Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2010, 11:07 AM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Length of PCI HD cards

How long are the cards? I think I have a 12" clearance in my PC box. Is that enough space?
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2010, 11:34 AM
GtrDude GtrDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA.
Posts: 662
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

I think I read somewhere that they were 12.5 inches.
I also think they have to go into a 75w slot.
But I'm not sure about that either.

GD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2010, 01:44 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by GtrDude View Post
I think I read somewhere that they were 12.5 inches.
Thanks! Can anyone confirm this?
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2010, 09:13 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

I would swear that DTS answered that they were exactly 12 inches once. Its been a while back but I did kinda make a point to remember that it was a even number and not a fraction.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2010, 06:29 AM
smfelton's Avatar
smfelton smfelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 682
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

They are standard full length PCI which is 312 mm (12.283 inches) as far as I know.
__________________
 OSX 10.11.5, PT 12.5, iConnectAudio4+, Axe FX 2 XL+, Music Man Majesty
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2010, 03:38 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

Thanks guys!!
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2010, 02:14 AM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by smfelton View Post
They are standard full length PCI which is 312 mm (12.283 inches) as far as I know.
Yup - just a touch over 12", but not 12.5".
__________________
Phil O'Keefe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2010, 09:09 AM
kilroyrock kilroyrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

I had to use some tin snips, and cut a part of my hard drive bay out of the way to get it to fit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:19 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

Last I measured was 12 and 5/16.....

Why almost every case until we get to the really huge ones is only 11.4" (290mm) before it hits a hard drive cage or something is a constant wonder to me

-Lee
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2010, 05:10 PM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Length of PCI HD cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by kilroyrock View Post
I had to use some tin snips, and cut a part of my hard drive bay out of the way to get it to fit.
So did I... and it's otherwise not exactly a small case either. But that's not Digidesign's fault - they're full length PCI-x cards; it's our cases that aren't to spec and don't actually support full length cards.
__________________
Phil O'Keefe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drawn MIDI note length only staccato notes, regardless of note length kingofallwookies Pro Tools 11 2 02-07-2014 08:10 AM
What is the thermal output/heat load of HD core cards and process cards? yosemitesam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-24-2011 03:39 PM
Copied region length auto-adjust to paste location length? greglawrence Tips & Tricks 4 10-23-2011 01:46 PM
PCIe cards not being recognized in my MAC PRO ProTools not launching with cards in phatbeatstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-16-2011 12:35 AM
HELP!!! running 2 core cards on mix sys & lights on cards??? HELP!!! A Spooner Tips & Tricks 6 07-08-2009 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com