Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-07-2005, 02:24 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,541
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

Quote:
Quote:

Plus, even with the cheapest m-audio card you get Midi, and 4 ins and outs,
Shane
4 ins and outs has always been somewhat of a slight of hand with M-Audio. It's really 2 analog in/out plus 2 S/PDIF in/out.
Yep. Thats still 2 more than the Mbox.(Providing one could use all 4 simultaneous) You cant use 2 analog + 2 S/PDIF to give you 4 simultaneous I/O on the Mbox.

And for my purpose, I only need to monitor.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:36 PM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

Anyone else noticing the M_Powered M-Audio gear has mostly unbalanced ins and/or outs?
That can't be good
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:57 PM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

Quote:
dont forget to tack on $350!!!!!!!!!!! for pro tools m powerd software SOLD SEPERATELY
$249
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-07-2005, 06:34 PM
BretFarewell BretFarewell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 170
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

Quote:
dont forget to tack on $350!!!!!!!!!!! for pro tools m powerd software SOLD SEPERATELY
yeah, that's rediculous.
__________________
PT LE v8.0
digi 002R
digimax lt
PowerPC G5 dual 2.0gz
7 gigs ram
2 TB HD
Tannoy Monitors
Yamaha NS-10
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-07-2005, 08:16 PM
hotbeatz hotbeatz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Triad, North Carolina
Posts: 47
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

Quote:
Anyone else noticing the M_Powered M-Audio gear has mostly unbalanced ins and/or outs?
That can't be good
Thats what I was thinking. . .also can more than one m-powered interface be used in one box?
__________________
Studio System: Digi003, Pro Tools 10, MacBook Pro 13" Thunderbolt, i7, 8GB Ram
Legacy Systems: Pro Tools|24 Mix TDM 6.4, G4 400mhz - OS 10.3.9, Pro Tools LE 7.3, Original Digi001 & MBox.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-07-2005, 08:46 PM
mpark9000 mpark9000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 290
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

Quote:
Quote:
dont forget to tack on $350!!!!!!!!!!! for pro tools m powerd software SOLD SEPERATELY
$249
Where is it for $249?

Thanks
__________________
"They may call it walking in Texas, but in California we call it just being a jerk"
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-07-2005, 10:53 PM
The Minsk The Minsk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

Quote:
Anyone else noticing the M_Powered M-Audio gear has mostly unbalanced ins and/or outs?
That can't be good

whats the difference between balanced and unbalanced?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-08-2005, 11:38 AM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

Quote:
Quote:
Anyone else noticing the M_Powered M-Audio gear has mostly unbalanced ins and/or outs?
That can't be good

whats the difference between balanced and unbalanced?
Noise
Most Pro interfaces these days are balanced TRS or XLR connections sinse about 1993.
The only real exception is Instrument inputs and Inserts.
Unbalanced connections are recommended to be less that 3 meters long.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-09-2005, 02:04 AM
tomdrums tomdrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

M-Powered vs.LE

What about upgrades to new versions of pro-tools?

Will M-Powered owners be allowed upgrades to new versions as LE users do when the software is updated?

Or if no upgrades will ever be available (ie. once you've bought your M-Powered that's it for good) is that a concession for choosing the M-Powered route over LE, no upgrades?

Couldn't find anything on the digidesign website about this.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-09-2005, 03:04 AM
ptrbas ptrbas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 483
Default Re: M-Powered vs. LE

I can only guess but normally every software company has an upgrade policy. The question is how much it will cost. Some companies seems to be a bit greedy (Waves.. ) but Digidesign is showing a very reasonable upgrade policy so far on LE, a free upgrade within a limited time after purchasing and after that upgrades for about $ 75.- I would think they do the same with M-Powered.

Greets,
Pieter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered 8 Essential -> M-Powered 8 Upgrade Snowblind Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 08-09-2011 07:05 AM
mac osx, m powered fast track, pro tools m powered singdance6 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-22-2010 09:24 AM
Please Advise are Pro Tools M-Powered Essential the same as LE M-Powered? jeremiah0812 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2010 10:10 AM
PT M-Powered with FW400 bus powered audio drive? bruceup Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-06-2006 01:32 PM
bus powered interface + bus powered enclosure ? technician Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-20-2006 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com