Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-27-2013, 06:16 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,344
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Byre View Post
I am sure that Avid are aware of EU law on this and would not seek to break the judgement of Court of Justice of the European Union, namely "An author of software cannot oppose the resale of his ‘used’ licences"

See here - http://curia.europa.eu/jcms/upload/d...cp120094en.pdf
wow.. wonder how this will affect other things.. apple for instance and the sale of their system (if someone purchases the software it's then used and could be sold as part of a new system). And good thing they specified that didn't apply to the reproduction rights safe guarding copyrights.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-28-2013, 08:35 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
I would call Avid CSA and explain the issue. I'm reasonably sure that this is treated as a registration issue and there's no charge.
Thanks Scott. That's what I did...all good now.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-30-2013, 10:41 AM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Speaking as a user and not a moderator - since I'm not 100% positive. I believe all you need to do is call Digi CSA with the cards serial, your iLok info and presumably the new owners iLok info and they will approve the transfer.

They are trying to enforce the EULA everyone accepts when installing the software and cut down on the number of grey market copies of PT HD floating around out there. At least that's my opinion as to why they have made those changes.
Down the road or sooner a lot of old TDM users with HD 10 are going to want to buy HD 11 - while some may upgrade their hardware many others will not and just pick an interface an go the native route. Where does that leave them down the road? If they decide to jump ship to another DAW or close up shop.

Also Avid is forgetting about PT 11 CPTK users they have already separated the hardware from the software in 2010 - as time moves on there are going to be more and more HD software only users not fewer. Closing up the the no transfer rule has left Avid open to negative perception about the company that they are not willing to treat their customers with respect. Not being a conspiracy theory fan but this seems to be driven by dealers who what to shut down the second hand market. They second hand market is very important for Avid and even dealers because the buyers of those items will eventually will need software upgrades, plug-ins or other items. They need to look at the bigger picture here.
The key words Avid & Digidesign products sell well over $1M per month on eBay alone (much of which is used) and maybe this is a way for Avid & Dealers to limit the used market in favour of selling new products.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-30-2013, 11:15 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,226
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by Touchwood Studios View Post
maybe this is a way for Avid & Dealers to limit the used market in favour of selling new products.
I am not sure if there is any evidence to support the fact that this will translate into new purchases.
This type of practise is what potential buyers recoil at imho
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-30-2013, 06:37 PM
The Recordist The Recordist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sagle, Idaho, USA
Posts: 214
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

I called CSA and Avid refused to transfer my PT10 license after I sold my HD2 TDM cards and interface. I have no idea what to do now, the guy who has the system cannot run Pro Tools. Come on Avid! What gives?

The CSA operator told me to send my iLok to the new owner and from then on the new owner would have to contact me to make any changes to the iLok license if updated in the future. So this means he would have to send me the iLok and I would make any changes to iLok and then send it back. What a stupid thing to say! -Frank Bry, The Recordist
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-30-2013, 07:21 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_uk View Post
I am not sure if there is any evidence to support the fact that this will translate into new purchases.
This type of practise is what potential buyers recoil at imho
I think given whole context of the statement - that was the 'jist' of what the poster was stating.


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Recordist View Post
I called CSA and Avid refused to transfer my PT10 license after I sold my HD2 TDM cards and interface.

And there you have it folks!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-09-2013, 07:02 AM
Jantzen Jantzen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 151
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

Can anyone from AVID officially confirm that HD licenses are now no longer transferrable, even with an HD system? Or confirm that HD licenses will be transferrable on a system sale?
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.8GHz
Pro Tools 10 HD
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-09-2013, 07:57 AM
The Recordist The Recordist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sagle, Idaho, USA
Posts: 214
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

All I hear from some people is call ACS and they will approve the transfer. Complete and utter crap, they refused mine and I am very pissed off. They even confirmed my hardware transfer of ownership forms had been filed and approved. What is the deal Avid?

Last edited by The Recordist; 07-09-2013 at 08:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-09-2013, 09:26 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

... crickets... is all I hear from Avid
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-09-2013, 09:39 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jantzen View Post
Can anyone from AVID officially confirm that HD licenses are now no longer transferable, even with an HD system? Or confirm that HD licenses will be transferable on a system sale?
A simple question -- I would also like to hear Avid's answer
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
License sale/transfer procedure for PT? SixChurchStreet Pro Tools 9 2 02-26-2012 07:42 PM
Procedure to transfer D-Show file to console ZeroUnity VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 11-05-2010 02:06 PM
Transfer "Software" Ownership Not Hardware confusedhelp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-09-2009 11:14 PM
Anyone here know alt procedure to get hardware fixed? MrRippie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-15-2009 07:18 PM
Transfer of Ownership - New Software DorianMode001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-14-2005 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com