Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 02-14-2014, 10:16 PM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bali - Indonesia
Posts: 788
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slow Track View Post
Hello there!
My interest in the world of audio processing has grown out of my wish to record my music. My problem is, I am 100% inexperienced in everything related to music recording, editing, equalizing etc.
Avid to record my stuff, I bought an Avid Fast Track Duo interface. As I unpacked the product, I found a Pro Tools Express software ready to be activated and downloaded. I immediately proceeded to download it on my Mac OS X.
For the last few days, I've been trying to get started with Pro Tools, only to find out that it has been designed for audio engineers, not a dumb like me. I've been watching a lot of youtube tutorials on Pro Tools, and I keep reading everything I can find about the subject. Waste of time. It's way too difficult for me.
I'm giving up on the Pro Tools and am now looking for a much simpler and lighter software, equipped with a very simple recording and equalizing system - something that could just enable me to use my Fast Track Duo, no matter how much quality will be sacrificed.
Can you guys be so kind as to recommend a software that fits this description?
Thanks a lot.
I couldnt think of anything more complicated and frustrating than to start of green and move straight onto Pro tools .

For me it was a slow graduation from tape 4 track recorders up to the first digital recorders like Roland VS880 and so on . Im glad too that I had those as with the old tape 4 track there was no bells and whistles to distract you , and as time went by your recording techniques improved with it, Later , the roland VS workstations gave you a lot more to play with , but visually you got hardly anything to go by , so you were then forced to rely only on your ears ..., again a good learning experience .

These days ..........,

Even now , as a new pro tools user myself .., if im not constantly using pro tools , im having to re -remember / re -learn certain steps and commands of something I was doing with ease a few weeks ago (usually little things) , which I never had to do before with my other DAWs due to their ease of use , and therefore I could just concentrate more on the music creation ...,

When Im working on ideas for new songs etc , I will use my Zoom H4n as a scratchpad to simply push rec/play to capture ideas on the fly , and it has 4 tracks easy to use ,and a built in stereo mic also .

Only after my ideas are feeling solid will I begin to record that song into protools , because the minute I stop to think "how do I do that again " , then my creative idea I had in the first place gets lost

but Pro-tools can give you much, much more on the editing side of things (if you persevere) than my easy old daws ever could .

Reading manuals just makes me dizzy , you tube videos helps a lot , but are never complete enough .

What I found most useful was to watch the Mac Pro Video Series on Pro Tools , or even Lydia series of pro Tools videos ..., these cover complete topics from start to finish , and I found this the easiest way to remember , I suggest you check them out If you decide to continue on with Pro Tools
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-15-2014, 07:20 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

Groove 3 has some pretty good videos too. I prefer hands on myself. You know, oh oo.... Won't do that again😊
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-15-2014, 08:50 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

You should try reaper - that seems really weird and difficult to use - I was mainly using it to host vst's but it doesn't seem user friendly at all
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-15-2014, 09:40 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

I agree totally with you on that YYR123. I have most programs but that one. Well, let's say it just sits there. Way to much crap to figure out.

📀
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-15-2014, 10:11 AM
Terry Wetzel Terry Wetzel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Douglasville, Georgia
Posts: 1,408
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

Hey Slow Track! I'll bet you haven't read all these helpful replies to your post. Well, neither have I. You sound a lot like me when I first signed up on the forum minus the mental impairment. If audio is all your interested in, forget midi, you don't have to use it. Pro Tools can be your ticket to learning audio recording from the ground up. Take it slow, one step at a time. Watch as many You tube training videos as is necessary. You'll find some are a waste of time but others are quite informative. Search other forums. Read books. Ask questions! There are no dumb questions! It all comes down to how bad you want it. If your lazy, find another hobby! The Pro Tools manuals can be helpful but a bit on the complicated side from my point of view. I'm by no means a Pro Tools pro and I'm sure some here on the DUC consider me still a beginner. Point is, I've turned the corner and suddenly it's FUN!
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-15-2014, 11:52 AM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 640
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

you are right it is a little learning curve.I like your idea of using the Zoom but if you don't use PT's more you will forget what you have learned.It's only when you keep using it day after day do the command become second nature to you.Don't worry, we will help you.Those videos seem the easy way for me but I have to watch them over and over till I get to memorize them
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-15-2014, 12:33 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,903
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slow Track View Post
My interest in the world of audio processing has grown out of my wish to record my music. My problem is, I am 100% inexperienced in everything related to music recording, editing, equalizing etc.
To most, learning to play music in the beginning is a daunting prospect. Indeed even having played an instrument for 35 years, at times I still get daunted when trying to learn a new piece of music. But after practising it for awhile it becomes second nature. Pro Tools is no different IMHO.

If the passion is there, you'll be driven to learn and like anything worthwhile in life, it doesn't come easy.

As others have said, tweak everything and anything and listen to the difference in sound. Whilst the likes of you tube is great, remember it's your ears that are the most important thing in this game, not your eyes.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-15-2014, 12:37 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyman View Post
but I have to watch them over and over till I get to memorize them

When I started in 07 Phil was making all those DiGi design videos - I used to watch them over and over to try to remember what he did
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-19-2014, 12:19 PM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,240
Default Re: Pro Tools too complicated

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyman View Post
I like your idea of using the Zoom
I got one of those Zoom H4's and find PT easier to use. Too many little tiny screens and difficult navigation.
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does activation have to be complicated? marrowgroup Getting Started 26 01-21-2014 04:52 AM
Help with complicated upgrade marbleagle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 11-08-2010 06:37 PM
Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mixer Dowski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-13-2008 09:21 AM
why its need to be so complicated???????? A-ISH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-27-2007 11:26 PM
A/D converter COMPLICATED schlosse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 12-28-2005 05:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com