Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2018, 06:46 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 692
Default iLok dongle and USB-C any issues?

I have searched this forum and iLok’s site but can’t seem to find an answer..... so I am assuming this isn’t an issue. I about to migrate from pc to Mac I assume my iLok dongle will work on either machine. Currently in my current lappy the dongle is plugged into a standard USB port (well that’s what the device manager says, and I believe him) well actually it’s plugged into a hub along with a keyboard and mouse then the standard USB port on the lappy itself.... anyways that was a waste of data but I’m guessing you get the picture..... you can forget that now as here is the original q.....

Anyone have any issues running the ilok 2rd gen dongle through a USB-C Digital AV Multiport to thunderbolt3 Adapter? I’ll be running a second monitor off the same adaptor. The dongle would be plugged into the USB-C port.

Cheers
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2018, 12:54 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: iLok dongle and USB-C any issues?

Uncharted territory Look for a hub that connects via USB-C that has USB 2 or USB 3 ports If your new Mac has Thunderbolt 3, I have a new OWC dock available
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2018, 06:42 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 692
Default Re: iLok dongle and USB-C any issues?

Thanks but don’t need one anymore
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy protools and use without iLok dongle emil.oberg Getting Started 2 05-23-2018 03:39 PM
Ilok dongle?WTF? El Buey Pro Tools 12 5 11-12-2016 05:56 AM
Does PT9 full version come with new iLok dongle? MarkH Pro Tools 9 2 11-06-2010 02:06 PM
New to iLok dongle question porkipine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-18-2007 04:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com