Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2018, 05:05 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 445
Default Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Hi Guys
I experience a weird "bug"
I don't have a good internet connection in my home studio..meaning that from time to time,internet goes off for 1 minute or so..
The network is simple ...i have a wifi usb card which connects to a repeater which is connected to my main router..
Now,the "bug" that i experience is:When i am signed in,in pro tools 2018.3 and internet goes off,Pro Tools instantly crashes...
If i am signed out there is no crash if internet goes down
Think we have a bug here..i submitted some crash log via the crash reporter,and hope for a fix..
anyone else having this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2018, 06:34 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,163
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Signed in as in iLok cloud authorisation?

If so, we’ll that’s normal. No connection, no play.

Get yourself a physical iLok dongle and you’ll be fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2018, 07:11 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 445
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Signed in as in iLok cloud authorisation?

If so, we’ll that’s normal. No connection, no play.

Get yourself a physical iLok dongle and you’ll be fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No
I mean, sign in with avid account
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2018, 07:23 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,163
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Hmmm... not sure about that one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2018, 09:18 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,114
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Unless that is something you NEED, most of us simply uninstall the Avid App Manager
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2018, 09:23 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Where are your iLok licenses located though: in the cloud or on a physical iLok (and the question relates to all licenses including plugins)? Can you exit the Application Manager and see what happens (it's not necessary to run for Pro Tools)? (click on it and then "quit") Are you on the latest Application Manager (it needs to be separately updated from Pro Tools) -- current version 2018.2. Also, is Cloud Client Services up-to-date (v2.4.0 is current)

And finally, are you using any files stored in the cloud (Pro Tools Collaboration)?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2018, 09:50 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 445
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Guys...you didn't understand
I mean signing in within pro tools...( FILE-Sign in)
no iloks..no Avid App Man
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2018, 09:54 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanos4 View Post
Guys...you didn't understand
I mean signing in within pro tools...( FILE-Sign in)
no iloks..no Avid App Man
Ok. Then that makes sense. Sign in is for Cloud Collaboration. If you break that connection while signed in, it will crash your session. If you are using local sessions, you do not need to sigh in. (but you should also make sure your Cloud Services is up to date since that sign in is what it is using)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2018, 09:59 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 445
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Ok. Then that makes sense. Sign in is for Cloud Collaboration. If you break that connection while signed in, it will crash your session. If you are using local sessions, you do not need to sigh in. (but you should also make sure your Cloud Services is up to date since that sign in is what it is using)
Everything is up dated...
I use cloud collaboration,so that's why i always am signed in..
I remember in earlier versions that when internet went down,there was a message with red letters in the left down area saying this...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-22-2018, 10:53 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,750
Default Re: Pro Tools Crashes when internet connection down

Thanks for submitting the crashlog. You can refer to that if you start a support case (hoping you put your email address or other identifier in the notes).

Internet is pretty solid here so I tried turning off WiFi as well as unplugging my WiFi Router with a Session or Project open and signed into my account = no crash. It showed No Internet Connection while offline then Internet Connection Resumed briefly after it reconnected.

Pro Tools HD 2018.3 on an iMac w/10.13.3
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-03-22 at 9.47.37 AM.png
Views:	0
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	10191   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-03-22 at 9.47.58 AM.png
Views:	0
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	10192  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can You Use PTC w/o Internet Connection? danevaz Pro Tools | Control 5 04-06-2018 07:03 PM
No internet connection jessielloydmusic Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 10-30-2017 08:10 AM
Pro Tools 11 Registration - No Internet Connection james21789 Pro Tools 11 2 08-01-2016 12:03 AM
do i need an internet connection? lburger69 Pro Tools 11 0 06-19-2015 12:34 AM
internet connection demariai Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 11-29-2011 01:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com