Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2019, 05:46 PM
kirkbross's Avatar
kirkbross kirkbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 347
Default True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

True or False:

It is possible to import a video into a vanilla Pro Tools session, then delete the track / remove the video and not get any dialogs the next time you open the session?

Before you answer, try it.

I contend that once you import a video into a session, the only way to get rid of it is to Save Copy As... and choose "only selected tracks"
__________________
Pearlman Church Microphone > Great River MP-2NV > Warm Audio WA-76 > Apogee Symphony MK II 8x8+8MP > PT2018 on 2018 Mac Mini with 32GB of RAM running Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2019, 08:25 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,922
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

Have you checked the session workspace to see if the video is still there (in workspaces)?

I can't run vanilla but I've never had a problem before if you make sure it is gone from the clip side (and if not that, the workspace browser)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2019, 12:59 PM
kirkbross's Avatar
kirkbross kirkbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 347
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Have you checked the session workspace to see if the video is still there (in workspaces)?

I can't run vanilla but I've never had a problem before if you make sure it is gone from the clip side (and if not that, the workspace browser)
Yeah, I've done everything. It seems to be a bug that has persisted since PT11. It's not the end of the world, I can deal with the dialog... I'm just too lazy to Save a copy as... :\
__________________
Pearlman Church Microphone > Great River MP-2NV > Warm Audio WA-76 > Apogee Symphony MK II 8x8+8MP > PT2018 on 2018 Mac Mini with 32GB of RAM running Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2019, 02:01 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

You will have to go into the Clip List and delete the video from there.

View>OtherDisplays>ClipList [or just hit the arrow at the bottom right of the edit window]. Hit the arrow at the top right of the clip list, deselect 'Audio', and make sure 'Video' is selected, then find the video clip you'd like to remove, select it and clear it from the list.

The next time you launch the session you won't get the missing files dialog.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2019, 03:38 PM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 473
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrentWilliams View Post
You will have to go into the Clip List and delete the video from there.

View>OtherDisplays>ClipList [or just hit the arrow at the bottom right of the edit window]. Hit the arrow at the top right of the clip list, deselect 'Audio', and make sure 'Video' is selected, then find the video clip you'd like to remove, select it and clear it from the list.

The next time you launch the session you won't get the missing files dialog.

That's the whole problem though - it doesn't work that way in vanilla PT. There is no option for 'video' in the clip list.

This is pretty clearly a bug that they allow to stick around precisely because of how annoying it is. Makes Ultimate look that much better.
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2019, 12:13 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftalive View Post
That's the whole problem though - it doesn't work that way in vanilla PT. There is no option for 'video' in the clip list.

This is pretty clearly a bug that they allow to stick around precisely because of how annoying it is. Makes Ultimate look that much better.
Amazing .. ! I guess I've just been around HD/Ultimate for too long and forget what its like to have limited features.

Sorry dude, that's annoying.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2019, 01:51 AM
richardbutler richardbutler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Falmouth, England
Posts: 9
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

It's not a bug, it's just how Pro Tools Vanilla is. One video clip, one video track. Not allowed to create a video track in vanilla. Just import one video clip that will populate its own track. It will not show up in the clip list as you cannot have multiple video clips in a vanilla session. If you want "remove" the video clip from the session, just delete the video track. If you want a version of the session without the video clip, just Save As... then delete the track. Remember the video will be referenced, unless force copied into the Video Files folder (or manually copied afterwards).
Pro Tools Ultimate allows multiple video tracks (up to 64) and basic video editing features, cut, copy, paste, etc. But can ONLY playback one track at a time. This was the same in HD, before Ultimate was released
Hope that info helps.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2019, 01:52 AM
richardbutler richardbutler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Falmouth, England
Posts: 9
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

The video track is kind of bonded to the the clip in Vanilla. No clip, no track
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2019, 12:36 PM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 473
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardbutler View Post
It's not a bug, it's just how Pro Tools Vanilla is. One video clip, one video track. Not allowed to create a video track in vanilla. Just import one video clip that will populate its own track. It will not show up in the clip list as you cannot have multiple video clips in a vanilla session. If you want "remove" the video clip from the session, just delete the video track. If you want a version of the session without the video clip, just Save As... then delete the track. Remember the video will be referenced, unless force copied into the Video Files folder (or manually copied afterwards).
Pro Tools Ultimate allows multiple video tracks (up to 64) and basic video editing features, cut, copy, paste, etc. But can ONLY playback one track at a time. This was the same in HD, before Ultimate was released
Hope that info helps.
Except that, again - with respect - that isn't how it actually works. (I just tried it all again on a brand new session)

If you import a video to a vanilla session, the reference to that video, in that exact location, will forever be a part of that session, it seems.
You can delete the video track, but the reference (to the video) is still there in the video files folder in the workspace. You can't delete it there though - it tells you to delete the video track... you know - the one you've already deleted.

So if you do anything to the original video (move it for archiving, delete it, rename it, etc.), the session will throw an error about a missing file, and there doesn't seem to be anything you can do about it.

I remember someone mentioning a work around of sorts, whereby you'd rename another file with the same name, and then try deleting that, but I've only ever had success with that once, which is weird.


Quote:
Originally Posted by richardbutler View Post
The video track is kind of bonded to the the clip in Vanilla. No clip, no track
Which would be fine, if it also worked the other way around.

No track - no reference to a clip.
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-17-2019, 07:32 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,605
Default Re: True or False - It's possible to remove a video from a session

Correct. And it was that way long before PT 11. It's been a pebble in our shoe ever since there was such thing as "vanilla" Pro Tools (though why we call it that is a mystery to me - TDM bore no relationship to chocolate that I could discern). So, that's what, PT6, I think? Nearly two decades.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remove "missing" video from session?? kirkbross Pro Tools 12 18 05-09-2019 11:18 AM
True or False or amagras General Discussion 22 02-07-2019 08:05 AM
MIDI CC - True of False eitw Pro Tools 11 19 09-22-2014 03:45 PM
Eleven Rack / Avid is not producing anymore Eleven Racks is that true or false? Rongpat Eleven Rack 8 02-11-2014 07:42 AM
Pro Tools 5.1: Does it sounds better? TRUE OR FALSE??? joy4u Tips & Tricks 7 03-07-2001 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com