Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-16-2017, 12:39 PM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Here's a link to a video of the problem. https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Tb...MG8xWMd8J5_sR8

Yes, I have this problem with all sends and the panning as well.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-16-2017, 12:53 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,051
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Thanks for that, could you do the same video with pan. I'm trying to determine where the issue lies (software/hardware)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-16-2017, 01:16 PM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

It will take a few minutes to upload this video,

I'm going to say it definitely acts as if the encoders don't feel my touch. The encoder thinks my fingers are not in constant contact with the knob.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-16-2017, 01:51 PM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Eddie,

Here's the video of a different encoder and the panning behaviour.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lV...Wd0P4ZDhHEYxo3
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-17-2017, 10:28 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Do you think I should return it?
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM

Last edited by chrismeraz; 11-17-2017 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-17-2017, 01:37 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,051
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Yes, I spoke to the engineer and there's an issue with the touch. Seems to be a grounding issue that not making the touch sense work. Try moving to a different room and see if it changes first.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-17-2017, 02:49 PM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

FIXED!

I don't understand how it's a grounding issue because there is no ground on these power supplies... it's just a two-prong plug with only hot and neutral. However, because you mentioned it, I tried a different power supply (I swapped it with the power supply that came with my artist transport). My artist mix works perfectly well now.

Now I just need to ask for a replacement power supply. You guys are so smart.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM

Last edited by chrismeraz; 11-17-2017 at 03:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-17-2017, 02:51 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,051
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Probably low voltage from the Power Supply then. Glad we tracked it down!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-27-2017, 07:01 AM
oortone oortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 25
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
This link was posted on FB https://www.digikey.se/product-detai...024-ND/4499668 (Not by me or Avid though but it looks Ok)
I can now confirm that these encoders (Bourns Inc. PEC11R-4015F-S0024) will work on MC Mix (the grey ones), I have changed three of them and it all works perfectly!

Please be aware that the disassembly and removal of the old encoders is quite a difficult operation. Tiny surface mounted components nearby, complicated disassembly process, sensitive screen components e.t.c. So please be extremely careful if you try this.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-12-2019, 05:12 PM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 315
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Not to revive a necro thread, but...

Always had a stutter top left Artist Control encoder. At first it was a wonky power supply, then once that was corrected the unusable taper of earlier EuCon software. Then I realized it was just not good - turning it quickly, the control in question would stutter, maybe follow the knob, maybe stay put. Eventually, this week it turned into it only turning the control in PT down, whether I turned the knob clockwise or anticlockwise.

In the hardware test it usually looked like the other knobs. Today it started winding the values counterclockwise when turning the knob quickly in either direction.

Having messed with guitar pots in the past, I thought maybe it could be dirty. Heck, it couldn’t be more unusable, I wasn’t going to make it worse.

So...

After pulling the knob off, you BARELY have access to the crack between the shaft and the shaft sleeve to try and spray some contact cleaner down there. I didn’t want to have to unsolder the shield under the top cover.

So...

Spraying from the top worked, but it’s messy and may not be best if you’re just pushing gunk around. I like flushing pots. So I ended up taking it right apart, desoldering the top shield, and spraying the pot properly into its body. I could tell the pot wasn’t sealed because it spun easier when spraying, so I must have flushed the icky out.

That knob has NEVER worked so good.

Still, it was a royal pain in the butt. So many things to take apart and potentially lose just to gain access. Definitely not for the faint of heart. Maybe just try spraying down the shaft sleeve and see if it does ya.

Will not likely cure ground issues, but stutter stuff... well, maybe... but do it at your own risk...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Artist Control Encoders - Can we make them linear? jvining Artist Series 4 10-11-2014 01:54 PM
Rotary Encoders randomly going into write colinweeks ICON & C|24 4 05-17-2009 07:59 PM
Are the rotary encoders touch-sensitive... Stig Eliassen ICON & C|24 2 07-31-2008 08:53 AM
Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders. mixboy bob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 10-08-2006 04:19 PM
Difference between motion sensitive and touch sensitive faders? bp78 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-03-2002 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com