Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-15-2016, 07:03 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 219
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

I've been googling, but I can't get a good answer. What is AES? I see that it is a digital our, which I don't think I'll need if I get a dedicated converter, right?
__________________
  • Pro Tools 12.4
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | Presonus DigiMax LT
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-15-2016, 07:37 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,389
Default Preamp for drum recording?

Yes AES is a digital format.

One example of using AES is on a HD I/o ....8x8x8

I have 8 analog in's
I have another 8 AES, in's
I have 8 ADAT in's on the Enclosure.

You don't have to use anything you don't want to, if you want all analog, make sure you get enough Analog Input cards to support all your analog in's.

I didn't want to buy another analog card for my interface- I use what I have....and it works.

No biggie, but it has to be Analog then just make sure the Lynx has enough of them (analog inputs)
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-15-2016, 08:00 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 219
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Got it! Yeah the Lynx I plan to buy has 16 analog in. Thanks!
__________________
  • Pro Tools 12.4
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | Presonus DigiMax LT
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-15-2016, 08:03 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,389
Default Preamp for drum recording?

Which model? Aurora 16 I guess


I wonder if it's 16 analog AND 16 AES...

Or 16 analog OR 16 AES....


Wow I just checked Sweetwater and it is AND...

32 I/O

So you could stack 4 of those XL48's together and have a 32 channel recoding setup....
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-15-2016, 08:50 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 219
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Wow. So I can have 16 analog INs to the aurora 16, then also connect two 8-channel preamps to the AES inputs on the Aurora?

So, in that case, the aurora would do A-to-D conversion for the 16 analogs, and then just "pass through" the 16 digital signals via he AES connectors?
__________________
  • Pro Tools 12.4
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | Presonus DigiMax LT
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-15-2016, 09:10 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,389
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

That's what the Sweetwater website said, simultaneous 16 Ana and 16 aes

Check manual for confirmation
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-26-2016, 08:08 PM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 219
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
As an owner of the Midas XL48, I highly recommend it for at least 2 reasons.
#1-it has lightpipe out so its a great match for your setup.
#2-it sounds head and shoulders better than the focusrite on drums(I also have an OctoPre Mk II Dynamic in my rack). I tested against the Neve and API clones I have(and love on certain things) and the XL48 won handily

http://savetheworldband.com/watch-th...deo-for-bleed/
This is my house Mothertone kit with all the shells thru the Midas. Overheads, hat and ride are thru an ISA-428. Mics are also important and this recording was:
Kick in-Audix D6
Kick out-custom sub-kick
Snare top-Shure Beta56
Snare bottom-EV n/d408
Hat-AT3031
Rack-Audix D6
Floor-Miktek PM11
Ride-Shure SM81 under
Overheads-Miktek C1 pair

Is that your band, Albee? That song is great, love the drum sounds also!
__________________
  • Pro Tools 12.4
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | Presonus DigiMax LT
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-26-2016, 08:47 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,598
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Is that your band, Albee? That song is great, love the drum sounds also!
Thanks for bringing this to attention, sounds beautiful and the band is awesome. Loved the "Tom Sawyer" part in the middle! Congrats albee, double if it's your band.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-26-2016, 09:02 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,389
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Yeah sounds good, but I thought you were in Nashville? I was expecting C&W - for real
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-11-2017, 08:24 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,764
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Is that your band, Albee? That song is great, love the drum sounds also!
I wish! On the final CD(due to be released any day now), I did net a playing credit for bass on one track(channeling my Paul McCartney). The drummer is Jon Wysocki from Staind. Bassist is Robert Wright and he's a musical freak(plays everything!). He got bored one day and recreated Bohemian Rhapsody by himself and its ridiculously good Guitarist is Dan Tracey and he tours in the Alan Parsons Live band. If you only think of country music when you think of Nashville, you're missing a boatload

Re the drum sounds, some is due to how killer the Mothertone drums are(aka Sleishman). They are made in Australia and all the shells are floating(not a single screw or bolt touches the shells). Some is also due to Robert Wright being an amazing mixer(Bleed was mixed by Michael Wagener, but Robert mixed the rest). IIRC, most of the songs used a Ludwig Black Beauty snare. Toms were 10, 12 and 14" with a 20" kick. Mics were Audix D6 and custom subkick(bass drum), Beta56(top) and EV nd408(bottom)(snare), AT3031(hat), Miktek PM10(racks), Miktek PM11(floor) and Miktek C1's(overheads). Preamps were Midas XL48(shell mics) and Focusrite ISA428(hat, ride and overheads). Drums actually were tracked in a fairly small room.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 08-11-2017 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to use a preamp on a snare drum rogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-16-2008 10:59 AM
What is your Favorite Preamp for Drum Overheads wolfman_rob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 01-29-2007 07:12 AM
Best all around drum preamp Hank5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-22-2006 08:55 PM
preamp for drum noequipment Tips & Tricks 7 12-19-2002 01:35 AM
Drum Mic and PreAmp King Kong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-30-2002 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com