Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2014, 01:12 PM
wildrain wildrain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Barcelona CATALONIA
Posts: 7
Default How to purchase in Avid's Store from Europe

I've already bought Digidesign and M-Audio equipment some time ago but I've never bought anything from Avid's Store, I want to get a PT 11 upgrade, will probably seem like a stupid question but, the Avid´s Store prices are in dollars not Euros, will I have to pay taxes? will I have to pay customs? or the product comes from Europe even though the prices are in dollars. My question is whether it would be better to purchase the stuff at a store in Europe as Thomann. And please step a short description of how to upgrade from PT M-Powered 8.5. to PT 11-10, or just tell me where can I find it out.I already have an account in Avid´s Website and in ilok´s Website as well, Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2014, 06:53 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: How to purchase in Avid´s Store from Europe.

I have always bought my Pro Tools software from the Avid online store mainly because it is instantly available. Once I download it, I burn a copy to disk for backup. Like you, I do not live in the USA. Since the product is 'downloadable' it is very difficult for Inland Revenue (Tax) departments to keep a track of whats going where since it exists in the 'virtual' world.

At present, our government is looking at ways of taxing products bought online but currently no taxes are recovered by them. I'm not sure how this works in Europe though.

On the other hand, when I buy hardware (which often comes with a software package), I always buy from a registered Avid dealer here in New Zealand mainly because I don't want any damage done to my equipment during shipping as well as the backup support options available.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2014, 08:48 PM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,231
Default Re: How to purchase in Avid's Store from Europe

I got my PT10>11 upgrade on ebay….California based seller.
Good price and no problem at all. Its just a code
Sent via e-mail….safer than post.
For example there is one here ..the seller has over 4000 transactions at 100 percent
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AVID-PRO-TOO...item485fcd57e3 ..make an offer

or shop around
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2014, 08:51 PM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,231
Default Re: How to purchase in Avid's Store from Europe

Also if you message them and request a digital transfer…you can avoid the shipping costs.
The shipping is for shipping a card with a serial number on…thats all, no dvd or anything.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2014, 09:20 PM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,231
Default Re: How to purchase in Avid's Store from Europe

And again
Even tho you can save ££££ buying a digital download on ebay.
Before you jump on anything..consider this at Thomann
http://www.thomann.de/gb/avid_mbox_m..._10_aktion.htm

Avid Mbox Mini incl. Pro Tools - Sound Card Trade-In Offer - To take part in this offer, please send us your old soundcard (just any soundcard) ! Mbox Mini: USB Audiointerface 24 Bit 48 kHz incl. Pro Tools 9 with free update to version 11
--------
I was considering this with an Mbox 3 but the deal finished.
You don't even have to send in the souncard. They told me they would accept an old sound blaster. Just destroy it and send in a photo.
I kid you not.
I have the e-mail.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2014, 09:27 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,265
Default Re: How to purchase in Avid's Store from Europe

In the Avid store I would hope it correctly identified your Locale (look at the very top line inside the web Browser Window) and correctly set local pricing and VAT etc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2014, 08:21 AM
wildrain wildrain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Barcelona CATALONIA
Posts: 7
Default Re: How to purchase in Avid's Store from Europe

Thank you all for your answers, really appreciate it, right now I dont really know what will I do, but I gest Im gonna have to make up my mind as soon as posible. ¡¡¡PT 64bit at last!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A note from Avid's new CEO Louis Hernandez General Announcements 0 02-11-2013 03:30 PM
Scorch Store Purchase in ITunes sureshraja1 Avid Scorch (iOS) Forum 1 06-25-2012 07:22 AM
avid's address ? hmj Eleven Rack 5 06-21-2012 12:31 PM
Avid Store Purchase Help kikumoto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-01-2007 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com