Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2018, 07:32 AM
innenhofstudios innenhofstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 86
Default Ambisonics in Atmos

Hi there,

I bet it was asked severel times but unfortunatley i didnt find the right answer yet

Is there a way to implement an Ambisonics (eg AMBEO) Recording into an ATMOS Mix ?
Is the Harpex really the only way ?

Nugens upmixer cannot handle B-Format as Source.

Any other experiences, tips ?
Best René
__________________
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2018, 07:35 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by innenhofstudios View Post
Hi there,

I bet it was asked severel times but unfortunatley i didnt find the right answer yet

Is there a way to implement an Ambisonics (eg AMBEO) Recording into an ATMOS Mix ?
Is the Harpex really the only way ?

Nugens upmixer cannot handle B-Format as Source.

Any other experiences, tips ?
Best René
I was under the impression that the Atmos panner could handle 1OA now, but that might just be the VR version.

I think Blue Ripple have a way of going from 1OA to 7.1.2 or 7.0.2 but I might be wrong. Either way, I think a lot of their stuff replies on Harpex.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2018, 01:53 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 654
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by innenhofstudios View Post
Hi there,

I bet it was asked severel times but unfortunatley i didnt find the right answer yet

Is there a way to implement an Ambisonics (eg AMBEO) Recording into an ATMOS Mix ?
Is the Harpex really the only way ?

Nugens upmixer cannot handle B-Format as Source.

Any other experiences, tips ?
Best René
Don't Sennhiser have the Ambeo plugin which will convert their format to 5.1 surround?
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.4, PT 2019.5 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.4, PT 2019.5 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2018, 12:19 AM
innenhofstudios innenhofstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 86
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless Erik View Post
Don't Sennhiser have the Ambeo plugin which will convert their format to 5.1 surround?
Unfortunatley the AMBEO PlugIn is only an A to B-Format Converter
__________________
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2018, 06:45 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 654
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by innenhofstudios View Post
Unfortunatley the AMBEO PlugIn is only an A to B-Format Converter
And if you use it in conjunction with the Soundfield plugin (which is free) you can create 5.1.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.4, PT 2019.5 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.4, PT 2019.5 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2018, 06:55 AM
innenhofstudios innenhofstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 86
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless Erik View Post
And if you use it in conjunction with the Soundfield plugin (which is free) you can create 5.1.
Yeah even 7.1. Just found out that this works. But not on a 1OA Track

Gesendet von meinem VTR-L29 mit Tapatalk
__________________
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2018, 08:08 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by innenhofstudios View Post
Yeah even 7.1. Just found out that this works. But not on a 1OA Track

Gesendet von meinem VTR-L29 mit Tapatalk
The downside of this is you lose the height information. I believe there was a template for using the 22.2 Harpex output and getting that in to Atmos. Contact Ceri Thomas at Dolby, he'll be able to give the best advice.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-2018, 09:21 AM
innenhofstudios innenhofstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 86
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
The downside of this is you lose the height information. I believe there was a template for using the 22.2 Harpex output and getting that in to Atmos. Contact Ceri Thomas at Dolby, he'll be able to give the best advice.
I'll do thank you. Actually Harpex doesn't work so well Imo. Maybe I do something wrong but there is lot of phasing going on...

Gesendet von meinem VTR-L29 mit Tapatalk
__________________
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2018, 08:16 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by innenhofstudios View Post
I'll do thank you. Actually Harpex doesn't work so well Imo. Maybe I do something wrong but there is lot of phasing going on...

Gesendet von meinem VTR-L29 mit Tapatalk

There shouldn't be. What input mode are you using? Maybe the Sennheiser AMBEO plugin is outputting Ambix and Harpex-x is expecting a FuMa (labelled as B-format) input or vice-versa?

You could also use the AMBEO input mode in Harpex and avoid the Sennheiser plugin all together.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2018, 06:03 AM
innenhofstudios innenhofstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 86
Default Re: Ambisonics in Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
There shouldn't be. What input mode are you using? Maybe the Sennheiser AMBEO plugin is outputting Ambix and Harpex-x is expecting a FuMa (labelled as B-format) input or vice-versa?

You could also use the AMBEO input mode in Harpex and avoid the Sennheiser plugin all together.
I used the ambeo input mode (tried ambeo plug with b-format) input too, but wasnt happy. now i know why (Fuma)

Lowering the Rears by 6db made it pretty nice now.

Does it make any difference if i use a 1OA Track or a QUAD? Sound seems ident.

Thanks
__________________
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 12.8 preview w/ Atmos reichman Post - Surround - Video 12 06-27-2017 03:09 PM
Ambisonics and posting VR content Tim R. Post - Surround - Video 5 10-19-2016 01:48 PM
Ambi Head released : Ambisonics to 3D binaural by Noise Makers Noise Makers AAX Plug-ins 5 07-22-2016 03:29 AM
Dolby Atmos - Do I need SRC? budster Post - Surround - Video 4 03-24-2015 10:25 AM
Dolby Atmos subwoof Post - Surround - Video 3 09-11-2014 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com