Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old 01-06-2011, 12:49 PM
half drag half drag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: E.T.A On P.T 9 64bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
If you aren't having problems... I really wouldn't be concerned about it.

Honestly, I think there is a little too much debate about 32bit vs. 64bit EFI on a 64bit OS, since most people don't even know what it even does.

Basically, it comes down to this:

If you install some 32bit software and it ain't working properly, you can try booting the OS in 32bit kernel by holding down 3 and 2 during bootup. However, it is my understanding that only the latest Mac Pros actually default to 64bit kernel on bootup.

So it's most likely the other way around for you. Meaning, to boot into 64bit kernel on a Macbook, hold down 6 and 4 during bootup.
I just ordered my MBP and it arrives tomorrow. I've never booted it. I only have 4GB RAM so I want to make sure I'm operating the optimal way *before* seeing if I'll have problems (or to avoid unknowingly eating too much memory).

Hrmmm, hold 3 and 2 on boot-up. Thanks. I'll confirm with Apple and see if they would recommend booting up like that.

Thanks again,
hd
__________________
* * * * *
PT 9.0 - Mac Book Pro 15" - Intel Dual Core i5 2.53GHz - 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
w/ internal 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 RPM & NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M with 256MB
* * * * *
Profire 2626, Digidesign Mbox 2 Mini
* * * * *
OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro 1.0TB Quad - 7200 RPM Serial ATA external record drive
(1.0TB Hitachi Deskstar™ 7K1000.C internal mechanism) w/ Oxford Semiconductor 924 (OXUF924DS) chipset
* * * * *
CASIO CZ-1 synthesizer
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 01-06-2011, 12:58 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: E.T.A On P.T 9 64bit?

Yes. Hold down 3&2 or 6&4 while booting. Apple says so.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 01-06-2011, 01:00 PM
half drag half drag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: E.T.A On P.T 9 64bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
Yes. Hold down 3&2 or 6&4 while booting. Apple says so.
Right - I just have to confirm which is the default on my machine. Is there a way to confirm by watching initial boot, or checking a settings on the computer after initial boot?
__________________
* * * * *
PT 9.0 - Mac Book Pro 15" - Intel Dual Core i5 2.53GHz - 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
w/ internal 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 RPM & NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M with 256MB
* * * * *
Profire 2626, Digidesign Mbox 2 Mini
* * * * *
OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro 1.0TB Quad - 7200 RPM Serial ATA external record drive
(1.0TB Hitachi Deskstar™ 7K1000.C internal mechanism) w/ Oxford Semiconductor 924 (OXUF924DS) chipset
* * * * *
CASIO CZ-1 synthesizer
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 01-06-2011, 01:04 PM
half drag half drag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: E.T.A On P.T 9 64bit?

Also - what's a good test I can run to compare? I.e., what's a reasonable task in PT, maybe a supplied sample session activity, where I can can run in 32-bit and then 64-bit, and check the CPU/memory usage %'s?

How would I check that metric while running a session? I've seen things like this posted. Thx.
__________________
* * * * *
PT 9.0 - Mac Book Pro 15" - Intel Dual Core i5 2.53GHz - 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
w/ internal 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 RPM & NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M with 256MB
* * * * *
Profire 2626, Digidesign Mbox 2 Mini
* * * * *
OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro 1.0TB Quad - 7200 RPM Serial ATA external record drive
(1.0TB Hitachi Deskstar™ 7K1000.C internal mechanism) w/ Oxford Semiconductor 924 (OXUF924DS) chipset
* * * * *
CASIO CZ-1 synthesizer
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 01-06-2011, 01:08 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: E.T.A On P.T 9 64bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by half drag View Post
Also - what's a good test I can run to compare? I.e., what's a reasonable task in PT, maybe a supplied sample session activity, where I can can run in 32-bit and then 64-bit, and check the CPU/memory usage %'s?

How would I check that metric while running a session? I've seen things like this posted. Thx.
It's not really going to matter if you don't have more than 4GB installed.

The whole idea behind using pure 64bit is that it takes advantage of systems with a lot of RAM installed, like 8GB+.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 01-06-2011, 01:14 PM
half drag half drag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: E.T.A On P.T 9 64bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
It's not really going to matter if you don't have more than 4GB installed.

The whole idea behind using pure 64bit is that it takes advantage of systems with a lot of RAM installed, like 8GB+.
OK. I was just reacting to what Darryl said upthread about running in 32-bit kernel "will likely result in less memory consumed by the kernel" which met with some agreeance.

EDIT: In any case I suppose it's best to run in the default for the machine, esp. if that be 64-bit kernel as that's forward leaning rather than backwards.
__________________
* * * * *
PT 9.0 - Mac Book Pro 15" - Intel Dual Core i5 2.53GHz - 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
w/ internal 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 RPM & NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M with 256MB
* * * * *
Profire 2626, Digidesign Mbox 2 Mini
* * * * *
OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro 1.0TB Quad - 7200 RPM Serial ATA external record drive
(1.0TB Hitachi Deskstar™ 7K1000.C internal mechanism) w/ Oxford Semiconductor 924 (OXUF924DS) chipset
* * * * *
CASIO CZ-1 synthesizer
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 01-06-2011, 02:53 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,103
Default Re: E.T.A On P.T 9 64bit?

Why bother? Most people here are not going to get any advantage from a 64 bit kernel. Has anybody pushed ProTools and VE to the point they need > 32 GB on one box? And still have enough horsepower on that box to run?

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 01-06-2011, 04:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,103
Default

To be clearer -- you do not need to mess with your MBP since it boots a 32 bit kernel by default. Only recent Mac Pro boot 64 bit kernels by default (not MBP). If I had one of those as a ProTools workstation I would change it to boot a 32 bit kernel for the forseable future. It would be a very rare case that wanted >32 GB memory where a 64 bit kernel became interesting.

Don't worry about trying to measure the kernel usage, unless you are a unix internals geek it's not interesting, just run it 32 bit. You are also much less likely to run into driver and other issues.

A nice summary of info is available at

http://macperformanceguide.com/SnowLeopard-64bit.html

Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R E A L L Y - P I S S E D - O F - A B O U T - T H E - L A C K - O F - 64bit - PT 9 Aerny macOS 25 06-06-2011 03:44 PM
about PT9 on w7 64bit ericyang1215 Windows 2 06-03-2011 02:45 AM
64bit treef Pro Tools 9 11 12-10-2010 03:07 PM
XP goes 64BIT AfricanCaneKing 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 02-04-2005 10:24 AM
64bit XP and PTs Guit4Brains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-22-2004 09:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com