Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2020, 04:15 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,658
Default Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

I've purchased a couple of replacement faders from eBay, and have had great luck. They're usually between the $75-$150 range each. Are they all the same? See the following links and varying prices.

Actual D-Command fader

Set of 5 for $50

About $20/each

I see the wiring diagram on the sides. As long as the appropriate wires are connected to the appropriate numbers, would these work in a D-Command if they're the 10KB model?
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2020, 08:30 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,094
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

I'm not the final word on this by any means, but did you notice some are 10KB and some are 10KA? Guessing here, but the A and B might refer to different tapers(so maybe see if ALPS has a site and support area). It might also be worth a phone call to an Avid-approved service center. Allproelectronics (allproelectronics.com) in Nashville, TN is a shop I have used in the past.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2020, 09:21 AM
TheFilterLab TheFilterLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

FYI The link to the 10KA faders are not going to work. They are for an analog console. You'll notice they have no motor! Don't but those for an icon.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2020, 09:23 AM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,658
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFilterLab View Post
FYI The link to the 10KA faders are not going to work. They are for an analog console. You'll notice they have no motor! Don't but those for an icon.
Thanks all. 10kb looks ok though?
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2020, 06:43 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,658
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

I bought the two 10kb bundles. I compared the wiring diagram with my existing faders, it looked the same. I'll experiment once I get them and keep my fingers crossed! Thanks for the help everyone.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2020, 03:08 PM
TheFilterLab TheFilterLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

Hey Ryan,

Sorry I didn't see your other post. It looks like the faders you got might be the ones from a venue console. If that is the case you might need to move some of the pins on the connectors to make it work with a D-command or D-Control. I don't remember exactly which pins but you should be able to figure it out by comparing them to one of your stock faders.

Good luck,
Jared
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2020, 09:03 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,658
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

Hi Jared. You're absolutely right. The connector is 8 pin on most of those, and the D-Command uses a 6 pin. Everything else looks identical. I did some researching and I think the connector is called a micro JST 6. If I got the wrong size, I'll exchange the following purchases I made:

I picked up a few of these

And I picked up a few of these

I'll try to either change out just the tip or change out the wiring from the fader itself.

I got a "broken" D-Command for free. It has 7 faders in it, one without a cap. It is given "as is", and I figured I'd take a stab at fixing it, where needed. If I end up destroying it, no harm no foul. WHEN I fix it, AWESOME!

The funny thing is one of the faders in the bunch has the correct tip!

__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2020, 05:41 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,506
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

Hi,


You might find the twin JST connectors fit so could use 3 of these per fader and just copy the wiring etc...


https://odseven.com/products/2-pin-j...c-wires-cables






Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2020, 12:57 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,658
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

So, I totally got the wrong size! lol. The ones that arrived are half the size needed. I'm going to order the pairs and go from there. #noob
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2020, 03:42 PM
TheFilterLab TheFilterLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Replacement Faders (all created equal?)

Hey Ryan,

Lucky you, that's a big score!

When I got mine I had to do a bunch of work to bring it up to speed too. Feel free to send me a direct message if you have more specific questions. Also, I think I have some spare fader caps depending on what kind you have. Let me know if you are interested.

Take care,
Jared
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are all ADAT ports created equal? Premo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-12-2008 09:17 PM
ALL midi cables created equal? cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-24-2006 06:02 PM
Not all 9073's are created equal! PT IS RIGHT! anakinskye2769 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-08-2003 03:36 AM
Are all FW drives created equal? Nashville Bass Storage Subsystems 0 02-14-2003 07:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com