Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-22-2020, 04:56 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 190
Default Re: NAMM new HDX or nothing!!!

I asked a (afaik) well informed Avid rep last week about an HDX successor. Said there was nothing on the horizon, or at least not high priority or anything soon.

Personally I wouldn't invest in HDX anymore (I'm in post) unless I would need the IO.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-22-2020, 05:15 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 581
Default Re: NAMM new HDX or nothing!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
It all comes down to how far the developer wants to tune the plugin. Avid "standard" latency is 10 samples, and more if the algorithm needs that (f.ex Pro Subharmonic 394 samples).

Don't know why the new DSP is "slower" than TDM, which had 4 samples "standard" latency. For comparison ReVibe TDM had 4 sample latency but ReVibe AAXDSP has 66 sample latency. There must be some timing issue with how AAXDSP addresses its memory, compared to TDM. Only explanation I can come up with.

Theoretically you always need one sample for reading in, one sample for processing, one sample for writing out. So those old 4 sample TDM plugs were pretty damn awesome -- only one sample shy from perfect.

So yes, AAX-DSP XL or whatever it would be called is way overdue. I cannot see myself putting my money into these +8 year old cards today because either the cards are going to be updated or going away soon, and neither scenario encourages me to invest.
Couldn't agree more Please sell Avid to competent company.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-22-2020, 05:16 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 581
Default Re: NAMM new HDX or nothing!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farhoof View Post
I asked a (afaik) well informed Avid rep last week about an HDX successor. Said there was nothing on the horizon, or at least not high priority or anything soon.

Personally I wouldn't invest in HDX anymore (I'm in post) unless I would need the IO.
Concur
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-09-2020, 09:00 AM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 581
Default Re: NAMM new HDX or nothing!!!

Yep, it's looking like Avid might be done with HDX.....


Was hoping for an update for tracking purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-12-2020, 05:33 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,469
Default Re: NAMM new HDX or nothing!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
But ironically now the Mac Pro has (once more) slots in which to put it.
Can still be very useful for those wanting the computer close by (mac pros are essentially silent now) but not the noise of HDX.. you could run a quality thunderbolt cable and have the rack far away.. I am planning on a HDX2 to start with the goal of going to 3, and I specifically want to do it via expansion chassis so I can keep the noise away from me, as I need access to the computer much more than I do a hdx card.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.12
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, dual boot OS 10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 2018/2019
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-16-2020, 02:51 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 581
Default Re: NAMM new HDX or nothing!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
It all comes down to how far the developer wants to tune the plugin. Avid "standard" latency is 10 samples, and more if the algorithm needs that (f.ex Pro Subharmonic 394 samples).

Don't know why the new DSP is "slower" than TDM, which had 4 samples "standard" latency. For comparison ReVibe TDM had 4 sample latency but ReVibe AAXDSP has 66 sample latency. There must be some timing issue with how AAXDSP addresses its memory, compared to TDM. Only explanation I can come up with.

Theoretically you always need one sample for reading in, one sample for processing, one sample for writing out. So those old 4 sample TDM plugs were pretty damn awesome -- only one sample shy from perfect.

So yes, AAX-DSP XL or whatever it would be called is way overdue. I cannot see myself putting my money into these +8 year old cards today because either the cards are going to be updated or going away soon, and neither scenario encourages me to invest.
Wow, slower.....Avid should sell company........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11R at NAMM musicman691 Eleven Rack 35 02-18-2013 03:37 PM
Namm broken81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-11-2010 12:51 PM
NAMM 07 MiamiMusicMan Virtual Instruments 3 01-18-2007 10:50 AM
NAMM '07 - What do you want? dts.music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 26 01-16-2007 03:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com