Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2019, 05:20 PM
Protootr Protootr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 21
Default In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I keep reading on the line that Pro Tools is ‘miles behind’ competitor daws. But when I look back at the (now discontinued) ideascale list there’s not that many fundamental and highly voted for issues in which PT is really lacking against competitor daws. I mean big features like 64-bit support, Freeze track, bounce iin place etc were back in the days.

Folders in the clip list I consider one that is big workflow wise (I started that on ideascale long time ago) and there are plenty of nice small features that some other daws have that I’d like to see in Pro Tools (I’d love to see ARA2 support for Melodyne and some improvements in Elastic Audio algorithms to name a few).

But really, in what big workflow area is Pro Tools ‘miles behind’ competitor daws? What big fundamental functionality, innovation or ‘can’t live without’ function is Pro Tools lacking that is standard in all other daws?

I have used Pro Tools since the early days and have been a PT trainer for over 20 years. I know it really well. But I don’t use any other daw on a daily basis and therefore am not as fluent in any of them. So I’m really curious as to what it is that makes PT so ‘outdated’?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2019, 06:36 PM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 93
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

The 32 input limit without AVID hardware!

No other DAW either paid or free has this limit.

I'd say that qualifies for "MILES" behind...
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
UAD Apollo Twin Thunderbolt
OS - Windows 10 Pro

https://soundcloud.com/jpsexton

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2019, 07:34 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 344
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I personally cant stand that clip bin and its lack of visual mods to be able to customize it for me. Its needs a total redeshn with bins , colors , layout options, all kinds of stuff. I visually and workflow hate it
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2019, 07:54 PM
Dax Productions Dax Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

The most common complaint I see is that the midi "sucks" compared to logic.

I think a lot of the people saying this have never used Pro Tools and are parroting things that their audio school professors said, who, in turn, likely worked as studio assistants in the 90s and early 00s using Pro Tools 7, back when the midi really did suck.

I actually PREFER the midi implementation in Pro Tools to logic. I think if people were to actually give it an open minded chance, they'd be very surprised.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2019, 09:01 PM
bolooki bolooki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 74
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

no plugin delay compensation on sidechains....

this creates more work as you work. v stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2019, 11:59 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 402
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Actually the MIDI does suck compared to Logic (and most certainly Cubase). Avid has made some improvements last year but still a ways to go.

ARA support (or built in pitch) would be nice. As would Bézier curves in automation. Folders tracks. VST support (or AU - lots of great plugins still don’t support AAX and it doesn’t seem to be changing).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2019, 07:05 AM
maltastudio's Avatar
maltastudio maltastudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: malta
Posts: 107
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Defenitely 32 track limit for live recording......Like JPsexton said

Peace
__________________
www.maltastudio.com

https://soundcloud.com/charlesmuscat

MacBook Pro Late 2016
Intel I7 Quod Core 2.8 GHZ
16 GB Ram . 256 GB SSD
Mojave

Acer Nitro
Intel I7-6700-HQ
8 GB Ram 256 GB SSD x 2
Win 10 Home 64 bit
Motu 624 AVB , Yamaha 01V96i
Pro Tools Native 2019..Latest , Sonar Platinum Lifetime
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2019, 07:29 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,188
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

1. Stability. Pro Tools feels like you're constantly walking on egg shells compared to working in other DAWs. I think I've actually developed a mild case of PTSD over the past decade because of it. There's always that little nagging feeling of unease when tracking a band at low buffer sizes...

2. Updates, bug fixes, OS compatibility. Ideascale was a joke. Other DAW companies seem to actually LISTEN to their customer base. Digi/Avid have not and do not; in fact it appears to me that they intentionally withhold functionality. It does not take over a decade to incorporate automatic delay compensation. It does not take over a decade to incorporate track folders (still waiting). I started a thread 8 years ago about how they screwed up Elastic Audio from PT 7.4 -> 8.0 and was told by the engineer responsible and Jeffro that the issue would be taken care of and nothing has come of it. 8 years.

3. MIDI. If you've actually worked with MIDI extensively in other DAWs, you know where the shortcomings are. Hell, sometimes I open up a project and Instrument tracks inexplicably "go grey" and I have to make a new Instrument track, copy plugins and all MIDI data just to get it to play again (this has been a known bug for over a decade...see point 2.)


I could go on and on, but I'll digress for now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2019, 10:09 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 149
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I wish PT had an "arranger" track such that you could grab and move clips in blocks easily by grabbing the arrange-track marker ala Logic Pro X.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-16-2019, 11:44 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Do one session with Logic -- have a pencil and paper handy.

In all honesty, when I use Logic it practically predicts my next move. When asking the question, "can it do this" it's nearly always answered with, "yes, and I can do it in several different ways. And have you considered this?"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE with a New MacBook Pro Lacking FW400 acacia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-15-2009 11:29 PM
d24/Mix Farm system lacking TDM power veryathletic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-20-2006 09:22 AM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 09:57 PM
XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality??? Jonny Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 11-05-2003 07:11 PM
What is lacking in the new Control 24 and the ProControl patdotcom General Discussion 3 03-05-2001 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com