Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-17-2019, 09:40 AM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 222
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Pro Tools is NOT lacking in its ability to perpetually charge for its updates.
$399 annually here.
__________________
PT 2019.5
PT HDX
Magma ExpressBox3T PCIe Thunderbolt Exp Chassis
Blackmagic Multidock, SSDs
iMac Pro
64 GB ram
OS X Mojave
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-17-2019, 09:49 AM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rinky View Post
Pro Tools is NOT lacking in its ability to perpetually charge for its updates.
$399 annually here.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5 | Studio One 4.1 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-17-2019, 01:48 PM
Glazik Glazik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 99
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

In the list made by deanrichard, I keep :
Folders (Insanely useful. Almost essential IMO.)
Render Queue (Extremely useful for creating different versions of a mix)
Sub-projects
FX groups
Track routing window
Melodyne ARA support
Better MIDI
Automation items - very useful
Item level FX. (not just clip level and a few other things, but everything)
Spectral Editing
DDP import and export (limited, but functional)
More complete plugin management (high on the list)
Customizations that let you create your own workflow
--Scripts and / or macros
--Customizable actions (I recognize a Reaper user ;-) )
--Editable toolbars, including toolbar sets (I recognize a Reaper user ;-) twice !)
--Customizable menus

I'm not a great fan of hotkey customisation for everything.

I would add :
Ability to hide tracks independantly in edit and mix window.
Pre and post fader plugins.
Split of edit windows in two or more sections, with independant per section zoom level.
Split of mix windows in two or more sections.
Integrated and offline loudness mesuring.

I'd put high on my list : Avid, hire great programmers, please ! Stop coding with your feet. Everybody have lots of ideas of feature PT don't have. Nevertheless, the soft is heavy, very slow at start and not very stable. WTF ?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-17-2019, 02:12 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I think it's mostly lacking in marketing which has been the case from the very beginning!

First off, it's an audio editor and host for third-party plug-ins. If something can be done with a plug-in, don't hold your breath for Avid to include a feature that competes with their third-party developers.

It can be configured to do almost anything but such flexibility requires more know-how than other DAWs. Avid is also very dedicated to backward compatibility. You won't see many new features added that can't be played using earlier versions and you won't see a new version that can't open old sessions. They understand that we each invest more money in every project with our time than it costs to buy a new DAW.

If you look at the forums for every other DAW, you'll see just as many complaints. DAWs are complicated, demanding software yet we are but a tiny minority of the personal computer market. Depending on what you are doing, Pro tools simply works for a great many people. The same is true of Live and Logic.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-17-2019, 05:21 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Efficient CPU usage at low buffer settings.

Pro Tools cannot even see an option for 16 samples on my Quantum 2 interface, and it can't run reliably below 256 samples anyway.

Studio One can run at 16 samples all day long without issue.

Very important when tracking a dry guitar track for reamping!

In Studio One I just set the amp simulation I like, and hit record. No workarounds, no hassle.

In Pro Tools, due to excessive latency at 256 sample buffer, I have to run an external mixer. Run a splitter from the guitar, one to a dry channel in PT, and another to an amp or simulator to another channel on the mixer. Then I have to mute the dry signal so the guitarist only hears the amped version. Why!

Really doesn't change my workflow much since I've been recording PT on slow computers for almost 20 years. But after trying Studio One it's really hard to go back to tracking in PT!
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2018.12 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-18-2019, 12:25 AM
ozinga ozinga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 122
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

For midi/sample based production:

Almost every DAW has their own Sampler/Drum Player that integrates very well with the program. Like Ableton Simpler/Drum Rack, Studio One Sample One/Impact etc
So one can chop an audio on edit window and send it to sampler or drum player with right click menu.

Protools needs these for sample based production. If not, at least the ability to drag/drop audio from playlist/soundbase to 3rd party plugins like Battery etc.So one can use at least those.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01-18-2019, 01:57 AM
octatonic octatonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 224
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

32 channel limit for non HDX/HDN.
It is silly, in 2019, for this to still be a thing.

Last edited by octatonic; 01-18-2019 at 05:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 01-18-2019, 05:43 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 156
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

1. Multiple marker tracks.
2. Post fader inserts on tracks
3. A way to automatically solo the entire signal path including auxes.
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 01-18-2019, 11:18 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I could write a list of 100 pages easily...

Pan Window follows Track Selection!
Folders in region list.
Export Clip groups that actually contain pan and volume data.
Customizable pan window
How about automatible Pre and Post buttons!!!!!!

My biggest problem is that Avid continually implements things half-assed.

Freeze and things, sort of works, but they could do so much more. Clip groups.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 01-18-2019, 11:29 AM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 363
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

2 things that would pretty much shut everyone up

1. performance at low buffer
2.folders and reworking the clip bin...

well 3......better MIDI

most other stuff theres a plug in

oh yea..better markers
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE with a New MacBook Pro Lacking FW400 acacia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-15-2009 10:29 PM
d24/Mix Farm system lacking TDM power veryathletic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-20-2006 08:22 AM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 08:57 PM
XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality??? Jonny Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 11-05-2003 06:11 PM
What is lacking in the new Control 24 and the ProControl patdotcom General Discussion 3 03-05-2001 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com