Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-28-2016, 02:57 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Hi Guys,

In 12.6, Grid Toggle was introduced. This allows the Command (Mac) or Control (Win) key to temporarily enable or disable Grid. Before 12.6, you could only use Command/Control to suppress Grid when in Grid mode, but could never enable Grid when in Slip. This change is a significant improvement to editing in Pro Tools.

However, this change means Command/Control can no longer be used for fine breakpoint adjustment. So, we had to make a trade off. That trade off is that Shift+Command (Mac) or Shift+Control (Win) to now required for fine breakpoint adjustment with the Grabber tool. Keep in mind, this change only affects Slip mode. Shift+Command (Mac) and Shift+Control (Win) were always required for fine breakpoint adjustment in Grid mode before 12.6 (as Command/Control was used to suppress Grid mode).

Also, be aware that the order the modifier keys are pressed impacts the behavior. If Shift, then Command/Control is pressed, fine breakpoint adjustment is performed at the current breakpoint location. If Command/Control, then Shift is pressed, Grid will be enabled/disabled first, then fine breakpoint adjustment is performed. For example, if you are in Grid mode and you want to drag a breakpoint off Grid then perform fine breakpoint adjustment, hold Command/Control and drag the breakpoint to the desired location, then add Shift and drag breakpoint vertically. Same logic in Slip mode. Another example, if you are in Slip mode and want to stay in Slip mode and perform fine breakpoint adjustment, drag the breakpoint to the desire location, press Shift first then Command/Control and drag breakpoint vertically.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-28-2016, 04:01 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,541
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstian View Post
ok. this makes 12.6 useless. only vertical fine adjustment. and different modifierers tor fine adjustment in different tasks
Wait until you try it in both Slip mode and Grid mode. This brings the MIDI side of PT to more difficult editing tasks compared to it's past behavior.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-28-2016, 04:22 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Wait until you try it in both Slip mode and Grid mode. This brings the MIDI side of PT to more difficult editing tasks compared to it's past behavior.

Shane
Can you be more specific? And, did you see my post above?

Fine breakpoint adjustment in Grid mode requires Shift+Command (Mac) or Shift+Control (Win) just like Legacy Pro Tools. Are you seeing something different?
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-28-2016, 10:08 PM
Basstian Basstian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 290
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Hi Guys,

In 12.6, Grid Toggle was introduced. This allows the Command (Mac) or Control (Win) key to temporarily enable or disable Grid. Before 12.6, you could only use Command/Control to suppress Grid when in Grid mode, but could never enable Grid when in Slip. This change is a significant improvement to editing in Pro Tools.

However, this change means Command/Control can no longer be used for fine breakpoint adjustment. So, we had to make a trade off. That trade off is that Shift+Command (Mac) or Shift+Control (Win) to now required for fine breakpoint adjustment with the Grabber tool. Keep in mind, this change only affects Slip mode. Shift+Command (Mac) and Shift+Control (Win) were always required for fine breakpoint adjustment in Grid mode before 12.6 (as Command/Control was used to suppress Grid mode).

Also, be aware that the order the modifier keys are pressed impacts the behavior. If Shift, then Command/Control is pressed, fine breakpoint adjustment is performed at the current breakpoint location. If Command/Control, then Shift is pressed, Grid will be enabled/disabled first, then fine breakpoint adjustment is performed. For example, if you are in Grid mode and you want to drag a breakpoint off Grid then perform fine breakpoint adjustment, hold Command/Control and drag the breakpoint to the desired location, then add Shift and drag breakpoint vertically. Same logic in Slip mode. Another example, if you are in Slip mode and want to stay in Slip mode and perform fine breakpoint adjustment, drag the breakpoint to the desire location, press Shift first then Command/Control and drag breakpoint vertically.
I do understand how this works now. And that ist the problem.

No possibility to set, fine adjust and horizontally move a breakpoint in one step.

And that is what you do 1000+ times a day. In the older days on the volume graph. Now for some time in clip gain and volume.

Hold command set, move and finetune the point in one step. This was possible while playing back. Making PT a killer in dialog editig.

Now this is not possible anymore. Not only that you will need at least two steps. Now moving horizontally while fine adjusting is not possible anymore at all. Not only doubling the work, but completely changing a fundamental behaviour that has been there for years.

Again. You are not able to finetune and move a breakpoint at the same time anymore. How could that be any kind of improvement.

In trade for something I completely don't understand.

In grid mode it was always possible to use modifiers to move thing in between the grid. And beeing in slip mode I do not see the need to "shortcut" to grid mode too often. Something that is rarely used. This could have been made possible through the use of more than one modifier without changing fundamental behaviour of PT.

At least for me this new "feature" ruins the editing speed of PT and will make it impossible for me to update. Even though there are long awaited improvements.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-29-2016, 01:05 AM
dieffe dieffe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 84
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

I would have to try it, but grid toggle doesn't sound at all as an improvement to me.

It makes sense to go temporarily to slip when in grid mode, but it doesn't make sense at do the other way around, at least for dialogue/sfx editing.

Maybe for fx, but most of the time, I switch mode before editing.

And I can't really understand how having the fine breakpoint movement fixed in time could be seen as an improvement!

