Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2013, 10:22 PM
Mike Harrison Mike Harrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The NJ Shore, USA
Posts: 80
Default Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

After replacing the older Digi CoreAudio driver (v9) with the Avid 002 & 003 Family driver (v11), there is excessive processor usage and processor temperature when launching audio software that accesses the driver.

I first noticed it using Adobe Audition. Without even having an audio file open, processor usage leaps to and remains at about 70%, as does the processor temperature, to 65°C or higher. Then I launched Pro Tools (LE 8.0.5) and saw the same conditions. And the same is also true when a web browser grabs the Avid driver for online audio.

Apple's Activity Monitor utility shows a kernel_task causing this. That's all I can say; I don't have the knowledge to research this any further, but I am told by those far more experienced than I that continued processor use at high temperatures will definitely shorten its life.

I hope that someone from Avid will look into this. My system specs are Mac OS 10.8.3, Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, Memory: 16GB 1600 MHz DDR3. I had been successful running Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 and Adobe Audition CS6 on this computer with the Digi CoreAudio driver ver 9, but it acted erratically (it would self-launch if I merely opened a Finder window containing audio files and would keep relaunching if I quit it, and it would cause freezes if I attempted to play standalone or online movies.
__________________
Mike Harrison
Voice Actor/Narrator/Audio Producer
http://mike-harrison.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2013, 08:19 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Harrison View Post
I had been successful running Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 and Adobe Audition CS6 on this computer with the Digi CoreAudio driver ver 9, but it acted erratically (it would self-launch if I merely opened a Finder window containing audio files and would keep relaunching if I quit it, and it would cause freezes if I attempted to play standalone or online movies.
You should not expect Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 to work properly with this OS.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2013, 01:17 PM
Mike Harrison Mike Harrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The NJ Shore, USA
Posts: 80
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

Pro Tools – at least for my very simple needs – works just fine. It's the CoreAudio driver that behaves erratically, even when using other audio software, a web browser or just in the Finder.

And the Avid 002 & 003 Family driver, which according to the compatibility page should work on this OS, draws excessive processor power.
__________________
Mike Harrison
Voice Actor/Narrator/Audio Producer
http://mike-harrison.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2013, 02:25 PM
foreststone foreststone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: US
Posts: 7
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Harrison View Post
Pro Tools – at least for my very simple needs – works just fine. It's the CoreAudio driver that behaves erratically, even when using other audio software, a web browser or just in the Finder.

And the Avid 002 & 003 Family driver, which according to the compatibility page should work on this OS, draws excessive processor power.
Hi Mike, can you confirm what I have posted here...

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=342284
__________________
OS 10.12.5 - 32GB - iMac Late 2013 - 3.5 i7 - Pro Tools 12.8 - UAD Apollo Twin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2013, 11:22 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

I don't think the latest 003 driver is supposed to work with PT 8.0.3.

From Avid-

"Do not install on Pro Tools LE 8.x Mac systems (can be installed on LE 8.0.5 Windows, but not necessary. 003 Family and Digi 002 Family drivers are included with Pro Tools LE 8 Mac and Windows installation and 8.x updates."
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2013, 12:08 PM
Mike Harrison Mike Harrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The NJ Shore, USA
Posts: 80
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by foreststone View Post
Hi Mike, can you confirm what I have posted here... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=342284
Yes, Foreststone. This is essentially what I am experiencing, although you're using the 003 Console and I'm using the 002, and our respective computers are different.

I've discovered one additional thing when using Adobe Audition (which also uses the 002/003 driver): in Audition's hardware preferences, if I select to use my computer's built-in output rather than the 002 (however leaving the input connected to the 002), processor usage and temperature immediately return to normal. But the moment I switch the output back to the 002, they go right back up.

Park Seward: I'm using PTLE 8.0.5, but now I do not recall exactly why I began using version 9 of the 002/003 driver (the one that worked well with PTLE and Adobe Audition, but behaved erratically with web browsers and in the Finder). I'm now going to do a clean uninstall Pro Tools and the driver, and then reinstall PTLE 8.0.5 and the driver that came with it so that I can refresh my memory as to why I made the change.
__________________
Mike Harrison
Voice Actor/Narrator/Audio Producer
http://mike-harrison.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2013, 01:15 PM
Mike Harrison Mike Harrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The NJ Shore, USA
Posts: 80
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

OK... one hour since my last post, and I did the clean uninstall of Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 (and the Digi CoreAudio driver), then reinstalled Pro Tools LE 8.0.0 and the CoreAudio driver that was included.

While the CoreAudio driver did not show up in System Preferences>Sound, Adobe Audition was able to find and run it perfectly. However, Pro Tools LE 8.0.0 launched and then promptly crashed.

I then installed the Pro Tools 8.0.5 updater, which also replaced the CoreAudio driver. The driver now appears in System Preferencess>Sound, and Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 runs fine (again, for my minimal needs) and accesses the CoreAudio driver just fine, as does Adobe Audition.

I could not get the CoreAudio driver to misbehave, so I still cannot remember why I had previously installed the Avid version 9 driver.

The only performance issue I notice with PTLE 8.0.5 on this computer (Mac Mini, with 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 processor, 16GB RAM, running OS 10.8.3) is, right after launching, it takes a full minute to "restore audio engine settings" (although my MenuMeters app shows no processor or drive activity during this time).

Go figure!
__________________
Mike Harrison
Voice Actor/Narrator/Audio Producer
http://mike-harrison.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2013, 04:19 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

Glad you are back in business.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-15-2013, 12:08 AM
MikeHart MikeHart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: LA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

I've been having the same problem since upgrading from PT9 to 10/11. Kernel_Task is taking up 90% of a computer processor when the 003 is connected to ProTools, or having audio played through it from iTunes. Has to be the driver...

Opening blank tracks in ProTools (and garageband) with the 003, It is eating up excessive amounts of processor power and overloads with just a few tracks in the session. However when I open up heavy sessions with "built-in-output" selected in the playback engine, ProTools behaves normally.

Any ideas or solutions?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2013, 02:51 PM
foreststone foreststone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: US
Posts: 7
Default Re: Excessive Processor Usage and Temperature: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHart View Post
I've been having the same problem since upgrading from PT9 to 10/11. Kernel_Task is taking up 90% of a computer processor when the 003 is connected to ProTools, or having audio played through it from iTunes. Has to be the driver...

Opening blank tracks in ProTools (and garageband) with the 003, It is eating up excessive amounts of processor power and overloads with just a few tracks in the session. However when I open up heavy sessions with "built-in-output" selected in the playback engine, ProTools behaves normally.

Any ideas or solutions?
It appears many are having the same issue. See these threads...

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=342284

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=344790

I tried using up my complimentary support code to try and report this issue to Avid but I was unable to get confirmation that they can replicate the issue or that even others have reported it to them. I think our only option at this point is to make sure Avid is aware of this issue and help them replicate it so that their engineers can try and resolve this. When I last spoke with them, several months ago, they did not acknowledge this as a problem.
__________________
OS 10.12.5 - 32GB - iMac Late 2013 - 3.5 i7 - Pro Tools 12.8 - UAD Apollo Twin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove Avid Family 003 driver kmusic Pro Tools 11 6 11-06-2013 08:11 PM
Excessive Processor Usage: Avid 002 & 003 Family Driver Mike Harrison 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-28-2013 03:14 PM
Excessive Pro Tools LE CPU Usage even with no session open jallen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-06-2007 04:55 PM
TL Space excessive CPU usage bug Matt82au 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-06-2007 09:45 PM
PT RAM Usage 389MB - Excessive? j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-20-2006 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com