Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2017, 01:11 PM
yotimelon yotimelon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: london
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools crashes on startup

I just installed protools 10 HD (10.3.5)

there were no issues with the install and everything went smoothly. When i open protools, it begins to load fine; the plugins etc.

The problem is, when it gets to 'setting up I/O path busses 127-128' it will hang for a few seconds and then crash, with windows prompting me with the classic 'Protools is not responding'.

I have seen in other posts that others have had their programs hang at the same place but there seemed to be no reports if it crashing at this point for anyone else.

I have tried the various fixes: removing all the plugins, trashing the preferences, excluding protools from my antivirus real time scanning. but nothing works.

any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2017, 02:19 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,914
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on startup

Welcome.
Please start here:

Help Us Help You
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2017, 03:02 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,367
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotimelon View Post
I just installed protools 10 HD (10.3.5)

there were no issues with the install and everything went smoothly. When i open protools, it begins to load fine; the plugins etc.

The problem is, when it gets to 'setting up I/O path busses 127-128' it will hang for a few seconds and then crash, with windows prompting me with the classic 'Protools is not responding'.

I have seen in other posts that others have had their programs hang at the same place but there seemed to be no reports if it crashing at this point for anyone else.

I have tried the various fixes: removing all the plugins, trashing the preferences, excluding protools from my antivirus real time scanning. but nothing works.

any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks!!
If your profile page is correct then you're trying to run PT10 on a Windows version it's not compatible with. See this page: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

When will people pay attention to that chart? Or even check for compatibility before posting here?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2017, 04:21 PM
yotimelon yotimelon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: london
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
If your profile page is correct then you're trying to run PT10 on a Windows version it's not compatible with. See this page: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

When will people pay attention to that chart? Or even check for compatibility before posting here?

I've had this same version of protools running seamlessly on my Windows 10 PC for well over a year, so I'm not certain that chart is 100% accurate. But of course I'm not willing to rule incompatibility out as a possible cause.

My laptop specs are as follows:

Windows 10 Home 64
Latest generation Intel® Core™ i7-7500U processor
8 GB memory and 360 GB PCIe® SSD storage
NVIDIA® GeForce® MX150 (2 GB GDDR5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2017, 06:12 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,965
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on startup

Do you have the ilok plugged in all the time and made sure the connection between computer and key is ok?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#Nothing Breaks Like a Heart

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2017, 06:28 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,367
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotimelon View Post
I've had this same version of protools running seamlessly on my Windows 10 PC for well over a year, so I'm not certain that chart is 100% accurate. But of course I'm not willing to rule incompatibility out as a possible cause.

My laptop specs are as follows:

Windows 10 Home 64
Latest generation Intel® Core™ i7-7500U processor
8 GB memory and 360 GB PCIe® SSD storage
NVIDIA® GeForce® MX150 (2 GB GDDR5
Just because it may have worked for you before doesn't mean it will continue to work. With incompatibilities you never know when they'll crop up to bite you. Have you done any Windows updates recently?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2017, 06:29 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,689
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on startup

Are you sure that you have not allowed any Windows updates since this was working? (Especially the Creative update). This has been troublesome for some.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2017, 07:51 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,914
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotimelon View Post
I've had this same version of protools running seamlessly on my Windows 10 PC for well over a year
Quote:
Originally Posted by yotimelon View Post
I just installed protools 10 HD (10.3.5)
?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - Pro tools crashes on startup! Oggy Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 07-26-2013 10:13 PM
PRO TOOLS 10 CRASHES on FIRST STARTUP ctholland Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 02-27-2012 07:59 PM
Pro Tools crashes on startup... Trippn740 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 09-26-2011 12:00 PM
Pro Tools LE 8 Crashes upon Startup J89 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-13-2009 12:22 AM
Please Help! Pro Tools V6.7 crashes on startup Brian G 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-27-2005 07:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com