Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2009, 09:24 PM
m6talaat9 m6talaat9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Egypt
Posts: 2
Default M-powered pro will end ?????

Hi , I just heard that Digidesign will end releasing M-powered is this correct ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2009, 09:40 PM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

uh, ok. why would they do that?
__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2009, 10:46 PM
m6talaat9 m6talaat9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Egypt
Posts: 2
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

i dont know why !!! but i heard this so i want to know the truth
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2009, 02:52 AM
asimmd asimmd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancashire UK
Posts: 112
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

It would be interesting to know where you heard this rumour.

There are so many Pro Tools M-Powered users that I doubt the info is true but,if they did for what ever reason decide to discontinue it,I am pretty sure they would offer an upgrade path to LE.

It would be nice for someone from Digi to comment on this but,I won't lose any sleep over it.

Alan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2009, 07:54 AM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Friends, It does look like Digidesign M-Powered is going away. I was looking at Sweetwaters web site and found this page http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PTMPv74Full/
I know Sweetwater and Digidesign/Avid are like brothers. I look forward to seeing what Avid is going to do for all the M-Powered users?
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SanDisk 480GB SSD
AVID: Digidesign Digi 003 Console
Pro Tools 2018.10

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 12GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2009, 07:57 AM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus1900 View Post
Friends, It does look like Digidesign M-Powered is going away. I was looking at Sweetwaters web site and found this page http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PTMPv74Full/
I know Sweetwater and Digidesign/Avid are like brothers. I look forward to seeing what Avid is going to do for all the M-Powered users?
Well 7.4 is an old version, makes sense for it not to be available.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PTMPv8Full/
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2009, 08:20 AM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Hmm, Something is going on with Pro Tools 8 and M-Powered. I think Digidesign/Avid with all this transformation to Avid is going to have a BIG annoucement at the NAMM Show next month. (PT 8.0.3 to Pro Tools 9?) I have been thinking about moving up to a LE system for the last month knowing that one day IM going to need a HD system but now IM thinking I want to wait and see what Digi/Avid has up its sleeve for NAMM 2010 Show.
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SanDisk 480GB SSD
AVID: Digidesign Digi 003 Console
Pro Tools 2018.10

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 12GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2009, 09:15 AM
frantik frantik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 269
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

i really doubt it, unless perhaps they just merged mpowered and LE into one product
__________________
Trikome.com - blog

PTMP 8.0.1 // FLStudio 9 // WinXP SP3 // Axiom Pro 49 // Delta 44 // Mackie HR624 // AKG K701 // Emu 6400 Classic
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2009, 09:24 AM
asimmd asimmd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancashire UK
Posts: 112
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Well,I'm fairly new to Pro Tools and I recently bought the Music Production Toolkit 2.

Is it the old 7 series that are not going to be available?

Is Pro Tools ver 8 still safe?

Alan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2009, 10:02 AM
Ludia Ludia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Posts: 183
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by frantik View Post
i really doubt it, unless perhaps they just merged mpowered and LE into one product

Same here, I really doubt it as well. In case they merge the two products (I'm not against that at all as a matter of fact) they still have to deal with the hardware interfaces. I've got a ProjectMix IO that only works with M-Powered (if we are talking about Digi/Avid product). As you can see where this is going, if and when they merge the two together they will need to support the M-Audio interfaces for that new platform as well. I'm not gonna invest another, lets say 1000 euro's on a new digi hardware interface and throw this one out of the window.

But then again, where is this rumor comming from anyway. I don't like this kind of wildwest stories being spread wihout some hard evidence ( links/documents )
__________________
i7 5820K @ 3.3Ghz, 32Gb, Windows 7 Ulimate 64, 1x M.2 512 SSD, 1x Spinpoint F1 1TB, 2x Spinpoint F3 1TB, ProjectMix IO, Axiom Pro61, PreSonus Monitor Station,SM ProAudio Stage Buddy, KRK VXT6, AKG K271, SE220A, PT 12.4.0, AMT IEP, Omnisphere, Trilian, EWQL CCC, EWQL Spaces, Ministry Of Rock, Gypsy, Fab Four, NI Komplete 9 Ultimate, NI Maschine, ProjectSAM Orchestral Essentials, Waves V9 Musician 1, Morphoder, CL4

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered 8 Essential -> M-Powered 8 Upgrade Snowblind Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 08-09-2011 07:05 AM
mac osx, m powered fast track, pro tools m powered singdance6 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-22-2010 09:24 AM
Please Advise are Pro Tools M-Powered Essential the same as LE M-Powered? jeremiah0812 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2010 10:10 AM
PT M-Powered with FW400 bus powered audio drive? bruceup Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-06-2006 01:32 PM
bus powered interface + bus powered enclosure ? technician Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-20-2006 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com