Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2019, 12:25 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default ATMOS delay compensation

Dolby has told me that because of the way they route audio in and out of pro tools, the Dolby Atmos Production suite renderer bypasses the delay compensation.


I have done many tests and have not found any consistent way of adjusting for this. At first I thought I only needed to ad "time adjuster" plugin to the object tracks. But then in other sessions there were also other adjustments I need to make depending on my plugins. I cannot seem to find any constant formula.



Each Pro tools track tells me the "dly" "+/-" and "comp" reading. Can ANYONE tell me how I should compensate for delay when using the Atmos Production suite?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2019, 12:45 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: ATMOS delay compensation

I don't know much about the Renderer, but I'm also curious if you should print back into Pro Tools or render from the Dolby software. Are there any delay issues using the Dolby method?
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2019, 01:28 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: ATMOS delay compensation

Hey Ryan,
There is a total delay when you print a Master Atmos file.

I've taken re renders back into sessions to adjust for the overall delay. That's fairly easy. I'm just trying to get a handle on how to adjust for individual track delay.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2019, 01:31 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: ATMOS delay compensation

Thanks for the info! Curious for your answer, too.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2019, 03:13 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,966
Default Re: ATMOS delay compensation

Are you using the Send/Return config, or the Dolby Audio Bridge config? Tell us more about your setup.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
www.nathanielreichman.com
www.dubway.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2019, 04:40 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: ATMOS delay compensation

Hey Nathaniel,

I took a look at your website and I see AMTOS in your workflow. Are you using a hardware or software renderer?


I am using Pro tools 12 with the 32 channel dolby atmos template that came with the dolby atmos production suite 3.0. Everything is working perfectly and I have been mixing projects and films with the atmos production suite. Because I am using the software renderer there is no delay compensation, as per Dolby's design. I have been compensating for this by putting 2 pops on each channel and making the proper delay adjustment.


I am asking if there is a better way.



To be clear, if I bypass the renderer and just keep the session within pro tools, (with delay compensation on of course) there is no issue with delay compensation. Also a hardware renderer will not have any delay issues.

Last edited by angelo panetta; 01-17-2019 at 04:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2019, 08:13 AM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: ATMOS delay compensation

So here's Dolby's explanation of the delay issue for those who are interested in resolving it in the Atmos production suite.


Delay compensation in Pro Tools is on the physical output. The inputs to the renderer come via the send plugins which are on aux tracks so automatic delay compensation for plugins is not applied. When you put reverb on tracks that feed the Production Suite via the send plugin on aux tracks the audio needs to be shifted earlier to maintain sync. In Pro Tools if you go to View/Mix Window Views/Delay Compensation you can see the amount of the shift (in samples) that will need to be applied.


When using the RMU with physical outputs you don't need to shift anything earlier as the plugin delay is compensated for via the amount in the Delay Compensation view. However the RMU itself has a fixed latency of 44ms so you will need to shift any re-renders that you record back into Pro Tools once the recording is complete. Using a 2pip/plop is the best way to do this.


Hope this helps.


Best,
Adam
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Delay With Delay Compensation On? hbadger30 Pro Tools 12 1 02-10-2016 02:07 PM
help fixing plugin delay and delay compensation disaster prestonhavill Pro Tools Software (Mac) 14 12-24-2014 04:35 PM
Delay compensation with backline delay chuck goodwin VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 08-09-2013 08:54 AM
Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing CNSound Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 01-27-2012 12:10 PM
Delay compensation- choice of 'Medium delay'? dtmprod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-06-2010 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com