Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2017, 04:02 AM
DJ47 DJ47 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 4
Default Using Absynth 5 as FX

Hey Guys,

I'm trying to use absynth as an fx processor through a bus track.
I've already set absynth's oscillator to "audio in" and I can see the audio coming in from the audio track in absytnth's "In" meter but on the Out meters nothing moves.

I noticed that on logic I have absynth 5 and absynth fx, while Pro Tools only shows absynth (AAX) which is the one I placed on the bus track.

Any ideas what's wrong with my signal path or set up here?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2017, 04:46 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,844
Default Re: Using Absynth 5 as FX

I haven't used Absynth for years, but I seem to remember it had a section in presets for fx. Have you tried to load a fx preset?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2017, 09:45 AM
DJ47 DJ47 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 4
Default Re: Using Absynth 5 as FX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I haven't used Absynth for years, but I seem to remember it had a section in presets for fx. Have you tried to load a fx preset?
Genius! I didn't notice there was a separate "Effects" tab. Thanks a lot and happy new year :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 12:07 AM
shisko shisko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Default Re: Using Absynth 5 as FX

Fellas, I'm having the exact same problem. I see the effects tab, I click on any of the effects, but I'm not getting output from any of them. I don't see "presets" available anywhere on the instrument. I'm trying to use Aetherizer, and I see it selected in the effects tab and it's listed in the Master section. Like the OP says, I'm can see audio is coming into the instrument, but there is no output. Thanks for the help, folks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 05:55 PM
shisko shisko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Default Re: Using Absynth 5 as FX

For anyone else who comes across this problem, I found the solution. Go to the "perform" tab, and in that page you will find the "Audio In" panel. In that panel there is a control for the "auto trigger". I selected "always on" and then I was able to use all the Absynth features on an audio track. I believe this auto trigger addresses this point from the Absynth manual:

"External audio signals run through ABSYNTH 5’s signal path in exactly the same way as internally created signals and so are also in uenced by ABSYNTH 5’s Envelopes. This means that you do not hear audio signals from external sources unless ABSYNTH 5 has received MIDI notes and used them to trigger the Envelopes!"

I didn't understand this at all when I first read it. But after stumbling on the auto trigger, it's pretty clear how they relate.

I hope this helps someone else. The effects in Absynth are really cool for audio.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absynth 4 with PT8? Majorek Virtual Instruments 3 03-19-2009 01:44 PM
Absynth 4 help!! sanmartindj Virtual Instruments 12 04-04-2007 09:59 PM
Absynth okay. Absynth & Battery = Error. Timothy72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-23-2002 05:58 AM
Absynth.... anyone??? naman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 01-12-2002 02:13 PM
ABsynth haze General Discussion 2 05-29-2001 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com