Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2018, 02:11 AM
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 439
Default PT|Control in multi user environment

Hi Ducer's

We have 5 recording studios in the building.

We had major issues with ipad connections - Eucon reporting that 2 or more ipads share the connection when using wifi.
I have put all the iPads on ethernet / lightning Usb3 connections already to get rid of my issue, but the moment any of the ipads switch wifi on, then the issue pops up and cannot be resolved (after switching wifi off again) without de-installing and re-installing Eucon.

Any ideas on how to manage this better?

Cheers
stef
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 -Os 10.12.6 - 64 gb Ram - Protools 12.8 HDX - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card - DCommand ES24 - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 8.9.1 on 4 Core Mac Pro Dustbin with AJA Kona 3g) Soundminer 4.5 Pro
Protools 12.8.0 Vanilla in 2 x Edit suites one with S3 and one with Mackie Control.
Mediacomposer 8.9.1 on AJA Kona 3g x 3 suites
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2018, 02:26 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 593
Default Re: PT|Control in multi user environment

Quote:
Originally Posted by StefB View Post
Hi Ducer's



We have 5 recording studios in the building.



We had major issues with ipad connections - Eucon reporting that 2 or more ipads share the connection when using wifi.

I have put all the iPads on ethernet / lightning Usb3 connections already to get rid of my issue, but the moment any of the ipads switch wifi on, then the issue pops up and cannot be resolved (after switching wifi off again) without de-installing and re-installing Eucon.



Any ideas on how to manage this better?



Cheers

stef


I guess no one thought about a studio with multiple iPads and studios. Or did you, Avid?
__________________
Mac Pro Harpertown 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad Core, HD3 Accel (PCIe), 192 I/O, Sync I/O, Euphonix MC Control, Artist Mix and Pro Tools 10
iMac 2013, HD Native, HD Omni, Pro Tools 12 HD, Avid Dock with Avid Pro Tools Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2018, 04:03 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,117
Default Re: PT|Control in multi user environment

It's not an issue. And they are being used in multiple studios facilities. Greater than 5.

First, why is wifi being turned on?

Second, even if you do, you don't need to deinstall/reinstall. Eucon has a "restart Eucon Applications" option that will clear any previously recognized device. But you don't even have to do that if you've assigned Eucon iPads via "My surfaces" to each computer. This is true for any multiple Eucon device network (not just wifi.)

Third, the camera connection kit plus Apple ethernet adapter is usb2 (not usb3).

PEBKAC
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2018, 06:02 AM
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 439
Default Re: PT|Control in multi user environment

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
It's not an issue. And they are being used in multiple studios facilities. Greater than 5.


First, why is wifi being turned on?

Second, even if you do, you don't need to deinstall/reinstall. Eucon has a "restart Eucon Applications" option that will clear any previously recognized device. But you don't even have to do that if you've assigned Eucon iPads via "My surfaces" to each computer. This is true for any multiple Eucon device network (not just wifi.)

Third, the camera connection kit plus Apple ethernet adapter is usb2 (not usb3).

PEBKAC
Thank you PEBKAC -

It is an issue for me - otherwise I would not post here would I?

Firstly - The rule is that the wifi is turned off all the time - but three of the 5 switches it on upon restart - and the moment that happens it causes problems all the way through the facility

Secondly - I have tried to restart the Eucon apps - forget it - I actually have to get into the library and delete the files

Thirdly - I'm so sorry about calling a USB2 device a USB 3 device
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 -Os 10.12.6 - 64 gb Ram - Protools 12.8 HDX - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card - DCommand ES24 - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 8.9.1 on 4 Core Mac Pro Dustbin with AJA Kona 3g) Soundminer 4.5 Pro
Protools 12.8.0 Vanilla in 2 x Edit suites one with S3 and one with Mackie Control.
Mediacomposer 8.9.1 on AJA Kona 3g x 3 suites

Last edited by StefB; 07-12-2018 at 01:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
many years a venue user but new in mac environment vomvix VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 04-10-2015 03:58 PM
D-Control Multi user mode parker.doug ICON & C|24 1 02-15-2012 12:31 PM
Creating a multi user environment paulgallanter Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 06-03-2006 06:42 PM
Multi-user environment for PT6 msawitzke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-16-2004 07:05 PM
multi-user transport control Joe Barnett Post - Surround - Video 2 08-05-2003 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com