Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2002, 09:57 AM
keny keny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Potomac, Md USA
Posts: 716
Default 2 tapes, 1 Adat

O.K. I'm trying to take two adat tapes and put them on the cpu in protools. The client wants to mix in cakewalk. He would like to have a cd with wav files so he can import them into his program..

Problem is the 001 only has one lightpipe. Is there a way to get both tapes to the 001 through digital transfer and have them start at exactly the same sample?

I know I can line them up, but that would only work if he was using Protools.

I know that it will work if I run 8 adat in and 8 analog in, but I don't want to do that unless absolutely necescary.

Cool,
Keny
__________________
just to toot my own horn, I am in the process of relocating to Los Angeles and lookign for a job, so if anybody knows someone who can help me get established as an audio engineer and producer, check out my creds at http://www.kenyruyter.com and call me 310-909-9115

myspace page
http://www.kenyruyter.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2002, 10:10 AM
nukmusic nukmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: new orleans, la
Posts: 1,433
Default Re: 2 tapes, 1 Adat

Well....hard question. We use the Adat Brc to lock them together with Midi Clock, but we always recorded on Adats using bars & beats to make situations like yours easy to work around. I'll check for an answer.
__________________
Docta'J

Download free music at
http://www.nukmusic.com
nEVER uNDERESTIMATE kNOWLEDGE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:04 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: 2 tapes, 1 Adat

Hi Keny-
When I first got into PT, I, too was down to only one ADAT with several years of 16 to 32 track projects to transfer, so I've done quite a bit of this.
While it makes life a bit easier if you have a common click/noise/event that is present on each tape, I fount it to be a pretty easy process lining up multiple passes by sight and sound without it.
I grouped each pass of 8 as they went down and slid them around til they fit.
Low tech, but it worked.

Good luck-
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2002, 03:31 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: 2 tapes, 1 Adat

It's quite easy to add a reference tick to multiple ADAT tapes with a single machine. Use the "auto punch" function. Find a spot that is unneeded on the tape and set an auto punch to occur at an exact time. As an example, you might set your punch-in time to 0:00:10.00 and a punch-out time to 0:00:11.00. Then run a steady tone into the ADAT and execute the auto punch. You'll have a tone that lasts exactly one second starting at 0:00:10.00. Now do exactly the same to your next tape using the exact same punch-in/out times and you'll have the same mark at the same time on both tapes.

Run the tapes into PT, line them up using the reference tone made above. Once they're lined up, trim them to all the exact same start and end points. If you're a real perfectionist you might even apply a very short fade to the beginning and ends of the newly trimmed regions so the .wav files you're about to create won't "pop" at the beginning or end of the file. Then select all the regions and export selected as files.

That's all there is to it. I've done this a couple of times for 2 and 3 tape ADAT projects. I've only got one ADAT myself, but auto-punch saves the day!

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2018.12 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2002, 12:08 AM
drunton drunton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chandler, AZ USA
Posts: 244
Default Re: 2 tapes, 1 Adat

JMS40's technique works. This is the way I did it. If PT had a real SMPTE ruler and you have a datasync or MTP-AV this is really easy.

If you don't have that then record what is called a one shot across all the tracks at the same time. That would be 16 tracks of a single snare hit or click or something like that. Then transfer them 8 at a time, group the 8 and then slide them around until the one-shots lineup. Zoom way in to get the peaks aligned perfectly.

If the client can't put the one-shot in then look for something like headphone or mic bleed across tracks or any other clue that would allow you to align the tracks.

Again, good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2002, 12:22 AM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: 2 tapes, 1 Adat

Hey man,
I have done it both ways, but what I think you`ll need to do after you line them up is trim them all so they start at 0 and then export ¨selected as files¨ from the audio menu so you`ll have a new set of sound files which can be easily imported into cakewalk and he`ll just have to line them all up at 0

did I understand you correctly?

cheers,

jorge
__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you transfer ADAT tapes to a Pro Tools 8.0 session jtknight 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 08-06-2012 11:59 PM
Help with transferring ADAT tapes to PT - clock issues? gleiter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-25-2008 03:17 PM
one adat-- two tapes( track alignment in 001) ??? tdyoder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-08-2004 05:23 AM
Good source for ADAT tapes Gingley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-01-2002 02:15 PM
sync 3 adat tapes 24 trks to 001 how to??? gung ho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-02-2000 05:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com