Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #801  
Old 04-06-2019, 07:42 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I haven't seen this, but then again I've so used to the workaround before freeze (print track) that I don't really care. Not my circus, not my monkey, you know...
Thanks Janne, I know there is at least one more person mentioning this problem in this thread, most times it just takes a good while to complete but sometines it just doesn't work and it has been like that since the first version. Cases where I prefer track freeze over printing are for example when I have different online and offline oversampling settings, printing with a the same high value would create clicks and pops if the session is too busy already while freezing the track will use the offline setting and render without having to run the whole session at the same time. At least I need Avid to fix this asap
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #802  
Old 04-06-2019, 09:53 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Updated product information on the avid website:

- https://www.avid.com/pro-tools/whats-new
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #803  
Old 04-06-2019, 10:45 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
Updated product information on the avid website:

- https://www.avid.com/pro-tools/whats-new
No mention of the increased voice counts for Ultimate/HD.

But at least now we get 1024 MIDI tracks, for all those people for whom MIDI didn't work right in the first place. Now they get twice as many MIDI tracks to not work right.

The naming tracks in the create tracks windows looks useful. Although I would like to just be able to double click on the track name, enter it and hit tab to go to the next one. And track names at the top of the channel strip would be super helpful on smaller monitors when you have multiple expanded sends, or all 10 inserts visible.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #804  
Old 04-06-2019, 10:57 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Although I would like to just be able to double click on the track name, enter it and hit tab to go to the next one.
You can already double click the track name, enter it, then hit [CMD+Left/Right Arrow Keys] to go to the next one.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #805  
Old 04-06-2019, 11:10 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 235
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

You have to look at the Protools Ultimate Page and then whats new...
There the new amount of voices is mentioned...


My question is... How many licences do you need, to get the benefits of the new method.
Reply With Quote
  #806  
Old 04-06-2019, 12:06 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Protools Expert is reporting that the next version of Protools will be 2019.5. Which means a May release, probably on the 31st, since Avid likes to release things on late Fridays.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #807  
Old 04-06-2019, 12:57 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
You can already double click the track name, enter it, then hit [CMD+Left/Right Arrow Keys] to go to the next one.
Yep, I don't remember when was the last time I renamed a track since I started using templates and track presets...
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #808  
Old 04-06-2019, 01:17 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Which means a May release, probably on the 31st, since Avid likes to release things on late Fridays.
That's my birthday ~(˘▾˘~)
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #809  
Old 04-06-2019, 01:17 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Protools Expert is reporting that the next version of Protools will be 2019.5. Which means a May release, probably on the 31st, since Avid likes to release things on late Fridays.
Damn. Two more months of this thread....
__________________
PT 2018.7 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #810  
Old 04-06-2019, 02:27 PM
Anthony Jr.'s Avatar
Anthony Jr. Anthony Jr. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 124
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
Damn. Two more months of this thread....
The article was confusing, because it was saying both 2019.3 and then 2019.5 like there were two separate releases... one to fix compatibility and the other to finally add in the features Avid previewed.

It’s possible they didn’t update the article to correctly reflect the new May release across the board, but I guess we’ll find out.
__________________
2018 18-Core iMac Pro / 64GB RAM / Mojave 10.14.3 / Protools 2018.12 / Apollo 8XP / Love
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 features for pro tools vanilla ? cmbourget Pro Tools 2018 29 03-04-2019 03:00 PM
Namm 2019 jeffro General Discussion 2 01-26-2019 10:22 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com