Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #391  
Old 03-20-2010, 10:31 PM
mcgillicudy mcgillicudy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

I'm sort of glad to see this thread, because I was worried that I had a defective MBox 2 or something!

Any news on the fix? I've had 3 incidents of burst, each time they almost gave me a heart attack and left my ears ringing
  #392  
Old 03-20-2010, 10:36 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgillicudy View Post
I'm sort of glad to see this thread, because I was worried that I had a defective MBox 2 or something!
On this subject, I've seen people spend their valuable money replacing computer components and even their hardware I/O because they thought the problem was on their end. I do take issue with software bugs that make the user do this.

Quote:
Any news on the fix? I've had 3 incidents of burst, each time they almost gave me a heart attack and left my ears ringing
Not good to hear. I recommend rolling back to 8.0.1cs1.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
  #393  
Old 03-20-2010, 10:56 PM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Shane, I don't have your email address, and your profile only lists your skype contact info...

Would you please shoot me an email at pokeefe777 at msn dot com?

I'll try to go look up the links for the threads I posted over on HC for you - it's been a week or two since I posted those... one on "my" forum, one on the HC Effects forum, and one on Craig Anderton's forum...
__________________
Phil O'Keefe
  #394  
Old 03-20-2010, 11:04 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil O'Keefe View Post
Shane, I don't have your email address, and your profile only lists your skype contact info...

Would you please shoot me an email at pokeefe777 at msn dot com?
Done.

Ah yes, I got rid of my email in my DUC profile a few years back because of an extremely large volume of people wanting personal one on one tech support. No offense to anyone, but I do feel you can get your answers here faster on the DUC. If I see it and I have a solution, I will reply. If I feel others will jump on it faster with a better solution or the info can be easily acquired elsewhere, I'll let it go. That said, it's not like DUCers haven't hunted me down on Skype.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
  #395  
Old 03-20-2010, 11:18 PM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/....php?t=2556365

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/....php?t=2556598

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/....php?t=2556373

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/....php?t=2556370

There you go Shane.
__________________
Phil O'Keefe
  #396  
Old 03-20-2010, 11:28 PM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Also, as opposed to what it says in some of those threads I just linked to, I have since experienced the white noise issues under a wide range of conditions and circumstances - not just with multi-mic / multi-track recording sessions. Tonight I got it while recording a mono acoustic guitar overdub on a session with one stereo track, ten mono drum tracks and two mono electric guitar tracks. No MIDI, no instrument tracks, and no plugins.

There seems to be no rhyme or reason or consistent pattern to it. Sometimes it happens, other times it doesn't. But once it DOES happen, the session is much more susceptible to recurring issues with it.

I do get the actual noise on the recorded track when it occurs. It's visible (and playable) in the waveform.

I've tried resetting my word clocking to something else (from internal to ADAT, or vise versa) with success a few times, but the vast majority of the time, I have to completely shut down the computer and reboot in order to "clear" the problem.... and sometimes, it's only a very short time before it recurs. Other times, it might be a day... or three.
__________________
Phil O'Keefe
  #397  
Old 03-20-2010, 11:38 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

I'm still waiting for my cs2 download. Just wanted to know any results from anyone testing right now if any.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

  #398  
Old 03-21-2010, 02:44 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I have many times over invested in current technologies only to see them pass. My original analog studio required over a half million just to open the doors. That does not make me angry with the MBox. We need to learn to embrace change.
And on this note, I say no more. It's way past time for Avid Audio to move on.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
  #399  
Old 03-21-2010, 08:23 AM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

I have been testing the M-Powered cs2. So far I have left it running for about 9 hours. I mixed a session that I originally had problems with, and also did some punch recording on that session (which originally I had white noise). I also started 2 more projects (V.I. drums to 10 tracks of audio with EZD) and guitars using Eleven LE, and 3 mics on my marshall cab. I even set up 6 mic's near my living room and hit record while watching a movie for 2 hours.

So far I have had no noise. today I will be moving around a lot of sessions to different disks. This has given me issues a lot in the past.
  #400  
Old 03-21-2010, 11:28 AM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
I have been testing the M-Powered cs2. So far I have left it running for about 9 hours. I mixed a session that I originally had problems with, and also did some punch recording on that session (which originally I had white noise). I also started 2 more projects (V.I. drums to 10 tracks of audio with EZD) and guitars using Eleven LE, and 3 mics on my marshall cab. I even set up 6 mic's near my living room and hit record while watching a movie for 2 hours.

So far I have had no noise. today I will be moving around a lot of sessions to different disks. This has given me issues a lot in the past.
Let us know how you get on.... I use both M-Powered and LE, but I use M-Powered more.

.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attention Avid - do you NOT want my money...?? Mixmaster Nate Pro Tools 10 3 12-15-2011 06:38 PM
Avid-- Pay attention to NETFLIX brickroadstudio Pro Tools 10 37 10-27-2011 11:39 PM
Attention Avid: Get rid of the 100 seconds Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 165 06-02-2010 09:02 AM
What if Bill Gates bought Avid and discontinued the Mac products? tonygoodall Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 19 09-12-2002 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com