Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2017, 06:08 PM
DJLilSteve DJLilSteve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 41
Default Missing plugins after update??

I had protools 8 then updated to 8.0.5 after installing 8.0 first and now I'm missing the stock plugins that automatically come with 8.0 ex. The gain plugin and some eqs and what not... Is this normal or no? How can I get my stock plugins back?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2017, 07:10 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,975
Default Missing plugins after update??

Say again. What *exactly* did you do and why? (Uninstall Pro Tools with the uninstaller? Wipe and installl a full clean OS? What?). I am not following why if you had 8.0 installed then why did you reinstall it before installing 8.0.5?

8.0 ex? You mean 8.0 LE?

Where is your OS and system info? Sandra report if on a PC...

Are the plugin files in the folder and just not showing up? If so trash prefs and databases.

What interface do you have (did you check OS compatibility with that?).

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2017, 11:31 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,595
Default Re: Missing plugins after update??

There were some big changes made midstream during the 8 lifecycle. Uninstall what you have. Download and run the last full installer (8.0.3-8.0.4) and then apply the 8.0.5 update afterwards. Make sure to run Pro Tools after the full install first to apply your license. If you run the updater without entering the license beforehand, you'll have to uninstall and start over again.
http://secure.digidesign.com/service...rticleId=43353


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.2.

Pro Tools HD 12.8.1, Mbox3, MOTU PCI-424 w/ 2408mkII & 1224 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2, Focusrite Scarlett 18I8 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2017, 03:10 PM
DJLilSteve DJLilSteve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 41
Default Re: Missing plugins after update??

The reason why I updated was because I'm windows 7 and the last known version to work with 7 is 8.0.5 so I had to install 8.0 then update to 8.0.5 yea pro tools LE.. I didn't do any other updates just went from 8.0 to 8.0.5 but maybe I should do that and update one by one up to 8.0.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2017, 03:38 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,975
Default Missing plugins after update??

I think all Top Jimmy was suggesting is you can try picking the last available full installer and then run the 8.0.5 upgrade. You don't need to start with 8.0, and may be better off not doing so. You should not (and do not waste time) need to go through every sequential upgrade either, just try what Top Jimmy suggested.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2017, 10:02 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,595
Default Missing plugins after update??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
...and may be better off not doing so.

Most definitely better off not doing so. Many plugins were updated during that period so there are a lot of incompatibilities between early 8 and late 8. Best to install the last full installer, run it to authorize it, and then run the 8.0.5 updater.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.2.

Pro Tools HD 12.8.1, Mbox3, MOTU PCI-424 w/ 2408mkII & 1224 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2, Focusrite Scarlett 18I8 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
missing plugins with update??? xcracer41 Pro Tools 10 Discussion 5 02-14-2013 05:20 PM
Plugins Missing after Update to 7.4.2 Spirit57 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-24-2011 03:59 PM
PT 9.0.2 Update Plugins missing!! CottersJ Pro Tools 9 Discussion 0 03-21-2011 02:44 AM
Few plugins missing after 7.3 update Ruusperi Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 01-08-2007 08:37 AM
Missing Plugins after update N@W 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-28-2006 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com