Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2011, 04:41 AM
mrpollack's Avatar
mrpollack mrpollack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland,Mielec
Posts: 100
Default Asus P8Z68-V Pro's onboard graphics works !

Hi folks, I just wanted to tell you, that I just tried my onboard graphic card and my Pro Tools HD10 Native runs like a dream on it .
I read before that people had some trouble with onboard graphics,so with my setup is not the case anymore..
Now I use my old PCI-e ATI card for my second monitor and have now two more video outputs left for additional monitors .

Have a nice day!

jacek
__________________
Musician,Producer etc..
PT|HD 2018 Native , UAD-2 Octo x2 , Win 10 Pro 64 bit,Core i7 8700K 3,7Ghz (runs OC to 5GHZ stable and easy (12 cores with HT), 32 GB G.Tech DDR4 3200MHZ ,Asus Maximus X Hereo, Intel's onboard graphics Intel(R)HD Graphics (Philips 40'LED screan) , Samsung 24" LED 2x192 I/O, Nuendo 4.3, Wavelab 6, Halion 3.5, Yamaha 02R96V2, AvalonAD2022, AvalonVt737sp etc... www.MrPollack.pl ,www.facebook.com/polak.bros.studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2011, 12:59 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Asus P8Z68-V Pro's onboard graphics works !

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrpollack View Post
Hi folks I just want to tell you, that I just tried my onboard graphic card and my Pro Tools HD10 Native runs like a dream on it .
I read before that people had some trouble with onboard graphics,so with my setup is not the case anymore..
Now I use my old PCI-e ATI card for my second monitor and have now two more video outputs left for additional monitors .

Have a nice day!

jacek
Nice to know. I've built several systems with IGX that have worked fine. However since it introduces a whole new set of variables they are not likely to be approved by Avid soon. Given the fact they are on die with the CPU now Avid should look into qualifying them and perhaps see if they cant somehow leverage QuickSync to PT's advantage.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2011, 06:40 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Asus P8Z68-V Pro's onboard graphics works !

Intel Core i7 Generation Three (38xx and 39xx) don't support on-die GPU.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:21 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Asus P8Z68-V Pro's onboard graphics works !

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
Intel Core i7 Generation Three (38xx and 39xx) don't support on-die GPU.
Thats true but a lot of folks are going to hang on to their Socket 1155 rigs. Integrated GPU's are only going to be come more common. The socket 2011 is going to be a smaller percentage of the overall market than the more mainstream chips.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:14 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Asus P8Z68-V Pro's onboard graphics works !

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
The socket 2011 is going to be a smaller percentage of the overall market than the more mainstream chips.
But in this game 1155 was nothing more than a transitional processor. Even Mac Pro's are still Nehalem/Westmere. I doubt very much if Avid will Approve a small bunch of consumer grade 1155 if Apple ain't using them. Now what will be interesting is whether Apple embrace SNB-E.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2011, 09:26 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Asus P8Z68-V Pro's onboard graphics works !

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
But in this game 1155 was nothing more than a transitional processor. Even Mac Pro's are still Nehalem/Westmere. I doubt very much if Avid will Approve a small bunch of consumer grade 1155 if Apple ain't using them. Now what will be interesting is whether Apple embrace SNB-E.
Presumably that why they are holding the Mac Pro refresh otf to Q1 of 2012. I think however on die GPUs are here to stay.

I view 1156/1155 as a mainstream and OEM platform and the 1366/2011 as an enthusiest/low end workstation platform. And of course the Xeon stuff has always catered to the workstation/server crowd. And of course there plenty of cross over these days.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which graphics card works best in G5 AGP (dual 1.8), Protools HD 8.01 rantanplan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-28-2011 04:38 PM
new ASUS system works! but no firewire... princeplanet Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 11-30-2008 07:08 AM
DIGI001 & Soundmax Onboard works?? depeche_cerati 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-15-2007 12:18 PM
ASUS A8N-E (No Onboard 1394 Firewire Port) Digitalkidd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-29-2005 11:39 AM
OO2R with Asus K8V onboard Firewire guitarrob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-01-2004 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com