Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:36 AM
painkilla72 painkilla72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!



Still I get no answer whatsoever to my previously stated here issue ( --> http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=246785 )

I thought I would warn other people thinking of updating their Command 8 firmware to the new one available as a free download on Digidesign's website.

You'd think that doing this can only be good for your controller and bam! you end up with a dead Command 8. I've called a few places here in Belgium and this supposed painless little upgrade is going to cost me shipping to another country, plus maybe the cost of reinjecting the firmware into my Command 8 at the Digidesign factory. I'm not even mentioning the time this whole thing is going to take.

I'm pretty pissed right now.

That's prolly going to be my last ever Digidesign product if this isn't solved with a much better customer orientated point of view.

And to the Digidesign website people : maybe advise that the firmware upgrade might go wrong at the user's expenses.

This feels like prehistorical times here!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2009, 04:59 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,791
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

In looking at repair records, I see only one other case of firmware update corruption, but it was repaired under warranty.

When did you purchase your unit?

Have you tried contacting UK tech support directly?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2009, 05:03 PM
peppertree peppertree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,610
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

I blew an mbox firmware a couple years ago (the firmware updater crashed mid-update) and digi swapped it for a new one no problem. Thanks Digi!

I have never figured out why, with memory so cheap, there can't be buffered and error corrected firmware updates that shrink the window of potential firmware death to milliseconds, and what's more, are user-revivable with a ROM-based loader even if the update is blown. Surely companies spend about as much servicing user-blown firmwares as such additions to the chips would cost.

BTW I was recently working on a D-command and honestly I prefer my 003 Console over it. It was just too big to reach everything easily in the sweet spot. I want a nice compact master section and a few faders...maybe the plugin controls all the way up on the D-control would start to be worth it, but I'm seeing why Icons are being sold 2nd hand a lot these days. A followup to the Command-8, that would run on dis-M-powered and be even better than the 003 Console as a control surface would be something I'd buy.
__________________
`My name is Pro Tools HD, King of Kings:
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!'
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
The lone and native DAWs stretch far away.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2009, 01:27 PM
mottow mottow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

Funny could it be that command 8 dont like belgium?! Had a 'jittery' fader issue, looked on the digi site where it said to update the firmware and the firmware updater 'bricked' my controller. Result - I have to pay for the repair grrrrrr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2009, 10:30 AM
painkilla72 painkilla72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

Hello again,

there's some news to my situation but as i won't double post, here's the link to the content : http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...=1#post1456014
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2009, 02:16 AM
painkilla72 painkilla72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

Hello Mottow,

Are you from Belgium too? Who did you contact after it happened?
Since customers cannot directly speak to the Digidesign repair/tech in the UK, the shop employee who called me mentioned that he was told they don't want to replace it for free because I'm the only one who ever had this problem. Seems like I'm not alone...

I'm really surprised though that there are not many more people with the same issue knowing I followed every step perfectly for the update process.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mottow View Post
Funny could it be that command 8 dont like belgium?! Had a 'jittery' fader issue, looked on the digi site where it said to update the firmware and the firmware updater 'bricked' my controller. Result - I have to pay for the repair grrrrrr
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2009, 11:49 AM
johnymatey johnymatey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by painkilla72 View Post


Still I get no answer whatsoever to my previously stated here issue ( --> http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=246785 )

I thought I would warn other people thinking of updating their Command 8 firmware to the new one available as a free download on Digidesign's website.

You'd think that doing this can only be good for your controller and bam! you end up with a dead Command 8. I've called a few places here in Belgium and this supposed painless little upgrade is going to cost me shipping to another country, plus maybe the cost of reinjecting the firmware into my Command 8 at the Digidesign factory. I'm not even mentioning the time this whole thing is going to take.

I'm pretty pissed right now.

That's prolly going to be my last ever Digidesign product if this isn't solved with a much better customer orientated point of view.

And to the Digidesign website people : maybe advise that the firmware upgrade might go wrong at the user's expenses.

This feels like prehistorical times here!
I have a similar prob, if i cant get an answer by tomorrow im ringin the ppl i bought it from see if they can fix it. the link here is the prob im having.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...97#post1492497
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2009, 11:50 AM
johnymatey johnymatey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

if i get an answer off the ppl i bought it from how to fix it ill pos it on this thread m8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2009, 11:50 AM
johnymatey johnymatey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnymatey View Post
I have a similar prob, if i cant get an answer by tomorrow im ringin the ppl i bought it from see if they can fix it. the link here is the prob im having.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...97#post1492497
if i get an answer off the ppl i bought it from how to fix it ill pos it on this thread m8
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2009, 11:52 AM
johnymatey johnymatey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: TIP!!! : Do NOT upgrade your Command 8 's firmware or it might DIE like mine !!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarbyshirebryant View Post
Well I've a couple of observations:

1) Posting here is NOT the same as calling Digi tech support - they should have been your first port of call.

2) In your original post you mentioned that the C8 was losing connection with your machine before the update. Unless the update specifically fixed those sort of issues I would have looked at resolving the intermittant connection issue BEFORE doing a critical 'must not lose connection during update' update.

I think your C8 'just' needs a re-flash at the factory - but I've a feeling your original 'intermittant' problem will return when it gets returned. Failing that, it *is* possible that the C8 is faulty, in which case a factory check-out is a good thing.

I feel your frustration, but pay the money, it'll be worth it in the end.

I also agree that there should be some sort of minimal 'boot loader' that doesn't get overwritten by a firmware update and thus user recovery from a failed flash update possible - motherboard BIOSs now do this (though I still sit there with my fingers crossed praying the power doesn't go out!)

The scariest thing I've ever seen was when I first received my 003. An 'in theory' compatible ieee card but untested, followed by plugging in to my PT8 box....where it promptly saw the 003 and said 'right...am updating the firmware now!' - the ieee card proved totally compatible but not quite the way I planned
the phone lines a quid a min the robbing ********
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Command firmware Patrick Bateman ICON & C|24 7 09-26-2020 10:00 PM
command 8 firmware update for Pro Tools 9 matt_the_manic macOS 0 01-06-2011 06:00 AM
Command 8 Firmware issue Sixstringer7 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 11-18-2009 08:11 PM
PT Doesn't Recognize Command|8 After Firmware Upgrade hfth ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 11-05-2007 11:46 PM
Command|8 Firmware 02.01.01 & Firmware Updater 1.4 Avid General Announcements 0 06-08-2004 04:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com