Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2013, 08:19 PM
anackman's Avatar
anackman anackman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 191
Default PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

So, it seems as though Pro Tools 11 will not work on MacBook Pros or Mac Minis from 2010-2012, unless it has retina display. In fact, only Macbook Pros with retina display will function properly, is what I keep reading. If I have this information incorrect, do please correct me. I hope I'm wrong. But, what kind of upgrade doesn't work on laptops and other Apple products from only a couple years back? It's utterly stupid.

With everyone getting all excited about PT 11, just wanted to mention that you might also need to buy a new computer in addition to an upgrade fee from Avid. Yay!

from Sweetwater:
Compatibility:
"Mac Pro 2009 or newer
i7 iMac & Mac Mini i7 MacBook Pro Retina"
__________________
10.11 OSX El Capitan
PT 12.4
Mac Pro Quad Core (Studio) + Mac Mini (Home)
UAD Apollo Duo
UAD Satellite Quad
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2013, 08:26 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

Sorry, I just refuse to believe that Pro Tools 11 won't work on a Macbook Pro that we purchased in December of 2012. That just seems ridiculous. Either it's a typo or some kinda of mistake on someone's part.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:17 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

That was preliminary info that Sweetwater had.

Avid now has its own page, with more Macs supported:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...pple-Computers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2013, 10:04 PM
r.heyman's Avatar
r.heyman r.heyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: szczecin, polska
Posts: 32
Default Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

From what I see, my 17-inch i7 macbook pro, perfectly fine for PT10 not supported.
A joke AVID, really.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2013, 10:04 PM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

With all that said I still see no real reason why wouldn't PT11 run smoothly on a well equipped 2011 i5 MacBook Pro. We should wait and see, just because these "older machines" are not on the list, it doesn't necessarily mean that they won't work.
I think they will, smootly.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2013, 10:32 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

Don't forget not supported just means they aren't testing on it. May run just fine on there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2013, 07:39 AM
anackman's Avatar
anackman anackman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 191
Default Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

thanks for the responses guys. hope you're right. i have a loaded Macbook pro from late 2010 that runs like a dream and I just refuse to believe that it wouldn't work well with PT 11.

I'm sure there are plenty of users who have apple machines from 2011 or before. It's not uncommon to keep a computer for 3-4 years or even longer sometimes.

---
__________________
10.11 OSX El Capitan
PT 12.4
Mac Pro Quad Core (Studio) + Mac Mini (Home)
UAD Apollo Duo
UAD Satellite Quad
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2013, 11:30 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,186
Default Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

In the Mainstage Demo video, they state that they wanted to take advantage of new technologies (like retina) when redesigning the graphics, but even non retina displays would see sharper graphics then PT10.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2013, 11:40 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Post Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

Please keep in mind that these are preliminary support docs - PT11 is obviously not shipping yet.

Also, the computers listed are the ones that are being tested. Other models might work but they would just not be officially supported by Avid.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2013, 11:52 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: PT 11 on Macs from 2010-2011. Nope.

My impression was that since PT11 is only supported on Mountain Lion, they were following Apple's supported machines for Mountain Lion (at least for the Mac Pro lines). As always, "Supported" really means "Tested" until they come out with more explicit "will NOT work" language.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 MBP or 2010 iMac for ProTools 9? ChrisFreeman macOS 7 04-12-2011 07:40 AM
Structure Drag and Drop? Nope, not here... TimNielsen Virtual Instruments 12 05-20-2009 11:33 AM
7.3.1 cs2 fixes buffer underrun? nope Chompi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-13-2007 04:41 AM
MP 7.3 and LE 7.1 on the same computer... nope jcbrivers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-10-2006 03:08 PM
Nope Still having problems with Dverb 5.1.1 ok surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-04-2001 01:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com