Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2019, 07:56 AM
LightWing's Avatar
LightWing LightWing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 505
Default Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

Discuss?
__________________
Patrick

www.LightWingStudios.com

Musical Instrument Protection Accessories...Made In America.

AxeShield HD, AmpShield HD, KeyShield HD, AxeSak, AxeGlove & AxeCap

Win 10 Pro, PT 2019.5 Native, Presonus Studio One 4.5, Dell Precision T5500, Dual Processors (12 Cores), 72GB RAM, 4@500GB SSD, 2@4TB HD, Nvidia 2GB HDMI Card, Vizio 39" TV as Monitor, Presonus AudioBox USB Interface, Mackie HR-828 Monitors, Katana Head, Fishman Triple Play, AIR Music & East West Plugins, 9 Guitars...& an AMAZING wife. :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2019, 08:18 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

Personally, I think the first company that builds its own operating system to accompany their DAW software will win milk and cookies.


Something like Linux, stripped down and unbloated...?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2019, 09:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

You think plugin vendors have too easy job to manage their versions as of now? Stripped down Linux means plugin development almost goes back to TDM difficulty and if some companies (Waves et al) didn't like shift to AAXDSP what do you think they'd like a completely new environment?

Why do you think Avid is bothering with Mac/Win crossplatform development? Wouldn't it be easier to be Mac only just like it originally was (and what Logic later became) if plugin companies would flock to a closed system?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2019, 09:16 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You think plugin vendors have too easy job to manage their versions as of now? Stripped down Linux means plugin development almost goes back to TDM difficulty and if some companies (Waves et al) didn't like shift to AAXDSP what do you think they'd like a completely new environment?

Why do you think Avid is bothering with Mac/Win crossplatform development? Wouldn't it be easier to be Mac only just like it originally was (and what Logic later became) if plugin companies would flock to a closed system?

It would be a closed, proprietary system. Like if UA or Slate made a DAW that runs their own plugins (no third party).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2019, 09:22 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

Why would I want to run a DAW that runs only UA plugs or Slate plugs? Or only Avid plugs? I don't care what operating system that runs on, it's a bad idea.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2019, 09:43 AM
Riture's Avatar
Riture Riture is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightWing View Post
Discuss?..
I somehow misunderstood 'The DOS' reference. Is that in terms of being old, backwards, stuck in the past.. as the MS-DOS, or as the standard in terms of design, features and functionality that every other DAW tries to emulate and surpass?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2019, 09:46 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

I think it's a great idea!

I've worked hard to arrive at a stage where I view plugins as simple tools. I can pretty much count the number of plugins I use on two hands (I produce mainly rock/pop). Gone are my days of needing the shiniest new toys to play with. Several companies have catalogs that contain everything I need to produce a record. If these companies made their own hardware/OS/DAW it would only be easier for their own programmers to crank out code, and they wouldn't constantly be playing catch-up to the latest hardware/OS/etc..

I understand not having access to every plugin under the sun is a tough pill to swallow for most, but the more I record/mix I find that less is more.

I'll be the first to admit I'm full of bad ideas, tho!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2019, 09:55 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

So for a pop mixer you would be okay to take your lead vocal track to Melodyne DAW for processing, then bounce it out and import back to Avid DAW for mixing? Just for an example, of course...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2019, 10:00 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

No need to bounce in between DAWs, it would have its own proprietary pitch/time algorithms. Duh.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2019, 10:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Becoming "The DOS" Of DAWs?

Of course it would, but say you wanted to be using Melodyne for it? Suddnely in this scenario either export/process/import and using 3rd party tool don't look so desirable.. and whoever would be first to try such a closed system would only shoot themselves in a foot big time -- we have so long ago used to choose which tools we wish to use.

Killing 3rd party plugins would kill the DAW to extinction. Demanding that 3rd party would submit their algorithm for a DAW company to be included in tools available isn't going to fly either.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Digidesign Midi I/О" in "ProTools 10HD" in "OSX Maverics" electra1006 MIDI 0 06-18-2018 05:46 AM
"Pro Tools quit unexpectedly" when opening (holding "n" no longer fixes it)[RESOLVED] andrew24c macOS 4 07-23-2014 07:21 PM
"Pro Tools not responding" error and a very "laggy" session! Help! drumbumd Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-10-2012 05:37 PM
Pro Tools 9 "Pausing" when I press "Play" with Focusrite Scarlett interface eanderso22304 macOS 3 11-23-2011 06:45 AM
Pro tools 9 crashes at startup "Bus error" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0 danball macOS 2 09-26-2011 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com