Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2019, 02:44 PM
NateAlexander NateAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 54
Default Opening Session Changes I/O and Prefs

Whenever I open a session from someone else, it changes my entire I/O to theirs (well it actually just merges ours) and changes to their prefs.

Extremely annoying!

Been going on since updating to 2018, would love to know if this is something I can prevent.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2019, 04:01 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,277
Default Re: Opening Session Changes I/O and Prefs

Simple fix:
Go to the Setup drop down menu and select I/O Setup. In the lower part of the window that comes up make sure the box that says 'sessions overwrite current I/O setup when opened' is unchecked.

As always - rtfm helps.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2019, 07:51 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Opening Session Changes I/O and Prefs

And the other thing you need to do whenever you get a session from someone else: First time you open it, go to Setup>IO>Bus tab, then scroll and delete all output paths that don't belong, and delete any duplicate paths and save it.

BTW, if you share sessions with the same person a lot, get together and name your ins and outs the same on both systems. Example, my rig and my long-distance partner's rig have the outputs named Main Out L/R, Phones 1, Phones 2, etc. Doing this allows sessions to go back and forth without the hassle you describe
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
List of prefs that stay with the session? Benny_Cha_Cha Pro Tools 12 4 09-06-2016 06:51 AM
Access Violation > Trashed Prefs > Lost Session EarBud Pro Tools 11 6 12-27-2014 02:13 PM
I delete prefs and the Database open session then system crashes 8.0.1 philip888 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 09-10-2009 06:42 AM
7.3 resets prefs when loading 6.9.1 session Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 3 01-06-2007 12:02 AM
new session prefs tbird Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-02-2001 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com