Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-08-2011, 04:20 AM
southboundloco's Avatar
southboundloco southboundloco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 356
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

so what happens to those who's got the Music Production Tool Kit?
__________________

Pro Tools 11.2
Pro Tools 10.3.9
REAPER

MPTK2
ProFire 2626
Benchmark DAC1
Neumann KH 120 A
Avid Artist Mix
ASUS Sabertooth Z77, Intel i7-3770K CPU OC'd@4.7GHz, 32 Gigs RAM
Mac OS X 10.9.3 Mavericks


Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2011, 06:31 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by southboundloco View Post
so what happens to those who's got the Music Production Tool Kit?
Update on the Music Production Toolkit feature gap discussion:

- As far as I can see from other posts, the plug-ins from Music Production Toolkit and Music Production Toolkit 2 are able to run in PT9 when they are updated to the latest versions:

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=357211

The headline says "Pro Tools 8", but under the individual plug-ins, PT9 is included in the compatibility list. It would be highly inconsistant if they are not able to run in PTMP9, and this is not confirmed yet.

- PT9 does not utilize the 16 extra tracks offered by the toolkits (it stays on 96). Maybe not so critical, but the unanswered question is whether PTMP9 is able to use the extra tracks, or does it stay on 48 tracks. If so, we might have a showstopper.

- MP3 option. Part of both PT9 and PTMP9.

- Multitrack Beat Detective. Included in PT9, unclear whether the Toolkit version is compatible with PTMP9.

Are there any Mods who could try to answer these questions. I think these backwards compatibility matters are important, both workflowwise, moneywise and principlewise.

Have a nice weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2011, 09:12 AM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

Does it support OMF import/export?
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-08-2011, 10:44 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by scenicrecords View Post
Does it support OMF import/export?
According to the manual: AAF/OMF import/export is not supported in PTMP 9.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-08-2011, 10:46 AM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by hooksound View Post
According to the manual: AAF/OMF import/export is not supported in PTMP 9.
Thanks. A reason not to upgrade to that version.
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-10-2011, 06:49 PM
agfrag agfrag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Novi
Posts: 25
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

Just purchased MP8 a few days ago (dumped Cubase) and I see this text on this webpage: http://www.avid.com/US/products/protoolsmp

Quote:
Do I qualify for a free upgrade?
You’re eligible to receive a free upgrade to Pro Tools MP 9 if you purchased and registered a full or upgrade version of Pro Tools M-Powered 8 on or after March 5, 2011. You’ll automatically receive an email to get your free upgrade if you qualify.
Anyone received the "automatic email", or is MP9 not out yet?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:26 AM
jazztronauts jazztronauts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 17
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

@Agfrag; availability = May 16, 2011 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=298642).
I also bought M-Powered recently and didn't get a mail yet, so I guess we have to wait till May 16th.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-14-2011, 11:58 AM
agfrag agfrag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Novi
Posts: 25
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

So it is then, perhaps the timing will coincide with the release of the Alesis Studiodock, that would make for a nice May.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-18-2011, 09:31 PM
RBp RBp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: DMV
Posts: 81
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by polf View Post
Exactly what I thought was happening..

I'm wondering now if the M-Powered version will have better/different drivers than the other PT9 version?

However if it's limited then it's probably not for me...

I think I will just stick with PT8
Avid/Digidesign, is phuc-king up, I thought the same, makes no sense at all, Avid/Digi ..Please put the crack pipes away......
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-19-2011, 08:26 PM
razorboy razorboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 9

1) How important is it ti have AAF/OMF import/export?

2) Is there a chart comparing PT9 and PT MP9?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Downgrading Pro Tools M-Powered 9 to Pro Tools M-Powered 8 Rajin macOS 2 09-19-2011 04:37 PM
mac osx, m powered fast track, pro tools m powered singdance6 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-22-2010 09:24 AM
Please Advise are Pro Tools M-Powered Essential the same as LE M-Powered? jeremiah0812 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2010 10:10 AM
Opening a pro-tools HD session on a windows Pro-Tools LE M-powered system rhodamorgan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-21-2010 05:31 PM
Reading Pro Tools 6 Files on Pro Tools 7 or 8 M-Powered Systems longmansleep Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-08-2010 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com