Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 01-09-2010, 12:38 PM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatzer View Post
Every (un-educated) musician thinks Pro Tools is what you should be running in the studio. Why? They don't know themselves. They just know that some big studios use it. And the other (slightly less un-educated) musicians will atleast know the differences between PT versions. But they will still think they are getting better quality if you tell them your using PT. Sheesh.

I agree about making do with what you have. And if you like something other than PT better, then you should definately use that. Especially if your workflow is faster and you feel more comfortable with it.

Then again, professionals use Pro Tools so thats what you should be trying to learn because everything else is inferior and lacks the quality PT gives you (just the software) and no ones mixes will ever be any good unless you use PT. I hope you're getting the lame sarcasm here.
Professionals, and many many others, use Pro Tools because of it's cross-platform capabilities.

Being able to work on a session at home, using M-Powered with a Windows PC, then taking it to a collaborator with LE, then to a professional studio with HD on MACs.

From what I've read over the years, no other major DAW comes close to this level of reliability when attempting a cross-over with another platform.
That's why it's an industry standard.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-10-2010, 05:22 PM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 562
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoRugMan View Post
Professionals, and many many others, use Pro Tools because of it's cross-platform capabilities.

Being able to work on a session at home, using M-Powered with a Windows PC, then taking it to a collaborator with LE, then to a professional studio with HD on MACs.

From what I've read over the years, no other major DAW comes close to this level of reliability when attempting a cross-over with another platform.
That's why it's an industry standard.
"Industry Standard" is over-used. Anyone can say something is "industry standard" and people will buy it. True, PT is easy to switch through studios, but most professionals dislike the idea of giving someone their tracks that they recorded or mixed.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-10-2010, 05:35 PM
frantik frantik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 269
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by asimmd View Post
I am surprised that no-one from the company has made a comment.
DigiTech did make a comment
__________________
Trikome.com - blog

PTMP 8.0.1 // FLStudio 9 // WinXP SP3 // Axiom Pro 49 // Delta 44 // Mackie HR624 // AKG K701 // Emu 6400 Classic
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-11-2010, 03:34 AM
Wavelabs Wavelabs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: On The Moon
Posts: 267
Default Re: M-powered pro will end ?????

Yes, It's true that Digidesign did respond with an answer.
Seems that everyone missed it. So here it is "quoted"

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
No one needs to worry about M-Powered going away.

The entirety of this thread was based on the removal of old product from the Sweetwater website. There should be no need to comment on something that has an obvious explanation, but I'm here to do it anyways, as it seems conspiracy theories get out of hand if I don't...
As I can tell from this part in the quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
The entirety of this thread was based on the removal of old product from the Sweetwater website.
I believe they only removed the version v7 of Protools M-Powered as everyone is now buying v8 and that v7 is no longer needed
because it is outdated and no longer sell-able in the market.
This is what I got from that quote.
If I am wrong, then Digidesign can respond with the correction.
Otherwise, I will count it as a correct info.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 940 w/ CoolerMaster V8 Cooler - GigaByte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P - ATI Radeon 6850x2 (x2) - Win7 x64-bit - AMS Venus-T5 with 1-TB x5 Drives
Kingston Hyper-X DDR3-1066 2gig x4 (8gig Ram) - WD SATA VelociRaptor 300 (x4) - XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX - Groove Tubes GT-66 & 55 Microphones - BBE 422-A - Aphex 104 C2
Vantec MRK250ST w/ Win7 x64-bit (HotSwaped for ProTools v8.0.4 Unit) - Acer v223w (x2) LCD Screens - Events 20/20 - Avantones - Mackie HR824 - AKG P220 - HS50m's
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered 8 Essential -> M-Powered 8 Upgrade Snowblind Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 08-09-2011 07:05 AM
mac osx, m powered fast track, pro tools m powered singdance6 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-22-2010 09:24 AM
Please Advise are Pro Tools M-Powered Essential the same as LE M-Powered? jeremiah0812 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2010 10:10 AM
PT M-Powered with FW400 bus powered audio drive? bruceup Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-06-2006 01:32 PM
bus powered interface + bus powered enclosure ? technician Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-20-2006 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com