Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:03 PM
I.L.L. Studios I.L.L. Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 305
Posts: 18
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

I am much happier with my Profire 2626 than I was with my Delta 1010...with one exception. The preamp level on the Profire is WAY lower than on the Delta (although the sound quality is better on the Profire, IMO). I have to crank that gain up quite a bit to get any juice from my guitars or my Audio-Technica 4060 condenser. My Focusrite Twintrak Pro is in the shop. Can't wait to get it back so I can get more gain from the preamp stage!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:05 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Quote:
Originally Posted by I.L.L. Studios View Post
I am much happier with my Profire 2626 than I was with my Delta 1010...with one exception. The preamp level on the Profire is WAY lower than on the Delta (although the sound quality is better on the Profire, IMO). I have to crank that gain up quite a bit to get any juice from my guitars or my Audio-Technica 4060 condenser. My Focusrite Twintrak Pro is in the shop. Can't wait to get it back so I can get more gain from the preamp stage!
I have a Presonus Tube Pre I use to boost y signal when needed. But I have never had to push it to the max. But close.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:09 PM
I.L.L. Studios I.L.L. Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 305
Posts: 18
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Yea me too...I just think it's odd that I would even have to push it anwhere near the max...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:29 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Quote:
Originally Posted by I.L.L. Studios View Post
Yea me too...I just think it's odd that I would even have to push it anwhere near the max...
My guess is the assumption that when tracking live with exceptionally loud instruments, and/or using pre outs like from a board that your signals will be relatively hot to begin with. Notice with the XLR's on the back, it's not set up like a quick plug in a mic and go kind machine. That's just an educated guess of course.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:46 PM
I.L.L. Studios I.L.L. Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 305
Posts: 18
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Yea it does take a bit of finessing to get the cables in there!!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-22-2010, 03:50 AM
jojo99 jojo99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 123
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
Of course you only get 18 of those channels to use. But I get 26 in Reaper and 18 in PT. I like my 2626. But like I said I'm impressed that it works. Have you used all I/o at once and checked for any phase problems. Just curious how accurate they clock together.

Stable and in sync.

It's not how many channels, it how you use them.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-22-2010, 10:26 PM
jojo99 jojo99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 123
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Quote:
Originally Posted by I.L.L. Studios View Post
I am much happier with my Profire 2626 than I was with my Delta 1010...with one exception. The preamp level on the Profire is WAY lower than on the Delta (although the sound quality is better on the Profire, IMO). I have to crank that gain up quite a bit to get any juice from my guitars or my Audio-Technica 4060 condenser. My Focusrite Twintrak Pro is in the shop. Can't wait to get it back so I can get more gain from the preamp stage!

Huh? The Delta 1010 doesn't have preamps. Strictly an interface (and btw: those of you that own 1010's, check into the modifications that can be done. You'll dig I bet.)

But seriously, any inteface with "built-in preamps" are of the sub-par variety.

Hate to repeat it but the difference can be night and day if you save and aquire some real/decent pres. For a home studio it's next in importance after the artists and how you mic/record them.

*ignore if it's mainly soft-synths and electronic crap your working with.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-23-2010, 07:24 AM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Quote:
Originally Posted by jojo99 View Post
Huh? The Delta 1010 doesn't have preamps. Strictly an interface (and btw: those of you that own 1010's, check into the modifications that can be done. You'll dig I bet.)

But seriously, any inteface with "built-in preamps" are of the sub-par variety.

Hate to repeat it but the difference can be night and day if you save and aquire some real/decent pres. For a home studio it's next in importance after the artists and how you mic/record them.

*ignore if it's mainly soft-synths and electronic crap your working with.
I think I have to disagree with this. The Although the 1010 are all TRS inputs, they are still preamps, just not Mic Preamps. The best way to add a Preamp is through optical or Spdif. Also the 2626 Profire has decent Pres IMO and the 1/4 TRS inputs bypass the pres alltogether. Also the Digimax D8 has good Pre's as well. I wouldn't say Sub Par. Not High end, But certainly useable.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-23-2010, 07:29 AM
I.L.L. Studios I.L.L. Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 305
Posts: 18
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Exactly. The "octane" preamps on the 2626 have great sound quality but they have very little gain...and yes, the Delta 1010 does have preamps...although we can still call em the input jack thingies if you like....
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-23-2010, 08:03 AM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010

Quote:
Originally Posted by I.L.L. Studios View Post
Exactly. The "octane" preamps on the 2626 have great sound quality but they have very little gain...and yes, the Delta 1010 does have preamps...although we can still call em the input jack thingies if you like....
I am under the impression that the gain control taper on the 2626 is odd. when i turn it all he way up it;s loud but at half way it;s not
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta 1010 Monitor Mixer/Patchbay Router ?? digginin9 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 02-14-2007 05:41 PM
Anyone using the Delta 1010? Loudnoize Ent. Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 02-13-2006 01:18 PM
Delta 1010 PCI Finchy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-15-2004 10:55 AM
delta 1010 nelsonswilly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-11-2001 03:58 PM
delta 1010 don't come ez Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 02-13-2001 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com