Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-10-2019, 07:54 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 264
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

I had a mixing session this morning for maybe 4 hours. I didn't have any errors, very stable for me.

I was having some errors from time to time when running 2018.12 on Mojave, but with 2019.5 none...fingerscrossed.

I also noticed improvement on stability and cpu.

I prefer to have stability over new features, so I'll give a thumbs up to Avid on this update. And hope they give 50% more voices on regular Protools also, not that I need it...
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-10-2019, 08:04 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Found this review on youtube:
https://youtu.be/tL43-szEzq4

He is still getting errors...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-12-2019, 11:57 AM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 405
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

I now getting this error AAE-9173 for the first time since updating to 2019.5

I did a clean install, uninstalled 2018.12 first, trashed pref etc

I am on Mojave 10.14.4 OS

My system Mac Pro 6.1 12 core, 128g of ram, D700 cards, in other words complete top of the line Mac Pro

I am using a Apollo 8 thunderbolt 2 interface and I'm on PT Ultimate

I never experience this in 2018.12, I may just roll back to 2018.12

2019.5 has no updates that benefit me, and now it is unstable for me

Cheers
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 Ghz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Nuendo 10.1
...........
Apollo X8 and Apollo X6 Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-12-2019, 12:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,120
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazzbass56 View Post
I now getting this error AAE-9173 for the first time since updating to 2019.5

I did a clean install, uninstalled 2018.12 first, trashed pref etc

I am on Mojave 10.14.4 OS

My system Mac Pro 6.1 12 core, 128g of ram, D700 cards, in other words complete top of the line Mac Pro

I am using a Apollo 8 thunderbolt 2 interface and I'm on PT Ultimate

I never experience this in 2018.12, I may just roll back to 2018.12

2019.5 has no updates that benefit me, and now it is unstable for me

Cheers
IO Buffer size ? Sample rate?

System fully optimized? Every last thing done?

UAD software and all third party plugins up to date?

You trashed prefs. Which is a great first step. But you do not mention doing any plugin troubleshooting. And that is the obvious thing to look st here, always was the thing to exclude with 9173, even if we knew Pro Tools had its own significant plugin processing issues.

Now with 2019.5 making such significant plugin/thread improvements it’s more important to carefully troubleshoot plugins because 9173 errors are hopefully more likely to be a plugin issue than before. And there is always the chance that changes in 2019.5 broke compatibility with some plugins.

Before doing more, make sure this is not just happening with one session.

Then standard plugin troubleshooting: move all .aaxplugin files out of the plugin folder. Trash prefs and try running sessions with just the standard plugins (that Pro Tools will magically put back). If that worked, try putting plugins back in batches to find the troublemakers(s). Plugins do not necessarily be instantiated in a session, just installed in Pro Tools May be enough to cause issues, but normally suspect the ones that are being used. But best to do the quick test of removing them all.

If that did not work try using built-in Output as the playback engine, starting with a new session. There’s is one or two other UAD users reporting 2019.5 problems, by far not enough to feel there is an issue there— just that it would be good to hear each one of them gets sorted out.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-12-2019 at 05:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-12-2019, 05:32 PM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 235
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

My try with 2019.5


After disabling HT and Turboboost, a session in 2018.12 worked fine...
So now with 2019.5 i enabled HT and TB again to check, if the audio engine was reworked.... Unfortunatly no...
Same errors again... 9173 after half of the playback...


My Setup: HDX and 512 Latency...


Used Plugins Avid Complete...


I really wished,that the audio engine was reworked... Maybe it is, but not for me... PT Prefs trashed and all Izotope Plugins removed...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-12-2019, 09:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

FWIW, performance here(Windows 10, PT Ultimate and an old DIGI003rack) is scary good. I'm able to run sessions at the 64 buffer that never would run on previous versions without upping the buffer. I used to mix at the 1024 setting(24 bit/48K), but so far, not a single stop or error at 64. Ozone 8 would(on previous versions) cause a stop and 9xxx error every time I tried to instantiate or open, if I was at the 64 buffer. Now I can add or open it any time
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-13-2019, 12:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,339
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

32 buffer here (just for testing) going strong, even as full native. Snappy as best of TDM days -- so in my book this macOS 10.14.4 & PT 2019.5 is the best 64bit combination ever.

IMO, though, there is no real reason to go below 256 buffer.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-13-2019, 12:57 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,734
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
... snip :

IMO, though, there is no real reason to go below 256 buffer.
Huh Say Whaaaaaaat

We would never track an artist recording vocals or accoustic guitars at 256 buffer size as the latency above 64 is useless for any pro studio 2019!

anyone in 2019 should be able to track at 64 or less.

So your statement is not working for us ane people we works with!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:02 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

It's working like a charm here ... I only got a bug 1 minute after I started using it and then nothing at all ... it was a loud noise coming out of my speakers with a freeze but I could force quit it and restart it and that was it .... is this bug common ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,339
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Huh Say Whaaaaaaat

We would never track an artist recording vocals or accoustic guitars at 256 buffer size as the latency above 64 is useless for any pro studio 2019!

anyone in 2019 should be able to track at 64 or less.

So your statement is not working for us ane people we works with!
we can discuss this in more detail next week
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE error -9173 nikydvt Pro Tools 12 11 01-14-2017 04:05 PM
AAE error -9173 on PT 12.4 marcnyc Pro Tools 12 2 06-24-2016 03:27 PM
Error -9173 music.m Pro Tools 11 1 03-19-2015 09:42 AM
PT 11 Clearly Not An AAE 9173 Error rgconrad1 Pro Tools 11 3 09-29-2014 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com