And I'm not planning to upgrade to 12.6 any time soon now... even if there are some other very good new features and improvements.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-29-2016, 03:22 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,524
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Put it back, it's awful the new way.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-29-2016, 03:43 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,541
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Disclaimer: Please don't take the following personally. It's feedback only and not in anyway an invalidation of all the hard work done by you folks at HQ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Hi Guys,

In 12.6, Grid Toggle was introduced. This allows the Command (Mac) or Control (Win) key to temporarily enable or disable Grid. Before 12.6, you could only use Command/Control to suppress Grid when in Grid mode, but could never enable Grid when in Slip. This change is a significant improvement to editing in Pro Tools.
For who, and what part of editing in Pro Tools? Were common use case scenerios for MIDI CC editing surveyed and also considered before development of these new enhancements, or was audio editing for post the only focus with MIDI CC editing not even considered?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
However, this change means Command/Control can no longer be used for fine breakpoint adjustment. So, we had to make a trade off. That trade off is that Shift+Command (Mac) or Shift+Control (Win) to now required for fine breakpoint adjustment with the Grabber tool. Keep in mind, this change only affects Slip mode. Shift+Command (Mac) and Shift+Control (Win) were always required for fine breakpoint adjustment in Grid mode before 12.6 (as Command/Control was used to suppress Grid mode).
Common use case editing scenarios for MIDI CC in both Instrument and MIDI tracks couldn't have been taken into consideration during development of this new change, hence the MIDI side of PT doesn't actually improve with this release, but gets more long winded and difficult to work with(and not just the new fine control change). Most MIDI CC editing is going to have a different intent and purpose than the breakpoint editing in Audio tracks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Also, be aware that the order the modifier keys are pressed impacts the behavior. If Shift, then Command/Control is pressed, fine breakpoint adjustment is performed at the current breakpoint location. If Command/Control, then Shift is pressed, Grid will be enabled/disabled first, then fine breakpoint adjustment is performed. For example, if you are in Grid mode and you want to drag a breakpoint off Grid then perform fine breakpoint adjustment, hold Command/Control and drag the breakpoint to the desired location, then add Shift and drag breakpoint vertically. Same logic in Slip mode. Another example, if you are in Slip mode and want to stay in Slip mode and perform fine breakpoint adjustment, drag the breakpoint to the desire location, press Shift first then Command/Control and drag breakpoint vertically.
If it takes the above to explain the new change, then it's far from being user friendly in my honest opinion. Ctrl+Shift on a MIDI CC breakpoint in Slip mode use to do constrained vertical fine control. Now it snaps the breakpoint to the nearest grid line quite randomly. Please don't take this personally. It's only feedback codified from using common MIDI CC use case scenarios. There are others I can go into if you like. Basstian covered one of many on the audio side above as it relates to post. The new change is not an improvement as it adds extra MIDI CC editing steps, hence extra time. Direct A to B is the ideal that should be strived for. If a MIDI composer has to orchestrate 50+ cues for a project and can save even just 5 minutes of long winded procedural editing per cue, that's 4 hours of time saved! New enhancements should be helping us get our work done faster, not adding extra time. When you develop new enhancements for audio, please, please, consider how it's going to impact the MIDI side of PT also. Not everything is going to be 100% usable one to one from Audio tracks to Instrument/MIDI tracks.

Is Avid going to revert it back to the old behavior, find another solution, or do we have to live with this new change that no one asked for en masse?

My vote is to revert it back.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-29-2016, 05:51 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,891
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

For me... Take 12.4 and do nothing but fix bugs and rewrite MIDI.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-29-2016, 07:51 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Somewhat mystified as to how the inclusion of an additional modifier key, the inversion of a long established methodology, and a doubling of the workload, is considered a "Short Cut" - as compared to simply pressing F2 or F4?

Surely the goal is to simplify, not upset & complicate?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-29-2016, 09:58 AM
rhumphries rhumphries is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 418
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Somewhat mystified as to how the inclusion of an additional modifier key, the inversion of a long established methodology, and a doubling of the workload, is considered a "Short Cut" - as compared to simply pressing F2 or F4?

Surely the goal is to simplify, not upset & complicate?
+1,

...or in avid speak, 'Shift' + 'Command' +1
__________________
•HD Native, 192, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 20GB Ram, OSX 10.12.6, PT 2018.12
•HD Native, 192, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 16GB Ram, OSX 10.12.6 PT 2018.12
•HD Native, Omni, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 16GB Ram, OSX 10.11.6 PT 2018.12
•HD Native, Omni, BlackMagic Intensity, i7 8600, 32GB Ram, Windows 10 pro PT 2018.?
www.TakomaMedia.com | SFX.TakomaMedia.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fine Fader Adjustment On iPad? producedbyriot Pro Tools | Control 4 09-10-2016 01:00 PM
Fine Adjustment on AAX seems to be Broken? Neil Pickles AAX Plug-ins 4 06-07-2013 01:39 PM
fine adjustment of breakpoints not working levelaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-03-2010 06:42 AM
Fine volume adjustment gbours Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-02-2006 07:23 PM
Strip Silence and Fine Adjustment... Still a bug? SimpleNatureSpirit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2004 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com