Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-07-2011, 02:27 AM
Darney Darney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Terre Haute
Posts: 408
Default Re: PT 9 and Mac OS X Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
10.5 was a PITA with just about every software I can remember. That was one reason I was so eager to move on to snow leopard.

Lion looks kind of dumbed down to me, but that might be a good thing as long as they don't take away any power user features. I'm hoping the transition from mobileme to icloud will be a little more graceful than the .mac to mobileme debacle.
I suspect it will be later in the year (maybe November) before PT is validated with Lion. So far the only improvement in Lion that actually impacts what I do will be the upgrade price as compared to Snow Leopard. $29.00
iCloud is a good idea at the root level, however, there are considerable dangers in moving to a cloud computing world.
__________________
“What fresh hell is this?” - Dorothy S. Parker
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2011, 05:41 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default

Relax. It'll take a least 6 months. Probably 9 months. But that is ok! Why the rush? Make music and be happy.
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2011, 05:01 PM
theaero theaero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 217
Default Re: PT 9 and Mac OS X Lion

Anyone test the new DP4 build with Pro Tools yet? I have Dev Preview 4 installed, but havent used Pro Tools yet
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-07-2011, 07:47 PM
BillDog793 BillDog793 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orange County/Los Angeles
Posts: 158
Default Re: PT 9 and Mac OS X Lion

I am curious to hear how PT 9 works with the Dev Preview, try it theaero, I want to know!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-08-2011, 01:34 AM
theaero theaero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 217
Default Re: PT 9 and Mac OS X Lion

Installs just fine. Crashed on launch. I haven't looked into why yet. I may try and get around to it a bit later.

/sad Aero
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:59 PM
NobleSix NobleSix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT 9 and Mac OS X Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by theaero View Post
Installs just fine. Crashed on launch. I haven't looked into why yet. I may try and get around to it a bit later.

/sad Aero
I was going to say the same.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-14-2011, 02:04 PM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: PT 9 and Mac OS X Lion

I'm setting back up pretty quick. Got spanked in the Tornado here a few weeks ago. Should be back up within a couple months. Should close on a new house inside a month, about a month to build out the basement.....

Goin with a 8 Core Mac Pro, Magma, HD3 PCI, and PT9...

That should hold me over for a long time....

But, I might hold off on using the Mac Pro until the Lion thing is ironed out, and just run em inside my Dual G5 in the meantime on 8
I just don't wanna be in the middle of sessions and wanting to go through the upgrade/update process.

The Dual G5 and HD3 should hold me over just fine.

And once I'm up to snuff on Lion, shouldn't need to do any updating for a long time. Shoot, even runnin SL seems pretty solid right now????

Anyone got a line on a Trident? 70 or 80, or a T24 ???
PS, I have a ton of gear for sale
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
lion -> mountain lion question grant howarth macOS 3 05-01-2013 01:24 PM
Lion or Mountain Lion for mid-2009 MBP with PT9 miezurecords macOS 0 03-17-2013 12:38 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 10:55 AM
Macbook Pro+lion+PT9 :-( / iMac+Lion+PT9 = :-) Pehja macOS 12 11-08-2011 01:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com