Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2011, 08:46 PM
abnerd abnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 6
Exclamation Quickstart & Flash & OS X 10.6.5

I have not been able to get Pro Tools SE to work on my laptop.
I have an Intel MacBook that is about 2 years old.
Software installed as expected, but when I launch Pro Tools, the "Quick Start" window is blank (just a white window with no text or anything).

I have installed the latest version of Flash player from Adobe's website.... and still the Quick Start screen is white.

I have uninstalled & reinstalled Pro Tools SE & still have the same problem.

I even backed up my hard drive & did a clean install of OS X, Flash Player & Pro Tools.... same problem with the white Quick Start screen.

Is there a way to start the software WITHOUT the "Quick Start" screen?
I see no way to disable it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2011, 03:46 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Quickstart & Flash & OS X 10.6.5

Please download and install the following patch:

http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=...5020442061ea89

This should resolve the problem that you are having with the Quick Start.
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2011, 09:11 AM
abnerd abnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 6
Default Re: Quickstart & Flash & OS X 10.6.5

Thanks for your response.
I tried the patch but the problem still exists.
I have Flash 10.1.102.64 installed

Here is something interesting...
I went to the Adobe website to check my Flash settings.
http://www.macromedia.com/support/do...manager02.html

The interface works fine in Firefox, but not in Safari.
In Safari I can see the icons for each tab, but there is no text.
I am running Safari v 5.0.3 (6533.19.4)
Firefox v 3.6.13
I have Firefox set as my default browser (a preference in Safari)


Since it works in Firefox, but not Safari, could this be an Apple webkit issue?

Here is something else that is interesting.
I downloaded the Flash uninstaller & ran it (several times).
Flash is not deleted.... the Adobe site still says v 10.1.102.64 is installed.

Perhaps the Apple OS X 10.6.5 update places Flash in a different location than the Adobe installer?
Just a guess.
__________________
---
abnerd
Macbook 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB RAM
OS X 10.6.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2011, 12:29 PM
abnerd abnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 6
Smile Re: Quickstart & Flash & OS X 10.6.5

PROBLEM SOLVED

Wiped my hard drive.
Reinstalled OSX 10.6
Updated to 10.6.2
Installed Protools SE

Everything works great.

Now I will update OSX until something breaks.
__________________
---
abnerd
Macbook 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB RAM
OS X 10.6.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2011, 08:37 AM
DavidInStLouis DavidInStLouis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 1
Default Re: Quickstart & Flash & OS X 10.6.5

Ugh! You don't mean that I have to basically rebuild my entire system just to get this software to work!?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2011, 10:56 AM
ttvanhalen ttvanhalen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: México
Posts: 2
Default Re: Quickstart & Flash & OS X 10.6.5

That's right, does anybody have a better solution? I can't run pro tools either because the 003 patch does not work for me I don't know why, perhaps is the same problem, if someone knows something please check my thread
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2012, 07:29 AM
nunsnmoses nunsnmoses is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: melbourne
Posts: 1
Talking Partially Solved - Blank Screen

File : /Applications/Digidesign/Pro%20Tools/QuickStart/QuickStart.html

open in text editor - there are 4 entries for "Quickstart".

I have a case sensitive file system.[osx 10.8, mini]

I changed these to "QuickStart"

The interface partially loaded immediately.

So if anyone wants to pursue this - it might be the way .(fixing case sensitivity).

didnt get much further than that .. so pointers appreciated as well ..

OR CAN SOMEONE INSTALL IT ON A CASE INSENSITIVE FILE SYSTEM AND PLS LET ME KNOW

NOTE - Im on a mac mini 2009 2G, Osx 10.8.

Cheers


*** EDIT *** just found this -
http://m-audio.com/images/global/man...er%20Guide.pdf

"Do not choose the “Case-Sensitive” format option. Pro Tools will not operate properly with case-sensitive formatted drives."

Last edited by nunsnmoses; 10-19-2012 at 07:47 AM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error occured while starting QuickStart tony_gro Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 4 09-26-2011 02:00 PM
No sound past quickstart menu archangel4110 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 03-01-2011 08:33 AM
Where is the START button -Visual quickstart guide GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-31-2004 10:32 AM
New Visual Quickstart Guide for PT6 Tito Ricci Arballo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-21-2003 09:35 PM
Q: Demo sessions for quickstart jbach 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-19-2002 08:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com