Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2011, 12:39 PM
efisch efisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 118
Default Single slot monitor card?

Anyone know of a single slot PCIe monitor card for Mac? I need to use it as a 3rd monitor out...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2011, 01:02 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: Single slot monitor card?

ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
NVidia GeForce 8800GT

or if you're running 10.6.7 or earlier and want something more powerful, an ATI Radeon 5770 PC version flashed with Mac firmware works too. You can get them on ebay.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2011, 06:28 PM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: Single slot monitor card?

Nvidia GT120 it's 149 from apple. Sold as the "graphics update kit"
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2011, 09:26 AM
efisch efisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 118
Default Re: Single slot monitor card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KMcK View Post
ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
NVidia GeForce 8800GT

or if you're running 10.6.7 or earlier and want something more powerful, an ATI Radeon 5770 PC version flashed with Mac firmware works too. You can get them on ebay.
Thanks - the NVidea might be the ticket.
Unfortunately can't use the 5770 'cause it takes up 2 slots
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2011, 09:27 AM
efisch efisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 118
Default Re: Single slot monitor card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondschwin View Post
Nvidia GT120 it's 149 from apple. Sold as the "graphics update kit"
Thanks Max - Don't think one will work - my machine is a newer Mac Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2011, 09:57 PM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: Single slot monitor card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by efisch View Post
Thanks Max - Don't think one will work - my machine is a newer Mac Pro
Hmmmm the gt120 is standard issue in 2009 ma pros. It's newer than the 8800gt
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2011, 02:31 AM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 616
Default Re: Single slot monitor card?

If you have a Mac Pro,see list below the 5770 0r 5870,wont occupy a PCIe slot(physically) because there is a space provided for that reason:between the First PCIe Slot(Graphics) and the second one (usually the one that the first HD Core card sits).

2010 Westmere 8c = 2010 Mac Pro 8-core 2.4GHz
2010 Westmere 6c = 2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHz
2009 Nehalem 8c = 2009 Mac Pro 8-core 2.93GHz
2008 Harpertown 8c = 2008 Mac Pro 8-core 3.2GHz
2006 Woodcrest 4c = 2006 Mac Pro 4-core 2.66GHz

If you go for a Flashed 5770 Card,have in mind that if you need to boot in safe mode or do
an OS Installation you have to use the VGA port of the Card to do so.
See also This Apple Thread re display connectivity
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2011, 10:41 AM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: Single slot monitor card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by efisch View Post
Thanks - the NVidea might be the ticket.
Unfortunately can't use the 5770 'cause it takes up 2 slots
single slot flashed 5770
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual monitor vs single monitor setup Whasssaaahhh Pro Tools 9 23 03-17-2014 01:24 PM
XFX radeon 5750 single slot still covering one PCI digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 12-05-2010 05:01 PM
Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card... DJTempo Digidesign Hardware & Software 41 04-24-2010 06:58 AM
G4 upgrade, the Six Slot Problem, where to slot the Digi001 interface card H E A D W E R K ' N 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-14-2002 08:15 PM
Dual Monitor Card got G4 AGP Slot ? Evolution Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-01-2000 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com