Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2019, 02:20 PM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 559
Default PT 12 availability

I upgraded my mid-2007 iMac from Lion (10.7.5) to El Capitan (10.11.6) last night. (of course I took a backup first).

After upgrading, PT 10.3 works, barely... It has issues communicating with the Factory 003. I've updated the drivers, etc... no luck.


The uninstaller didn't work, so I had to manually remove pro-tools 10.x

According to the compatibility matrix, PT 12.x is the only compatible version with 10.11.6, however, Avid no longer has it for sale, at least I can find.



It's replacement PT 2018 is not compatible with 10.11.6, so I'm stuck. I think my only option is to restore back to 10.7.5 unless anyone else has ideas...
__________________
2.4 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac
OS: 10.7.5 (Snow Leopard)
4gb (667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM)
LaCie Audio Drive - FW800
DigiDesign 003 Factory PT10.2.0
PreSonus DigiMax FS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2019, 02:28 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,442
Default Re: PT 12 availability

What exact iMac is this EMC or model number please...

El Crapirain is a bit very unliked release by many of us.

Why did you upgrade/what problem are you trying to solve?

A core 2 Duo may be underpowered for your needs... it’s certainly under-minimum spec for any modern version of Pro Tools.

4GB really is not enough to run Pro Tools 111/12 or later.

What Exact Pro Tools license do you have. You can purchase perpetual upgrades that get you 10/11/current releases tgat will also run 12, and if you have a license for 12 and ask nicely Avid will deposit 12 downloads in your aaccount if they are not out there automatically.

Rolling back to a backup may be the best option.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2019, 04:57 PM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 559
Default Re: PT 12 availability

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
What exact iMac is this EMC or model number please...

>>> Model Identifier: iMac7,1

El Crapirain is a bit very unliked release by many of us.

>>> I can see why, PT 10 / 11 isn't compatible, and one has to upgrade to PT 2018.

Why did you upgrade/what problem are you trying to solve?

>>> None, other than the fact my system is old, browsers aren't supported, I can't run any of the Line6 Helix software, etc...

A core 2 Duo may be underpowered for your needs... it’s certainly under-minimum spec for any modern version of Pro Tools.

>>> Perhaps you are correct. Seems to work fine at Lion and PT10, no issues through the years.

4GB really is not enough to run Pro Tools 111/12 or later.

>>> I agree 100%. Other World Computing states an old mid-2007 iMac can be upgraded from 4GiB to 6GiB of RAM with a (4+2) pack. I had intended on upgrading the RAM if all played nicely. Few years back I put in a 480GiB SSD drive and that works very well.

What Exact Pro Tools license do you have. You can purchase perpetual upgrades that get you 10/11/current releases tgat will also run 12, and if you have a license for 12 and ask nicely Avid will deposit 12 downloads in your aaccount if they are not out there automatically.

>>> I started on PT 7, and did upgrades from there. I purchased an upgrade for PT 9, which then got me to PT 10. That's it, I have no more licenses.

Rolling back to a backup may be the best option.
>>>> I did, thank goodness for Time Machine and my WD MyCloud! :) Everything is back working again on Lion & PT 10.
__________________
2.4 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac
OS: 10.7.5 (Snow Leopard)
4gb (667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM)
LaCie Audio Drive - FW800
DigiDesign 003 Factory PT10.2.0
PreSonus DigiMax FS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Availability of 7.3????? MiamiMusicMan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-23-2006 03:21 PM
PT 6.2 availability with G4/OS 10.2.x Ricky Cobble Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-15-2003 11:38 AM
PT/NT 5.1 availability Echo studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 8 02-23-2001 11:23 AM
OS 8.6 availability? Craig Woolard Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-12-2001 07:12 AM
Os 8.6 availability roderickelms Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-08-2000 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com