI LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Fintek F71882FG/F71883FG
Audio Device : MSI HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : Giga-Byte GF108 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Disk Controller : MSI 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : MSI 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : MSI JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : MSI USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : MSI USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : MSI IEEE 1394 Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : EPSON Stylus Photo RX680 Series (360x360, USB, Colour)
Printer : Epson ESC/P-R (360x360, USB, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 1Gbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 7.6
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-16-2011, 04:17 PM
mrpollack's Avatar
mrpollack mrpollack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland,Mielec
Posts: 100
Default Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Hi Zion!
I tried to switch off Turbo mode on my motherboard's BIOS and you were right, my system is now much more stable with 32 sample buffer during tracking with plugins and mixing ,and seems to have more power then when I had overclocked my cpu to 5 ghz in turbo mode .

Funny thing I tried to track with my Nuendo with 32 sample buffer size and on this machine and it works .. Anyway this 32 sample buffer latency on Nunendo feels more or less like 128 smaple buffer size on my Pro Tools HD Native ..

Thanks for this advice and discovery !
jacek
__________________
Musician,Producer etc..
PT|HD 2018 Native , UAD-2 Octo x2 , Win 10 Pro 64 bit,Core i7 8700K 3,7Ghz (runs OC to 5GHZ stable and easy (12 cores with HT), 32 GB G.Tech DDR4 3200MHZ ,Asus Maximus X Hereo, Intel's onboard graphics Intel(R)HD Graphics (Philips 40'LED screan) , Samsung 24" LED 2x192 I/O, Nuendo 4.3, Wavelab 6, Halion 3.5, Yamaha 02R96V2, AvalonAD2022, AvalonVt737sp etc... www.MrPollack.pl ,www.facebook.com/polak.bros.studio
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-16-2011, 06:59 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrpollack View Post
Hi Zion!
I tried to switch off Turbo mode on my motherboard's BIOS and you were right, my system is now much more stable with 32 sample buffer during tracking with plugins and mixing ,and seems to have more power then when I had overclocked my cpu to 5 ghz in turbo mode .

Funny thing I tried to track with my Nuendo with 32 sample buffer size and on this machine and it works .. Anyway this 32 sample buffer latency on Nunendo feels more or less like 128 smaple buffer size on my Pro Tools HD Native ..

Thanks for this advice and discovery !
jacek
No Problem. Glad to help!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-22-2011, 07:59 AM
nerd513 nerd513 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: cincinnati ohio
Posts: 581
Default Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Nothing wrong with tracking thru a plugin compressor, but check the latency on the Waves comp. If its higher than zero(I bet it is), then try using BF76. It will do the same job, but with 0-1 sample of latency(you can always swap it out later if you just gotta have the Waves comp). Personally, I usually track thru an ART Pro VLA II with NOS Mullard tubes. It sounds great and you really don't hear too much until you really have too much(like 8db of GR). I find at 3-4db of GR, its fine(use it when recording acoustic guitars too). Bass goes thru the ART or a DI from Aphex called the Punch Factory(built-in opto compressor that is surprising). As for singers hearing well, I find that pushing the fader to +6 to +9 makes them all happy
+6 and +9 i know those numbers well ... Greg would prob think im crazy then because i go thru an avalon then into 3 to 5 plug ins while recording vocals usually...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-22-2011, 11:10 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerd513 View Post
+6 and +9 i know those numbers well ... Greg would prob think im crazy then because i go thru an avalon then into 3 to 5 plug ins while recording vocals usually...
As long as you reach the goal, it doesn't matter how you get there
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-12-2012, 12:27 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Looks like I found another performance boost. When I turn off hyperythreading from 8 logical cores to 4 cores I get better CPU performance on Pro Tools 10.2. Looks like less is more. Pro Tools as of yet doesn't seem to take full advantage of todays multi core CPU's. Maybe that will change in the next update. It looks like I've gained another 15% increase with hyperthreading off. Also I noticed that the floating CPU bar is 50% lower when running @ a 32 sample buffer with heavy plugins. I also have all my CPU's working 100% not parked. See this youtube clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pl3u9eiskM4
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-12-2012, 02:33 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by zion View Post
Looks like I found another performance boost. When I turn off hyperythreading from 8 logical cores to 4 cores I get better CPU performance on Pro Tools 10.2. Looks like less is more. Pro Tools as of yet doesn't seem to take full advantage of todays multi core CPU's. Maybe that will change in the next update. It looks like I've gained another 15% increase with hyperthreading off. Also I noticed that the floating CPU bar is 50% lower when running @ a 32 sample buffer with heavy plugins. I also have all my CPU's working 100% not parked. See this youtube clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pl3u9eiskM4
Good that you experimented to find which way works for you. Everyone needs to test both setups as its different from one system to another. My rig is definitely more potent with hyperthreading on, but you(and others) get better results with it off Roll with the config that runs best
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-12-2012, 03:45 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Tracking and Mixing @ 32 sample Buffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Good that you experimented to find which way works for you. Everyone needs to test both setups as its different from one system to another. My rig is definitely more potent with hyperthreading on, but you(and others) get better results with it off Roll with the config that runs best
Yes I agree, but were do they differ as with hyperthreading on or off?
Thats what I'd like to know. I would really like Pro Tools 10.2 to use 100%
of all 8 logical core's or one less (7). My others audio and video apps use 100% of all core's.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tracking in Mpowered -> mixing in LE tonejunkee Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-26-2008 03:36 PM
tracking in M Powered -> Mixing in LE tonejunkee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2008 01:15 PM
Hardware Buffer: Mixing vs. Tracking paul Neathery 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-27-2007 11:55 AM
Tracking in TDM and Mixing in LE. Need a good HD. Droog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-30-2005 02:28 PM
tracking-mixing thread arcarsenal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-15-2003 01:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com