Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-30-2009, 09:27 AM
YSaleh2519 YSaleh2519 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyPicks View Post
I'd like to hear if anyone else is running Win 7 64Bit, also if anyone is using the Mbox2 mini.
If it works in 64 it should naturally work in 32 correct? I'm trying to figure out what im doing wrong that I can't even get the software to install.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-02-2009, 01:45 AM
jplanet jplanet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 33
Default Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

Encouraged by this thread, I just installed Win 7 x64, PT-8 M-Powered with an Audiophile 2496 PCI...Working beautifully!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-02-2009, 05:01 PM
IonicBreed IonicBreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 54
Default Anyone Running W7 with MPowered 7.4cs10?

Just feeling out the crowd. I am still at pro tools version 7.4cs10 for stability reasons. Anyone running 7.4 on W7 X64? Any known issues?
__________________
Aaron Ersoy
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:34 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
geez, where is Digi with the 64 bit driver for us LE users?? Come on! M-audio is owned by Avid, and M-audio has had 64 bit drivers for awhile now, and even beta Windows 7 drivers. come on Digi. geez.
It's coming. The reason you're seeing beta drivers from M-Audio first is that they don't come with a version of Pro Tools, like LE does, so they have to work with other applications. LE driver integration is much more a part of the Pro Tools LE application, so they're developed simultaneously. The version of Pro Tools LE that is qualified for Win 7 will have the proper drivers for LE hardware.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-06-2009, 04:44 PM
mrtibbs mrtibbs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 5
Default Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

PT 8.0.1 Working stable and smooth with my Windows 7 Ultimate 64 (so far). I use Firewire 410 I/O. Im gonna test a 20 track recording and see how it fairs. Ill post updates.
__________________
Flying isnt dangerous, crashing is

i7-975 extreme 3.33ghz
12GB DDR3
Seagate 2x500 system HDD system boot
Seagate 1.5tb 7200rpm dedicated recording HDD
ATI Radeon HD 4850
Firewire410
M-Powered
Windows 7 Ultimate 64x OS, Dual: XP 32x
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-09-2009, 04:31 PM
WillieB WillieB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

Hi all, Read everything I can find in the forums, if the answer I seek is in here somewhere, I'm not catching it. Trying to get Win 7 64bit to run my Pro Tools "M-powered" so I can use the extra memory to run some spectrasonics VI. Getting snagged on some basics I fear. "set app location" mini-apps don't seem to get the job done for spectrasonics or even for PT Strike for that matter.
Which C: Programs..... folder is all the DAW stuff supposed to be in? What is the correct response when Windows pop-up comes up after loading DAW software about ...software may not have loaded correctly, do you want to reload...(paraphrase)?
When you guys are talking about 'run as administrator' I can find the PT app and right click on it and get it to 'run as administrator' but not the various plug-ins app. I can find the data files for them, just not the app in order to right click on it. I did the pull the slider thing down all the way and unloaded and reloaded spectrasonics instrument and strike too.

I'm wondering if my DAW/plugin software didn't install in the correct program folder.

Here's my system
Mobo: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Proc: i7 920 running the gigabyte app that pushes the speed up to 3.2
Mem: 6Gb
System Drive: seagate ST3250310NS
Recording Drives x2): WD6401AALS
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit version currently
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.01
Strike (downloaded the most recent update and "set location" app... lost the expansion like a dummy when I installed win7)
Spectrasonics Stylus RMX with some extra libraries
Spectrasonics Omnisphere and Trillion are enroute to replace Atmos and Trilogy.
Using ProFire Lightbridge with Win64beta drivers as interface

Can someone point me in the right direction please?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-09-2009, 08:40 PM
WillieB WillieB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

Doing some tinkering. I set the UAC in properties dialouge for the ProTools exe file. Apparantly this isn't enough to get PT to run in administrator mode. Right clicked on PT icon on desk top and selected run as administrator and program will access all digi plug ins including strike. It will not yet access the spectrasonics which is weird considering the stylus rmx plug-in dpm etc files are right alongside the digi plug-ins............. right now am reinstalling the spectrasonics by selecting run as administrator on the setup exe file.

Anyone out there have a disc image or something that'll get rid of all this extranious overcomplicated BS and allow me to just run my PT and virtual instruments???? Where I can actually use the high end processor, motherboard, memory...... PLEASE!! OH and not have to feel like I'm some corporations 'money tree' getting a frikin shake down every other darned week!!!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-10-2009, 01:36 AM
mrtibbs mrtibbs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 5
Default Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillieB View Post
Anyone out there have a disc image or something that'll get rid of all this extranious overcomplicated BS and allow me to just run my PT and virtual instruments???? Where I can actually use the high end processor, motherboard, memory...... PLEASE!! OH and not have to feel like I'm some corporations 'money tree' getting a frikin shake down every other darned week!!!
No im affraid not. I recomend uninstalling everything and reinstalling and NOT mess with anything until everything is correctly installed.

I installed PT and plug-ins without having to take extra steps to make it operational with W7. But I will point out to you that I am using Ultimate and you are using Home Professional which could be a factor.

And im affraid to report although the CPU power that you have and motherboard upgrade will be nice, The memory upgrade isnt gonna change much with use of PT right now. I havent pulled more than 2.8-3gb of RAM and even that is completely adequate.



And I would also like to mention to everyone else that I have been experiencing bounce to disk problems. Im going to troubleshoot some more to make sure its not my own hardware or if its a PT8 with W7 issue.

I would also like to report Ive recieved "low CPU power errors" at times saying i have used more than 95% which was completely false. I was only using 15% at the time and I have PLENTY of CPU power and then some.
__________________
Flying isnt dangerous, crashing is

i7-975 extreme 3.33ghz
12GB DDR3
Seagate 2x500 system HDD system boot
Seagate 1.5tb 7200rpm dedicated recording HDD
ATI Radeon HD 4850
Firewire410
M-Powered
Windows 7 Ultimate 64x OS, Dual: XP 32x
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-10-2009, 07:23 PM
WillieB WillieB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Question Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

Hey MrTibbs, Thanks for the reply. I don't have a problem with reinstalling BUT I do have a question in that regard.

When I'm installing 32bit apps on my 64bit operating system, the operating system is bringing up a popup at the end of the installation dialogue. What are you selecting in that popup to get your PT M-Powered to load so it can see your virtual instruments? AND their associated "set content location" .exe apps work???

I've tried several different variations with mixed results, mostly no-go. I'd like to eliminate some of the human "dumb-dumb" error so I can chase down the correct software settings, if that makes sense.

Just now got an email notification from Spectrasonics that says their 64bit drivers and updates are available for download.... I think I LOVE those guys!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-10-2009, 07:44 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,947
Default Re: Windows 7 released today. Experiences with PT8?

Can anyone report on the use of the Delta 1010LT on W7?
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLAY v4.0.12 is released today. TOM@METRO AAX Plug-ins 1 08-19-2013 01:41 PM
PT LE 8.0.4 was released today ed13adema 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-07-2010 11:43 AM
Altiverb released for Windows XP sdelsolray 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-17-2006 01:28 PM
Quad Macs... released today. gomi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 34 10-21-2005 02:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com